We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HotelTravel.com Expedia.com
and 12 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 446 hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked into The Bentley for 5 days to celebrate our honeymoon. The journey from JFK wasnt too bad (approx half hr during rush hour) and our initial impressions were very good. The lobby was very attractive and the staff were very helpful. We stayed in a room on the 11th floor which was lovely and had 2 very large beds! We had a very good nights sleep the whole time we were there.

The view was exactly how we imagined New York to be with a view of tall buildings one side and the river and Roosevelt Island on the other- very nice.

We were able to walk to eveywhere which was quite handy. Bloomingdales and Central Park only a few blocks away. There were plenty of places to eat and drink within the vicinity.

The only negative we had was that because the hotel is next to the FDR there was a lot of traffic noise, but then thats probably the same wherever you stay in NYC. Once we'd got used to it it was fine.

The rooftop bar and restaurant on the 21st floor is stunning. We went up one night and had cocktails on the veranda which was quite romantic. Stunning views!

Although the hotel charges for Wi-fi we roamed and managed to find access to someone elses which wasnt password protected and was on all the time! Definitely recommend trying to get away with that one!

We would quite likely stay here again if we ever get the chance to go back to New York.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a river view and higher up- might be less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear beepbeepwales,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    382
    171
    76
    58
See reviews for
211
343
56
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Well I stayed in this hotel and my mother, Elizabeth Whitman clogged the toilet. It was about 12 inches and very circumstantial. We did not get a plunger up to our room for 2 hours and the whole room smelled like rotten eggs. But nice hotel definitely come

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here during hurricane sandy. The staff was extremely nice and helpful even during a hectic time. The one down side was we were told the restaurant was open until 11 and when we arrived at 1045 we were refused service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Elizaboo182,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. As the General Manager I am so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be helpful during Hurricane Sandy. Please be assured I will share your feeback regarding the restaurant with their GM to respond accordingly. We do hope to welcome you back soon - preferrably when the weather is a bit more cooperative!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a nice, although brief, stay at the Bentley a few weekends ago. We had alerted the staff that we would arrive early in the morning after a red-eye from Seattle, and they were able to accommodate our requests for a room on a high floor away from the elevators so that we could sleep while others were checking out. The room was terrific - much larger than others we have had in NYC, with a fantastic view of the Queensboro Bridge. While the location is indeed a bit of a walk from major tourist sites, it was easy to get a cab and only 4 blocks to the nearest subway stop. We opted to find our own breakfast at a diner down the street, as the buffet didn't appear to offer much for $12.

Room Tip: We were in 1904, which was a great corner room with lots of space and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear trimatt,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. As the General Manager, I have to agree that our views are spectacular! We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central CT
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We're happy we stayed here for 3 nights while we visited family in the area. We enjoyed our visit to this neighborhood and found many things to do and see around here.

Everyone working here was friendly and courteous. Having coffee available for purchase in the lobby bar in the morning was a plus for me. We enjoyed the beautiful views from our southwest corner room. Within a few blocks of the hotel, we found plenty of restaurants so we did not leave the neighborhood during our stay.

The bed and furniture in the room are super comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean.

Like other reviewers, we did hear conversations when we walked to the elevators and I definitely heard neighbors on one side from one of the corners of our room but this did not interfere with sleeping or our comfort during our stay. We did not hear any noise from the room above ours. We too had problems with some of the outlets in the room not holding our plugs for laptops and chargers but we used the power strip in the room when we needed to do so. The elevators can be slow so we allowed more time to wait. Not a big deal to us and we enjoyed the music in the elevators.

Having a restaurant/bar in the same building was also a nice convenience for us one night when we did not feel like going back outside.

The hotel should offer free Wi-Fi like other hotels in the city. We used our cellphones for connectivity without any issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear seabird0855,

As the General Manager of hte Bentley Hotel, nothing makes me happier than seeing your posting of TripAdvisor stating that we exceeded your expectations! That is our top priority and I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The location is not bang in the center and we could have been spared the taxi rides but after a hectic day in NYC you want peace and quiet, then it makes this hotel a good choice. The staff were mostly mechanical and matter of fact but its city folk, they are made that way! No wifi during our entire stay due to hurricane two weeks back which set us back on doing any planning or reservations.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room and was given a 16th floor. Considering that despite this we still heard tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear davinapreca,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. Although Hurricane Sandy did affect our abiliyt to provide wi fi service for some time, I am happy to report that it is not back up and running. I apologize if this caused any inconvenience during your time as our guest. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel centrally located to all main sights in NYC you might want to end in the typical tourist areas around Times Square or Empire State but The Bentley.
If you hate overcrowded areas and prefer to stay in a more residential and off the beaten path area like me you should take a closer look at The Bentley.

The hotel is located along Hudson River at the Upper East Side next to Queensboro Bridge, East River Drive, and the Roosevelt Island Tram. Its interior is very modern; the rooms are clean but compared to other cities small. Anyways, this is the usual case in Manhattan. If you are a light sleeper you should bring earplugs, a further disadvantage of the loud metropolis, no matter which hotel you are staying in!

Bellboys, receptionists, housekeeping, and the barista at the coffee shop in the lobby are very attentive, polite and obliging.

Unfortunately, I haven’t had time to visit the top floor restaurant but the view over Roosevelt Island towards Queens, Brooklyn and Manhattan isn’t bad. To enjoy the location even more ask for a high floor room during check-in.

Within walking distance you have an upscale supermarket at 1st Ave & 59th St plus several restaurants along 2nd Ave.
A affordable recommendation is Jackson Hole Burgers @ 232 E 64th St # A, if you do not want to spend a fortune traveling with family or friends.

Staying in The Bentley requires some walking, which I don’t mind since this is in my opinion the only way to really explore NYC. If four blocks to the subway is already too much for you take a cab.

The only thing I would like to point out to the management is to offer free Wifi in the lobby to guests. This is by today a standard in NYC hotels.

+ Off the beaten path, off the packed tourist areas but still close enough to the sights,
+ attentive staff,
+/- clean but very small rooms
- no free Wifi

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a better view over the skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear travelinmatecom,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us here at the Bentley Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel New York
Bentley Hotel
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Bentley Hotel Ny
Hotel Bentley New York
Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#148 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Splendia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list