We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Save Saved
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
TripAdvisor Fans Special
Ranked #59 of 452 hotels in New York City
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Phenomenal location, and great hotel. Try to stay on one of the upper floors 14-16. The roof top lounges are awesome. My only complaint about the whole place was the Air Conditioner units. Extremely loud when they kicked on. Loud enough to wake you up.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    466
    220
    47
    18
    14
See reviews for
163
279
59
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our four-night stay at NYLO hotel. We stayed in a deluxe king room and were lucky enough to score a corner room. This meant we had four big windows so it was a beautifully light filled room. It did have great blinds to block out the light when needed though. The bed was super comfy and we could've spent all day in it if things like the Natural History Museum & Central Park weren't calling. Not to mention Zabar's just a few blocks away, the best food shop EVER! We booked the hotel over four months in advance of our stay so we scored a pretty good rate which included free wifi. There were a few downsides. There is some serious renovations happening to the building next door which included some intermittent jackhammering each day, starting from 7am one of the mornings. This is clearly not the hotel's fault and hopefully the work will be completed soon. One front desk staff member was quite short with us on our departure and we weren't sure why. Maybe she was just having a bad day. Also, the cleaner didn't do a particularly good clean during our stay. The room was clean when we turned up but other than make the bed each day we couldn't see anything else being done such as sweeping/vacuuming the floor and wiping down bench tops. It's no big deal really but it would've been nice as it's definitely not a cheap hotel. We would recommend this hotel to those wishing to stay in a lovely, quieter part of NYC.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe king room and ask for a corner room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

NYLO is a clean boutique hotel in a great location. The rooms are small and attractively decorated. Our bathroom was huge in comparison to the size of our room. The hotel staff was helpful, relaxed and aimed to please.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here in July for 5 nights and relaxed into our second stay. Last year they were still renovating the lobby area but managed to provide a quiet, comfortable stay. So we came back. We had a Deluxe King on the 5th floor and at first felt let down. Our first stay was on a high floor with an amazing view of the Hudson River. Getting over the view factor, staff was super friendly and always helpful. Bed and bedding are total luxury and love the hardwood floor. I have asthma and appreciate every effort this hotel makes to clean the room so well without any scent. Bathroom on small side but, shower is excellent. The safe is on a low shelf next to the bed. You need to kneel on the floor to use it so not well thought out. But location is terrific! Close to Central Park, subway, shops and museums. A real treat was so many great restaurants in walking distance. We rarely took a taxi.One night we easily walked to Lincoln Centre to see a great play too. Lounge is nothing to celebrate but, go to the terrace with a bottle of wine and look at the view. Check for specials and get the Deluxe King or Suite.

Room Tip: Check for specials and get the Deluxe King or Suite. High floor makes a great experience better with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay at NYLO. We usually stay closer to Times Square-34th Street, but wanted to try something different this time. The UWS was a lot quieter and we were still able to get to everything we wanted to do with a quick subway ride. The hotel was clean and much more spacious than our other hotels in NY. The only negative was we had noisy neighbors the first few nights and were able to hear everything through the shared door. Otherwise this was a great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room 1025 has a nice view, is light and the house keeping Cindy is very friendly and helpful. The room is clean and well kept. My only remark is the noisy airconditioning.
The hotel is nearby the central park, museum district and Broadway. Excellent for strawling around in the city.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, them more light you have in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the NYLO hotel on August 21st for a wedding. We arrived at the hotel around 2am. The guy at the front desk was very pleasant and was even willing to have someone help us with our bags. The hotel is situated in a nice area and is only about 3 miles from Times Square. They have bellhops who will flag down a taxi for you. At night they have a lounge area for guest on the top floor balcony that serves wine and beer. We didn't have a great view in the room I stayed in (we faced the inside of the hotel), and the standard room was on the smaller side. In all I would definitely stay at the NYLO hotel again. The room was clean, great location and it was quiet.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#90 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.