We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Upper East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cool decor, great service. Comfy room, plenty of space, quiet. Didn't have some of the normal amenities like in-room/lobby coffee or morning newspaper and had a $12.95 wifi charge. But....for the price and still a good location the place was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear iluvryno,

I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your feedback that you posted on trip advisor. I look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to New York and I am sure you will have a great time again.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cool decor, great service. Rooms actually had space, rathern modern. Didn't get the 'normal' amenities like in-room coffee, newspaper or lobby coffee but that was ok. There was a charge for wifi but that's expected. Great way to spend less money but still be close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvryno23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear iluvryno23,

Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that everything went well and that you have enjoyed the location. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon once you have plans to come to New York again.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at the Bentley Hotel between 28th - 31st March 2013 for my daughters 21st birthday. Requested a high room with a view, which we were given. The room was very clean, a decent size and the bed and pillows very comfy. The staff were lovely, very helpful and very professional and looked after us very well. We left something in our room and went back several days later to collect it and it had been bagged up downstairs waiting for us. Very easy to communicate with before, during and after our stay. The hotel was in a great location, far enough out but near enough to walk to the main action. We loved and and will definitely be staying again when we return to NYC! Thank you.

Room Tip: A room high up with a view of the Queensborough Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Pippa 131,

I am so happy to hear that you had a great time and everybody took good care of you. We have a great team of employees and I am glad that you felt the same way. Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. I will definitely share your kind words with my staff members to let them know about your great experience. I look forward to welcoming you next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My son and I stayed here recently and we were very disappointed with the location. It took us a good 45 mins to walk to Times Sq where most tour buses etc begin. Room was clean, beds comfy, but it was the small things that annoyed us. For instance there was no free WiFi in the hotel, there was a charge of $13 dollars a day to use this facility. If you used the hotels computers you had to pay a minimum of $3 to use it and they were swallowed up pretty quick. Also the electric sockets in the room where very loose. Was a little worried putting anything in them because the plugs kept coming out! Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaciWaltKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear JaciWaltKent,

Thank you for your honest and valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. I am dissapointed to hear that we were not able to live up to your expectations this time. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and I will review it accordingly with our executive team. Should you have plans to visit NYC again please reach out to me personally so we can take special care of you.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked for the Bentley early Jan 2013 as was a very good price on Holiday genie. I had been to NY twice before and had stayed in the midtown area but the price for the hotel and flight made us book this hotel even though it is upper east side and not in the middle of all the madness..
We did a bit of research after booking the hotel and reviews said was in a nice area... and it really was.
We emailed as soon as we got the hotel confirmation to try to secure a high floor and to upgrade to a junior suite at $50 a night which was sooo worth it...
We printed off our upgrade confirmation which stated a high floor etc as we had read on trip advisor that people had requested the same and not been accommodated.
No warm welcome from the reception staff on our arrival... no hello and welcome to the Bentley... just a "can i help you",, even though we are standing with our cases ... no one to help us in ,, which we didn't mind as it costs an arm and leg in NY to tip..but even the taxi driver was surprised we had to walk ourselves in!
We made our own way to the 18th floor .. room 4 -1804.
and was fantastic... views ... suite ... all great...massive room... tiny wardrobe space..
however we was so thrilled with the room ... all was great from then on in.
The hotel do not supply tea/coffee/kettle facilities so we bought a kettle from Bed Baths and Beyond which is next block away (cost $15 for the kettle)
walk to metro is 15 mins but a nice walk and felt very safe.
No bar till later on in the afternoon at approx 1830... however was more than impressed with Julian the barman whose local knowledge got us to Il vagabondo... ( local Italian restaurant).
Also got to mention Rosa Mexicana for a local vibrant Mexican dinner, it was excellent.... and for breakfast The Ritz dinner the next block up on 62nd
Would we go again...definitely, even though we didn't get the welcome expected we had a brilliant time at the hotel whilst there and the staff (when there and available) were excellent.
Look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Jnr suite for $50 dollars a night and get a high floor away from the sound of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starkers1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear starkers1983,

I am happy to hear that overall you had a great stay with us. We appreciate your valuable and honest feedback about your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear however that you did not receive a warm welcome as you should have and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We always strive to improve our level of customerservice therefore we truly appreciate your review on tripadvisor. Please reach out to me so I can personally take care of you next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was my first stay at the Bentley Hotel, I have stayed at its sister hotel, The Empire as well, which is also great. Upon my arrival, I had a few personal mishaps, but the front desk staff, Su in particular, made my arrival so easy. She was kind, completely accommodating and I felt like she genuinely cared. Great service is hard to come by sometimes, Su and the staff at The Bentley Hotel, know hospitality and great service. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexus11460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Lexus 11460,

I am glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for the compliments and your valuable feedback, we truly appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please reach out to me directly for future assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a really nice little hotel... very clean and comfortable. Little bar is little, but cute. Rooms are not too small (like you normally find in NYC). Staff nice and helpful. Prime (restaurant) was closed during my stay, so that was bad... but other than that, a great experience.

Room Tip: One thing... they are having construction accross the street... if you are a late sleeper, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear adventurelaura,

Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor. I am glad we were able to make your recent stay an enjoyable one and hope to welcome you back in near future when your travels bring you to NYC again.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,145 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,088 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,587 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,261 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#343 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
#162 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#184 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Regatta Hotels, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing