We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely. Trendy and cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely. Trendy and cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Love the location. Its a cool hotel. Try to get a penthouse at the top. 1505 was really a great room. View is typical upper west inc some hudson. Highly recommended. Large rooms and great value

They take dogs and that really great. I will definitely go back

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    377
    78
    24
    18
See reviews for
253
423
93
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had one night to be in NYC for a quick getaway and happened about NYLO after reading about it in Travel & Leisure. Wow, what a great value and fun hotel. The lobby area and bar is hip and inviting. Staff are accommodating and friendly. Our room had a King size bed and lots of lighting and storage. Bathroom had a glass shower. The room was spacious by European standards and small by American, but absolutely large enough. Bedding was lovely in crisp white, with colorful accents in the room, and we had a cool view of Manhattan. We will absolutely make this our go to hotel in NYC. Oh, and they gave us a free upgrade to a Premium room upon arrival. All told, with tax a great stay in NYC for $185.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely trendy hotel, rooms have wooden floors, thought that may be noisy from upstairs, we were on the 6 floor and didn't hear anyone else apart from a dog that barked when room service entered, yes they accept dogs and the rooms so clean we could not tell if one had been in our room previously, the lounge bar was entertaining and on New Year's Eve a free jazz band was playing,ngreta when we returned after the fireworks, if possible have rear room as the road out the front can be noisy at lower levels and next door a ladder station (fire engine) shape amend to go out a few times a day, although I missed the photo opourtunity each time. A good selection of local restaurants for dinner and breakfast, locals use them so check online and book. Good shops nearby and it's only a short wlk to Central Park and the metro.

Room Tip: High and to the rear to minimise traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good hotel near the natural history museum and the central park. The hotel had stylish and clean rooms and great views from the upper most floors. No breakfast was included in the room price, but there were quite a few cheap breakfast places within few blocks of the hotel. The nicest part of this hotel was, that it was close to subway and central park. We only stayed 3 nights, and with that time we were able to see a lot because hotel was easily accessable from different parts of the town.

Room Tip: There was no free wifi on the rooms, but if you stay on lower floors you might be able to login to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A five star value here, to be sure. Great location and friendly staff. A little edgy in design which was fine, I would gladly stay here again. I noticed quite a few people in the lobby/lounge area enjoying the evening entertainment and I have heard the restaurant is quite good.

Room Tip: I was on fifth floor off broadway and noise was not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful and trendy! We have stayed here many times and always have a great experience. The manager, Matt Schaeffer, is someone who should be a role model for how to treat one's guests by going over and beyond caring! I have only two complaints......one of the desk agents who was extremely arrogant and argumentative. This is unacceptable. I have stayed at this hotel many times and do not expect that any guest should be treated in this manner. One other thing to be aware of.....construction continues long term on West 77th street so try to book a room away from there. Otherwise this is a terrific hotel, extremely clean and modern, beautiful lobby and cool bar, most staff wonderfully friendly and helpful, and a perfect area of the city!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a keeper! I remember when this used to be "On the Avenue" about 6 years ago..... and now it's better! The rooms are decent -- if not large for Manhattan -- and well/sparsely decorated. GREAT restaurant in the hotel which kept my fussy 8-year-old eater happy. Lobby bar was warm and comfortable. Hotel's near Zabars, Museum of Natural History and Central Park.
Staff were VERY helpful!
GREAT Chinese restaurant "The Cottage" on the corner of Amsterdam.
Not too expensive -- we'll be back!

Room Tip: We wanted a room on Broadway to get back into the New York hustle and bustle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
#25 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#95 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.