We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bentley Hotel, NYC, Sept 24-28, 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bentley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bentley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bentley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Toronto
1 review
“Bentley Hotel, NYC, Sept 24-28, 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Thank you for making our stay at The Bentley so special.

We loved our room. (1508) The staff were excellent, helped us with restaurant reservations,
Hop on/off bus information, theater reservations, brought ice to our room, hailed cabs
for us. They were all friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed the breakfast on the 2nd floor @ $12.00 per person each morning.
The staff was attentive, replacing fresh coffee, items, clearing the tables.

We will recommend this hotel to family & friends.

Thank you, Mary & Marco

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Carmela,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    435
    203
    85
    63
See reviews for
285
399
76
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as there was a rate offered in connection with a family wedding. The wedding rate was not significantly better than the weekend rate offered at much nicer hotels in Manhattan and we have stayed in many of them. The room was small. There is no room service, though this may be temporary, as their restaurant is currently closed. We were greeted at reception by a woman who was on the telephone and interrupted her call to advise: "If you're checking in, I need ID and a credit card." I was informed by other family members that they received the same "welcome." And that was the tone of the entire visit. There is no service at this hotel. Extra towels means they gave us 3 instead of the apparently standard 2. The carpets haven't been cleaned in a very long time. The window blinds do nothing to keep the rising sun out of the room, because they don't actually fit. The wait for an elevator is extreme. There are plenty of other better choices in Manhattan. This place has a motel feel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear AJGInPhilly,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. As the new General Manager of the property I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the experience you had upon arriving to the Hotel. Please be assured I have already addressed your concerns with our Director of Front Office to address with our Guest Service Agents. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bentley the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at the Hotel if I may be of any future assistance.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had never heard of The Bentley, but because of my need to stay on the east side of NewYorkCity I found the hotel on Google. Let me start by saying that my usual hotels ( I travel for business ) are either the Four Seasons or St Regis. The personalized service at the Bentley is on par with the best of the best in NYC. My extended stay, over two weeks, was one of the most pleasurable stays I have had in NYC. While the hotel is not "mid-town", a short walk to 1st avenue has every imaginable cuisine one could ask for. A short walk, cab or bus ride takes you anywhere you want to be in NYC. The rooms are spacious and clean, with a Euro/SouthBeach feel...my particular room had a seperate bedroom that was large and spacious. If you are looking for amazing service that is worth double the price then the Bentley is for you....a must try. The two managers I dealt with, or should I say always dealt with me by asking if there was anything they could for me, were Brett and Peter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. As the new General Manager of the property, I couldn't agree more that we are a "Hidden Gem" on the East Sde of NYC! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to sharing your feedback with Brett and Peter. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bentley Hotel the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We always like to find a room with a view. Rooms overlooking Central Park are crazy expensive.

However, the Bentley offers stunning views over the Queensborough Bridge and the East River. We arrived after dark, and gasped when we saw the view.

It is very easy to walk from here to Central Park, downtown Manhattan and all places of interest.
It is a few years since we stayed here, but will be booking in for a trip to NY next year - one of our top five best rooms ever!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Vivien Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. As the new General Manager of the Bentley, I have to agree that our views are incredible! We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly if I may be of any further assistance.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had a lovely time. The rooms are spacious and quiet and the bed is super comfortable. The staff are all really helpful. The only reason I didn't give them the highest rating is that they are located a little far from the subway. Otherwise a fabulous hotel that takes good care of their clients.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear ScooterTiger,

Thnank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay at the Bentley Hotel. As the General Manager of the Hotel, I am so pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be spacious and our staff to be helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bentley the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

the hotel is in good location and the room is nice, but the front desk service is terrible, unfriendly and impatient. we booked 2 Aqua view room, and they putted one of our room in different room type, so I asked them to change our room to what we booked before, the front desk lady just told me I have to wait until next morning and bring my luggage to lobby wait, and they can't guarantee I will have room or not..........and the lady is totally not helpful with my other question.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear YangCheng,

As the new General Manager of the Bentley Hotel I would like to thank you for providinig us with your feedback on your most recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and well appointed rooms but am disappointed to hear of your challenges with securing a room with a view. Please be assured I will address your concerns with our Front Office team and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at the Bentley if I may be of any assistance in the future. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, Rhone-Alpes, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

e carvery nice hotel,very clean, rooms have all you need (rerfigerator LED TV, dock for iphone, ironing board,umbrella,...and so on.
Staff very sympatic and available.
Bed are very confortable !!!
May be a little problem, underground is 15 minutes walk, but for us , in holydays not really embarrassing.
You have car (Roosvelt Island) at 2 streets, very fine !!!

Régine & Jean-Marc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_1231, General Manager at The Bentley Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Jean Marc C,

As the new General Manager of the Bentley Hotel, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. Our new restaurant is opening at the end of September and we do hope to have you come back to experience it! Please do not hesitate to contac me directly if I may be of any further assistance.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bentley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bentley Hotel

Address: 500 East 62nd Street, Between York Ave and FDR Drive, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bentley Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Manhattan's Upper East Side - Hotel features panoramic views of Manhattan skyline, East River and the renowned, 59th St Bridge Be sure to have dinner and/or a cocktail in Prime at The Bentley restaurant. The kosher, continental menu features many great dishes that will not disappoint! Open Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 10:30pm and Saturday, after sun-down, until 12:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bentley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Nyc
Bentley Hotel New York City
Bentley New York City
Hotel Bentley New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bentley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.