We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Save Saved
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
TripAdvisor Fans Special
Ranked #64 of 452 hotels in New York City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

AC is very loud. It might be the AC unit itself or it might be the small room size. Either way sleep quality will be affected. There is a fire station right across the street. Sirens are frequent and of course, loud.

Wi-Fi not free.

There are National, Alamo and Enterprise car rentals across the street which came in handy during our stay.

The room itself is decent. I'd say it's bigger than average at this price. LCD TV. Power outlets and USB ports are conveniently located. The storage shelf has a unique design but I don't find it very useful. I'd rather have a table there so that I can put my luggage underneath.

Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    458
    212
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
160
269
59
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. We had two Deluxe Queen Queen suites right next to each other at the end of a hallway. Perfect for traveling with kids. Huge rooms/bathrooms. Very comfortable beds. Decor is cute. The cubbies don't have backs so be careful nothing falls behind them. Cleaning staff accidentally threw away my son's retainers and the hotel compensated us for the loss. The hotel car service had a driver who didn't know his way around town at all and the service was very expensive. We love the neighborhood. Wonderful hotel. This is our fourth year in a row staying there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We travel to NYC annually each summer to visit my brother-in-law who lives on the upper west side, and have stayed at every hotel in that area of Manhattan, including the previous iteration of the NYLO when it was called On the Ave. The upgrades done by NYLO are quite nice. Our room was attractive and spacious--especially for New York--with more than adequate storage space. One of my pet peeves is hotel rooms with weak lighting, and I was pleased to see that the newly decorated NYLO had excellent bedside and bathroom lighting. But what really makes this hotel stand out is the outdoor terrace on the 16th floor. We enjoyed a glass of wine there each night, and had the place to ourselves one afternoon while enjoying a picnic lunch. This is a priceless amenity that I doubt could be found at other New York hotels.

The hotel is a short walk to two subway lines, making it accessible to all NYC attractions.

The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. We definitely plan to come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We originally had a room that was facing on a street in construction. In the morning, the construction work started at 7:30 AM and was so loud it woke us up. We expressed our discontentment to the lobby staff and asked to be moved to another room, and perhaps be given a compensation or reduction in the room price. The staff was very understanding and cooperative and agreed to move us to another room the same day. We were moved to an even larger room that was nice and quiet, we were offered complimentary breakfast, and to our surprise, we were even given a discount of 50$ on our stay. The way the staff handled this situation was extremely professional, and it gave us an excellent impression of the hotel, and we will definitely come back here again and recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights in July/August, and had a good stay here. I chose it based on a combination of location, reviews and price.

Room was good, had decent size, comfortable bed, work desk and chair. Wifi worked good for me. Unfortunately I had a backyard view, so recommend buying a room with a view.
A/C worked fine, but was quite noisy. Otherwise my room on 11th floor was very quiet.

Staff was very helpful, reception was generally well-staffed, no waiting time.

Hotel location was very good to be uptown. Two subway stations nearby, the express trains in 72th street are non-stop to Times Square, which was very convenient. And with location on Broadway, there were many shops, restaurants nearby and easy to hail a cab. The CVS on the other side of the street was really convenient too.

The hotel location just a few blocks from Central Park on the east side and the parks along Hudson on the west side made this location perfect for some morning jogging, which really was a good way to start my day.

A special thanks to security for helping me out when I forgot some belongings when leaving, securing it, and packaging, so I could order pickup/delivery back to my home where it arrived in good order.

Will definitely consider staying again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We found NYLO while googling around trying to find a hotel that was not outrageously priced for a one night stay on the upper west side of Manhattan. This is it! Great service and the most comfortable hotel bed I ever slept in. Be sure to ask where to click when making reservations - they have all kinds of upgrades and bonuses (a free cocktail for liking on FB!) and AAA discounts. Check out West Side Grocery across the street for snacks - amazing! The staff made our stay so fun. And be sure to check out the outdoor patios on the 14th and 16th floors - beautiful views!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Denis, Reunion Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

nice location in Upper West Side ; very nice design ; we feel right in NYC ; everyone was helpful and friendly ; very nice terrace with breathtaking view for a drink and meet hotel guests Avoid breakfast at Seraphina restaurant wich is poor

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Francois P,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be passed onto our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#26 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.