We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, room, nice area, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Save Saved
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
TripAdvisor Fans Special
Ranked #58 of 452 hotels in New York City
1 review
“Great service, room, nice area, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 3 nights in July/August, and had a good stay here. I chose it based on a combination of location, reviews and price.

Room was good, had decent size, comfortable bed, work desk and chair. Wifi worked good for me. Unfortunately I had a backyard view, so recommend buying a room with a view.
A/C worked fine, but was quite noisy. Otherwise my room on 11th floor was very quiet.

Staff was very helpful, reception was generally well-staffed, no waiting time.

Hotel location was very good to be uptown. Two subway stations nearby, the express trains in 72th street are non-stop to Times Square, which was very convenient. And with location on Broadway, there were many shops, restaurants nearby and easy to hail a cab. The CVS on the other side of the street was really convenient too.

The hotel location just a few blocks from Central Park on the east side and the parks along Hudson on the west side made this location perfect for some morning jogging, which really was a good way to start my day.

A special thanks to security for helping me out when I forgot some belongings when leaving, securing it, and packaging, so I could order pickup/delivery back to my home where it arrived in good order.

Will definitely consider staying again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    211
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
159
266
59
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We found NYLO while googling around trying to find a hotel that was not outrageously priced for a one night stay on the upper west side of Manhattan. This is it! Great service and the most comfortable hotel bed I ever slept in. Be sure to ask where to click when making reservations - they have all kinds of upgrades and bonuses (a free cocktail for liking on FB!) and AAA discounts. Check out West Side Grocery across the street for snacks - amazing! The staff made our stay so fun. And be sure to check out the outdoor patios on the 14th and 16th floors - beautiful views!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Denis, Reunion Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

nice location in Upper West Side ; very nice design ; we feel right in NYC ; everyone was helpful and friendly ; very nice terrace with breathtaking view for a drink and meet hotel guests Avoid breakfast at Seraphina restaurant wich is poor

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We brought my Mom to NYC for a visit, since it's one of the cities on her list to see... Hotel was average. Really nothing special. Rooms are small, bathrooms even smaller and for a 4 star hotel not very well appointed. There is a huge difference between an Industrial feel and plainly cheap. Air conditioning was extremely noisy!
And no room service?

Nothing I liked or disliked. Just plain "meh"

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, get a room away from Broadway. Rooms away from the main street are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family stayed here unexpectedly at the end of July. We actually live on the Upper West Side, but had apt rennovations that ran long and we needed a place to stay. We had no expectations of actually enjoying being displaced, but this hotel made us feel like we were on a mini-vacation. To start, we were met at the door by Robert, who was of great support to us for the duration of our stay. Our 7 year old daugher is physically disabled, and uses a power wheelchair. The hotel's entrance has stairs, and the wheelchair lift was out of order - crisis!! But Robert immediately took us around to the service entrance, and although it was clearly NOT meant for the public, he made my daughter feel like she was a VIP having to avoid paparazzi. He turned what could have been a very uncomfortable and sad moment into a memorable plus. Very impressive. The great service experience continued at the front desk, where despite the fact that were clearly not dressed to impress, and basically had thrown our "luggage" into shopping bags, we were made to feel as welcome special guests. I am sorry I did not get the names of the front desk staff - all were very cheerful and helpful.

The accommodations themselves were modern and spacious. Very well maintained, and with high quality bedding and linen. The lighting gave off great ambiance, and although we knew the hotel was full, we never heard a peep from any neighbor on our floor. We had planned to go out for dinner, but ended up ordering in so we could enjoy the room!! The next day we visited the terrace upstairs, which had wonderful views and a great seating area to enjoy it. That night, there was a wonderful crowd in the lobby bar area, with live music and an energetic atmosphere.

I have raved about the hotel since we were there. I hope all that are able experience it, leave feeling the same way we did.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in july. The decor in the place is cool and has a bit of a rocker vibe. But the whole place is pretty small and tight. Our room was very small and yes I know we are in NYC but i had just stayed earlier that week at the Hilton Garden Inn on 54th and 8th and that place was bigger! Anyways the dark grey stone in the bathroom does not make me feel like it is clean..the beds were comfy but for two of us we have to squeeze by each other to go to the bathroom. So basically of you are not on the bed u are in way. They have k-cup coffee makers in the room so that was great. The hotel is attached to Serefina's Italian restaurant and the food there is great!. On the up side the upper west side neighborhood is a great "quiet" place. Plenty of shopping a few blocks away and most importantly Central Park is close by and you end up kind of in the middle and can walk straight across CP and get to the MET quite easily.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear pamvelez1,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay regarding the configuration of your room and bathroom. We have shared your review with our entire team and they are being addressed properly. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the hotel's amenities and dining in Serafina restaurant.

I hope that you would give us the opportunity to make this up to you in the future. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had been to this hotel countless times in its former incarnation as On-the-Ave; while I always liked OTA, this is a huge upgrade and made for a great stay. Great accommodations, location, staff. Would recommend for business or personal travel. Upper West Side is a great part of NYC to explore, and has great access to the rest of the city

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Daniel1124,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services and product. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#26 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.