We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 10%
Ranked #101 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed at the "old" On the Ave Hotel a couple of times during our previous visits to New York, - and looked forward to returning this month - as we had very nice experience the previous visits.
The "new" hotel had a beer café at the entrance, - - the "old" stylish lobby with the grand piano was gone - and we missed the atmosphere.
Check in and welcome OK, - no empathy though...
The "superior" room was small, bed OK - with very hard pillows. The AC system was very noisy - and the reading lamp at the bed was not in order.
When complaining of the lamp and the AC system at the desk the next morning, - they promised to look at it. Upon returning to the hotel late afternoon , - we informed the desk that we would have to check out the next day as we had to return home earlier than expected. In the room, - the lamp was still out of order - and the AC system as noisy.
Upon checking out the next day around noon - we were told that we would be charged for another night -as they demanded at least 24 hours notice; - something that was not mentioned the afternoon before when we told them of our earlier departure.
We had a light dinner at the restaurant Serafina the first night at the hotel, bland - neutral -service, non-memorable spaghetti dish. We had breakfast at Serafina before checking out of the hotel, - again; - straight - neutral - service, - and the breakfast quality was better at the "diner" a block away.

In short; - our first trip to the "new" On the Ave Hotel were also to be our last one, - primarily due to the lack of service mindedness, - " empathy" in the staff at both the hotel and restaurant....

We will return to the Upper West next time visiting NYC, - and stay at some of the other hotels in the area - where we felt more welcome. (we have stayed at at least three other hotels the last 4-5 years...)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    461
    99
    30
    21
See reviews for
301
500
108
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at NYLO for a wedding in NY. It's in a nice central location. The service is excellent, the bed very comfortable and the room very clean and roomy for a boutique hotel. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel a few years ago when under different management, but knew there had been many changes, so were prepared but once there we were disappointed. Everywhere is very dark, especially our room. Last time our room looked onto a brick wall and it seemed as if we'd been given the same room this time - despite paying extra for a so-called Superior room. The website gives the impression that all the rooms have big wide windows with views over the city, but this is not true and is misleading. Being visitors from England we felt that we should have had the opportunity to see something of the city from our room.
There was always a long wait for the lifts, as they are used by staff too who always seem to be going to the basement! There should be a separate lift for the housekeepers, maintenance and security people.
However, our room was quiet and there are 2 balconies on the 14th and 16th floors which are available to be used by guests, with a small bar in the evening on the 16th. This was our opportunity to look at the view.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view, if that's your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visit our family for a one week stay and just finished our third stay in a one year period. the NYLO is our home away from home. We have been so very pleased with their service that we are going to stay at the NYLO in Dallas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks down on Broadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Needed a last minute place to stay and NYLO come to the rescue. Spacious corner room overlooking Broadway. The room was modern and clean. Staff and service were very nice and helpful. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others. Great location to stay in the upper west and within two blocks of the 1.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel location is great. fast check in. the rooms are very small and missing few amenities. The room service is not available but the restaurant on the first floor is great. There is no mini bar or bottled water so don't forget to buy some. if you are value hunter and like this location its worth it.

Room Tip: 45 min to get the car from the parking garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear PA_Bank,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed the hotel overall. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product and services. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We found the staff very helpful and love the ambience. I love the rooms and keep coming back here. The lobby has a great buzz so you feel you are in a real happening place but still has a real warmth. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear jssturm7,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed the hotel overall. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#108 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.