We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some gorgeous rooms at the Bentley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Some gorgeous rooms at the Bentley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Unprepossessing exterior, but great location. Stayed for five days and were unexpectedly upgraded to a lovely, very large room with spectacular views of the East River and Queensborough Bridge.
Staff was professional and helpful. Only quibble is that like many hotels they have not solved their internet problem. $12 a day and there was so little bandwidth that it was barely usable.

Room Tip: As for a room ending in "4", like 1604, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Ayacuchano,

I am happy to hear that your recent stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you for taking the time and leaving us some great feedback. I am glad our Team was able to assist you with all requests and upgraded you to a great room to make your stay even more pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back for your future trips to NYC.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    436
    203
    85
    63
See reviews for
286
401
76
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our 1 week stay was good as the staff were responsive to questions. The location was great and we got a real feel for the neighborhood. It sucked that there was no kettle or coffee machine as it rained for 2 days during our stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear papyrusTraveller,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your previous stay with us. I am so happy to hear that our team was able to assist you with all your questions and make your stay more enjoyable. In regards to the amenities please be informed that we have items available upon request for you to use throughout your stay, some of them with a small rental fee. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any future reservation so I can personally make sure that you have everything you need. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was there for a week on February 2013, and it was a very pleasant experience. My room had a microwave and a fridge for me to use, and that was extremely convenient since I was on a budget. The hotel staff, super helpful. I have no complaints and I can recommend it without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Travelover2013,

I am happy to hear that were able to accommodate you with all amenities that you needed through out your stay. Thank you for your pleasant feedback. We have an amazing team of employees here at the Bentley and I am so glad that we were able to serve you to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bentley the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at The Bentley. The room was lovely, very comfy and with a lovely view of the city. As I am a photographer, I really enjoy bright rooms when I travel. The rooftop bar is amazing, I really enjoyed the view and atmosphere at this place. I would definitely choose this hotel for my next stay in NYC.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Chinichan,

Thank you for your lovely review about your recent stay with us. I am so glad you were happy with the room and the amazing views our hotel has to offer. I am sure you were able to take great panorama pictures. I look forward to welcoming you back if your travels bring you to NYC in future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I were in NYC for an event at the Society of Illustrators, so we chose the Bentley Hotel rather at random based in part on its relative proximity to our event venue. We were thrilled with our choice. I'm all about the view, and the view from our room was spectacular. Our corner room was filled with light, and overlooked the Queensboro Bridge, Roosevelt Island and the funiculars, the East River and an interesting perspective on the skyline. The staff mentioned that the hotel interior had recently been renovated and the resulting ambiance was both funky and chic. Our room was spacious and clean, the staff friendly and accommodating, and the neighborhood lively and engaging (we recommend Felice Wine Bar and restaurant for dinner and the Ritz Diner for breakfast). We had a wonderful experience at the Bentley and would go stay there again in a New York minute.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Peaco T,

I am so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am happy to hear that we were able to provide you some great recommendations while you were here. Please feel free to reach out to me personally should your travels bring you to NYC in future.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ont
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a room with two double beds. Great central location and the rooms have a nice clean and contemporary, but warm design. Baths are small but well appointed. Beautiful lobby!

PROS:
--Chic, comfortable rooms
--Nice, friendly staff
--10-minute jog to Central Park, and the East River running trail is just around the corner from the hotel, so a great location if you want to fit in a morning run during your trip to NY (which you should: it's a great running town!)
--Small fitness room is well-equipped with two treadmills, an elliptical, bike, free weights, medicine balls and Bosu balls
--Lobby has a coffee bar

CONS:
--No room service
--Coffee bar only serves drip coffee, no espresso-based beverages
--No in/out privileges for valet car parking services
--Would be cool if the mini bar had some artisanal/locally made snack foods given the crazy-high prices they charge. We recently stayed at the Affinia Gardens hotel, too, and their potato chips and chocolates are from local purveyors. I don't ind paying $5 for a tiny bag of artisanal chips, but not from grocery store brands.
--Even on the 11th floor, a lot of street noise! First time this has been an issue for us staying in Manhattan too so maybe it is due to the location.

Room Tip: I'm guessing higher floors are quieter...Our 11th floor room facing the corner of 2nd and 42nd w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Yuki_8,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely modern hotel. The bed was AH-MAZ-ING-soft and firm at the same time. The large windows promoted a fabulous city view. The only downside to the windows was the nighttime chill but housekeeping promptly brought me a space heater instead of just more blankets. Convenient enough location. The closest subway is about a 10 minute walk but I felt safe enough to walk the area at night alone.

Room Tip: Get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esmee K, Front Office Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear genXbabe,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a great time and enjoyed the views from your room. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please contact me personally should you need assistance.

Best Regards,

Esmee K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#128 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;