We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 10%
Ranked #99 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bow, New Hampshire
1 review
“Outstanding staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Our stay at the NYLO was highlighted by the excellent staff. Everyone was extremely helpful and friendly and unfailingly cheery. The room was clean and in good repair and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is near Central Park, the museums, shopping, dining and two subway stops. It was an outstanding value.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that get morning sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    443
    96
    28
    20
See reviews for
289
483
103
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Hotel was great, big room, very good beds, Friendly people. I had a perfect week with my 3 kids in New York. Location was very pretty, quiet, Subway Nearby, we had for there days free WiFi. in the room.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

There is a construction going on across the street that starts working at 6am.
Service at the bar was very good. Before leaving we aere offered a compensation for the noise of a complimentary breakfast and an upgrade for our next stay.


  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed one night and found NYLO well appointed modern and with an attentive staff. Suggest trying to park in the neighborhood rather than their service of $65 a night for a SUV. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: opted for no view rather than wait to checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my second stay at NYLO. Rooms are spacious, bed really comfy, nice linens, great wifi, clean bathroom. My friend flew over from Europe, it was a big birthday trip for both of us. She loved the place as well. Coffee in the room was a big hit and when we asked for couple extra coffee refills, housekeeping was right on it and brought us some more ;- Location of the hotel is very convenient. Close to Central Park, subway, restaurants and shopping.

I would like to give a special shout-out to the bartenders. Charles and Roberto are awesome! Fun and attentive. When it comes to the bar, GREAT service all around.
They made us feel very welcomed now and during my first visit in December 2013.
I was looking forward to coming back to the bar and sharing my daily adventures with them. 2 of the best bartenders I have ever encountered ;-)

The front desk could be more talkative and inform people of $200 hold for incidentals. There was some construction going on right next door but overall I would stay at NYLO again.

One negative thing I will say is the restaurant Serafina next door. We had brunch there with a friend who came all the way from Boston to see me and the service was TERRIBLE!!! Nobody smiled or even looked like they wanted to be there... Made us feel like we were bothering them. I would NEVER go to Serafina again. Plenty of other places to go to. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Enjoyed our stay at the NYLO - helpful, professional staff, clean, great location in (for us) new part of New York. Room was quite small with little surface/storage space (think roll-aways in windowsill) but well appointed and fresh. Easy to get to any part of the city quickly via subway. Lively atmosphere in the evenings, guests and visitors enjoyed bar and live music.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for five nights in this hotel. It met our expectations: A comfortable bed, great climate control, clean bathroom, good wifi. The best of it is the perfect location on 77th and Broadway, just five blocks from Metro on 72th which takes you one stop express to 42 Street and it's hustle and bustle. Also some really nice restaurants close by: The Serafina for breakfast, which we really recommend, and the Red Farm for fantastic China - both in the same building! Also just a block from brilliant Nice Matin and amazing Fish Tag. All in all a great hotel for a holiday trip.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Marianne P,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product and services. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.