We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel and great value or NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 452 hotels in New York City
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel and great value or NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights from 27th March. We found the welcome and general service excellent. The hotel is close enough to central midtown, but far enough away that you're out of the main touristy bits. True, there's no coffee facilities, but the bar downstairs served takeout for reasonable prices. The Ritz diner is good for a hearty breakfast and we had a great meal at Neely's BBQ parlour, and also El Porron Spannish restaurant, both a block or so away.

Our room was a good size and a great view over the Queensborough bridge. My wife found it a little noisy, but it didn't bother me. We also arranged a car for JFK which was only $45 from the hotel desk. We'd definitely stop again, in fact we tried to as we had another night in NY 2 weeks later but they wouldn't do a single night so we ended up at the New Yorker which was much smaller for more money.

In summary, if you don't mind being in a quiter area, and are happy to walk a little, this is a great option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear sagalout99,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your vacation with us. I am so happy to hear you had great time and felt comfortable throughout your stay. We truly have a great team of employees and I am glad that we were able to accommodate you to your satisfaction. Let me know if you have plans to come back to NYC so I can be of assistance for future bookings.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    422
    195
    84
    63
See reviews for
277
386
73
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

By all means ask for an upper level floor! We were on the 16th so noise not a problem, but the location just off the FDR Drive and traffic exiting Queensboro Bridge directly outside made for a very noisy and busy intersection around the hotel. Also ask for river view! Our king room was rather European in size (no closet even) but nice decor, clean, comfortable and was a good value for midtown Manhattan. There was a pricey minibar in the room, but,,alas, not a coffee maker. the bed was comfortable,though the sheets were a bit too crisp(rather than super soft and silken). The location is a bit off the beaten track (no good restaurants, bars etc. In the immediate area) but taxis are plentiful, buses convenient, and short hike to Lex. Ave. Subway. We had a great deal for our 3nightustay, and it was overall a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: request upper floor---as high as possible--- on east side of hotel.Preferably southeast corner for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear laura714,

Thank you for your valuable review on trip advisor. I am glad you had a good time and enjoyed the room and the views our property has to offer. I look forward to welcoming you next time when your travels bring you to New York.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed only one night in The Bently just after New Year. The room is very clean and the location is excellent. It is very easy to walk to the subway and be at any part of NYC in minutes. This is a boutique hotel so décor, colors and overall ambient is fantastic. The front desk was very helpful. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Ida32,

Thank you for your kind words on trip advisor. I am glad you have enjoyed your recent stay and we were able to make you feel comfortable. I look forward to welcoming you back soon, let me know if I can be of assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our stay at the Bentley was nice enough - the room was actually quite clean and nice and the location of the hotel was very convenient for our purposes. It was easy to drive in and park (there is a garage around the back of the hotel), but it was also an easy walk to the subway to get to all the places we needed to be.

However, the service definitely left us a bit disappointed. When we arrived, no one greeted us and once we got up to the room we had to call for linens for the pull-out bed (though the room had clearly been booked with the intent of using this). Finally, the day we checked out, we were not offered a receipt and when we requested it, we realized we had been hit with a number of erroneous mini bar charges. We hadn't touched a thing! The staff took care of it, but did not seem apologetic or concerned about it.

All in all, I'd probably give it another chance, but wasn't blown away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear mafels,

I appreciate your valuable and honest feedback about your recent stay with us and I am sorry to hear that we were not able to make you feel as comfortable as you should have been. I am however happy that you enjoyed the decor and the area of the hotel. We always strive to offer the best level of customer service and I am disappointed that we were not successful this time. Please feel free to reach out to me personally next time your travels bring you back to New York and I will make sure that all goes well with your future bookings.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cool decor, great service. Comfy room, plenty of space, quiet. Didn't have some of the normal amenities like in-room/lobby coffee or morning newspaper and had a $12.95 wifi charge. But....for the price and still a good location the place was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear iluvryno,

I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your feedback that you posted on trip advisor. I look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to New York and I am sure you will have a great time again.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cool decor, great service. Rooms actually had space, rathern modern. Didn't get the 'normal' amenities like in-room coffee, newspaper or lobby coffee but that was ok. There was a charge for wifi but that's expected. Great way to spend less money but still be close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear iluvryno23,

Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that everything went well and that you have enjoyed the location. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon once you have plans to come to New York again.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Bentley Hotel between 28th - 31st March 2013 for my daughters 21st birthday. Requested a high room with a view, which we were given. The room was very clean, a decent size and the bed and pillows very comfy. The staff were lovely, very helpful and very professional and looked after us very well. We left something in our room and went back several days later to collect it and it had been bagged up downstairs waiting for us. Very easy to communicate with before, during and after our stay. The hotel was in a great location, far enough out but near enough to walk to the main action. We loved and and will definitely be staying again when we return to NYC! Thank you.

Room Tip: A room high up with a view of the Queensborough Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Pippa 131,

I am so happy to hear that you had a great time and everybody took good care of you. We have a great team of employees and I am glad that you felt the same way. Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. I will definitely share your kind words with my staff members to let them know about your great experience. I look forward to welcoming you next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
#235 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.