We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Save Saved
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
TripAdvisor Fans Special
Ranked #70 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is fairly new and well situated. Loved the Metro feel.

We had a summer deal that included valet parking. Nice Perk!

Close to Central Park, museums and shopping. Staff was very friendly and very accommodating.

Room was small and comfortable. Bathroom was nice but lacked a place to hang towels (that would have been nice). We had closet space as well as 'lockers' for storage space.

Bed was very comfortable and place was quiet. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    268
    53
    22
    15
See reviews for
189
323
66
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We just returned home from a 6 night stay at NYLO. It was a great location, staff were so friendly and helpful, rooms are well appointed and clean. The beds are super comfortable, our room had a balcony with nice furniture and a great view, the AC worked well, and we had no problems with traffic noise. We had a few small issues with lights when we first arrived and within minutes a staff member was at our room fixing them.
We loved that the hotel was in a quiet area of NY and that there were lots of local people at the shops and restaurants. It was great after a busy day in tourist areas to get off the subway and feel like you were home. That was how we were greeted whenever we came back to the hotel. The hotel has 2 balcony areas, one on the 16th floor where they serve drinks each day. It has beautiful views and comfy furniture.
There are plenty of little coffee shops and cafés within a 2 block radius of the hotel. Try the Viand Cafe for any meal, good food and well priced; Citarella's and Fairway groceries were very close and offer prepared dishes.
The subway is 2 blocks away. We used it everyday and had no problems. The concierge gave us great directions and suggested we might try the 7 day pass. It paid for itself many times over, not to mention being much easier to use than having exact change all the time.
We will definitely stay at NYLO again if we get back to New York. It was a big part of making our first trip there so successful. Thank you!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

So far we have been around 15 days at NYLO hotel.
The structure is located in a quite and nice area (Upper West side), really close to the center.
All the staff has been kind and we couldn't ask for more.
In particular Matthew, the manager has been helpful and ready to fulfill all our requests.
At the beginning we just booked for 4 days in order to move to another one.
Nevertheless, after the experience we definitely opted to stay in the same structure.

Do not hesitated, this is the best structure achievable regarding the trade off quality-price.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stay in the NYLO a lot when I come to New York. Easy two block walk to the number 1 train. Quiet and clean - I especially like that there are no carpets in the rooms - keeps the dust and allergies down.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpeness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When staying at a place i always check out reviews before booking. So coming here i was expecting a reasonable stay. I really wasn't disappointed!! I don't understand what the few people who have complained are complaining about. Yes the bathrooms are on the small side, but there is ample space to do what you need to do in there - its not squashed. I didn't think that my room was small at all - for a New York hotel it was very good. after all if you are in New York you are not going to spend much time in your room are you?! The bed was huge and comfortable, TCMF in the room were good, although would appriciate milk rather then creamer - i think its a culture think though - so when in Rome and all that.... The room its self is finished to a high standard and very clean. Yes it can be noisy out side sometimes but you have come to one of the busiest cities in the world you should expect noise. The staff are more than helpful. Wifi is free in the bar and lounge areas but expensive in your room, i think nearly $60 for 4 days access - i bought my inclusive in the room rate though. Hotel is in an excellent location, 5 minutes from Central Park, 3 minutes from subway and surrounded by shops and eateries. You wont get better for your money in New York, it will be the first place i try when i visit the city again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this was a well situated hotel, with good location for museums and central park, in a nice residential area, good for subway and shops, eating out etc very young fun atmosphere with a buzz from the bar in the entrance bedroom was huge with a modern look and two huge beds

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Rochelle D,

Thank you so much for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us here at NYLO New York City!

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your oveall stay, and was able to take advantage of our fabulous location!

I hope to have the opportunity to host your stay in the future, and continuing to meet your expectations!

All The Best,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Small rooms, comfy beds. stayed in 2 different rooms, one had a HUGE bathroom, but no shelf to lay things on and no closet bar, just hangers on a hook. other had a smaller bathroom and a small closet but barely enough room to layout a suit case.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NYLO-NYC01, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Kayln F,

Thank you so much for the feedback you provided about your recent stay with us.

I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the hotel overall, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Please feel free to contact our Front Desk team at FDManagers@nylo-nyc.com, so that we can place you into a more desirable room cateogry for your next stay.

All The Best,

Mark Miller
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in New York City
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.