We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upper West hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 10%
Ranked #102 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Upper West hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for five nights in this hotel. It met our expectations: A comfortable bed, great climate control, clean bathroom, good wifi. The best of it is the perfect location on 77th and Broadway, just five blocks from Metro on 72th which takes you one stop express to 42 Street and it's hustle and bustle. Also some really nice restaurants close by: The Serafina for breakfast, which we really recommend, and the Red Farm for fantastic China - both in the same building! Also just a block from brilliant Nice Matin and amazing Fish Tag. All in all a great hotel for a holiday trip.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    439
    95
    28
    21
See reviews for
287
481
103
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My boyfriend decided to book a room for a Sunday just beacuse! I love the room because it was so much room. I loved the locker theme that they had going. The hard wood floor was a delight because I'm so used to carpet floors. The shower was very interesting...there is not tub but still very intimate. The terrace on the 16 floor is beautiful and checking out was fast and easy. Also try the bar in the lobby ther drinks are great!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here when it was The Avenue. Talk about an awesome renovation. Completely different hotel. It is like they even made the walls thicker. The rooms are very nice, hardwood floors, soft beds, nice showers. The lounge is very cool, too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

NYLO provides a first class hotel experience. The staff on all levels worked to make our stay comfortable and quite enjoyable. We used their valet parking and the service was smooth and effortless (for us). We like this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Get high and on the west side to have views of the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I got to the hotel at 8:45 am and they even had a room for me. Small but adequate; it was a handicap accessible room and I am (mostly) able-bodied, so I'm not sure what other rooms are like. Large bathroom with huge shower. I was on the 2nd floor and the room was still very quiet--facing 77th Street.
Location is excellent.
Drawbacks: the hallway smelled musty--almost like cigarette smoke--and the aroma lingered a bit in my room. There was a water dispenser in the lobby...but every time I went by it was empty and I could find no cups...why? Also, breakfast at Serafina (unless it is included in your deal) is really expensive; dinner at Serafina is more reasonable and the food is excellent.
I would definitely consider NYLO on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

NYLO is a very nice hotel. It's located in the upper west side near a subway station, the American Museum of Natural History and Central Park. The staff is very kind, always smiling and will do all he can to help if you're in any kind of trouble.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have stayed at the hotel at least 12 times over the last year -- and have never thought of trying someplace else.
Everyone there - from front door to front desk, to housekeepers and maintenance people, are top-notch.
Originally, I went for the location, but return for the comfort and service.
My only request: Discounts for returning visitors!

Room Tip: I like to stay in the front, even if there is construction -- it doesn't bother me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear etaylor2014,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product and services. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.