We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
TripAdvisor Fans Save 10%
Ranked #101 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

What I liked most:
- Location: Upper West Side, nice neighborhood (very Newyorker), near Central Park, Hudson River Park, subway, museums, nice bars and restaurants in the area
- Lobby and hotel bar
- Comfortable room
- Helpful staff (late check-out)
- Good wi-fi service (included in an offer if you book from the website)

What I didn't like
- Window in the room was a bit small
- There are only two elevators used also by the staff so expect long wait and trolleys/vacuum cleaners, stuff for room cleaning

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on upper floors facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear saimonmays,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services and recognition of our staff. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the substandard elevator service. Your comments will be passed onto our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    444
    96
    28
    20
See reviews for
290
483
103
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a secret gem on the UWS. It is not crazy busy and overrun with tour groups like The Roosevelt. It is the perfect small hotel near great restaurants and a subway stop. My favorite part of this hotel is the bar, LOCL, because of great customer service. The bartender, who I hadn't seen in months, remembered my name and my drink. So, this is my place of choice whenever I am in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Joy S,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services, product, and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be passed onto our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This is the sixth time I have stayed at the NYLO in the past year. Now that the renovations are done, this location is even better. Love the service at this hotel where even while stranded there due to a January 2014 snowstorm everyone made me feel right at home. This hotel is in close proximity to nice museums, entertainment, and shopping. I love the convenience of the Westside Market across the street as well as the new CVS. These two stores and a pleasant fitness room allow me to stick to my fitness routine. Looking forward to returning to the NYLO for just pleasure in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear DWAlexander,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff. Your comments will be passed onto our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

Thank you for your continued loyalty and business with NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We loved the atmosphere at NYLO and the Upper West side. More relaxed than the areas with wall to wall tourists. We had pre dinner drinks in the bar each evening which enhanced our appreciation of the atmosphere the hotel has created. Although it would have been nice to have free wifi in the rooms, the fact we had to go yo the lobby/bar area made our stay more enjoyable. We felt a part of the place for 2 weeks. We noticed people had made negative comments online about the lifts, so we were pleasantly surprised to have no problems. The bed was fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Cathy L,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services and product.. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It is very important when you stay at a hotel - the room is very clean and dust "free". There are hard wood floors,the room is comfortable ,and was quiet,with good AC. Excellent room if you have any allergies
The staff was very helpful , would I return -yes I will

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Irving N,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

I am pleased to note that you will return to NYLO NYC!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the last 7 years and I've always enjoyed its location. The surrounding community is mostly residential which is great to "come home" to in the evenings, but yet you are 10 minutes away from the rush and excitement that the Big Apple has to offer. The hotel has undergone a name change to NYLO and have added a bar / lounge area in the lobby. Rooms are small but comfortable.
One downer that was experienced was that we had booked months in advance but on arrival had noticed that my college was only due in the following day and instead of giving her the room at the rate that I had, and which she was paying for the rest of the stay, they charge her double for the one night - a little unreasonable I thought for avid annual customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear David B,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. Thank you for your wonderful note on the hotel's services and product. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I'm sitting in the NYLO lounge as I write this. It's cool, it's comfortable and it's all New York. This hotel isn't pretending to be something it's not. It's not a refined, opulent experience. It's a wicked, awesome ground base from which you can explore or hang. The location can't be beat so let's not go there. Forget midtown, come to the west side where people actually live. So what's not to like? Clean rooms, 32 HD channels, safe, wifi, awesome lounge and bar, walking to real New York restaurants, 45 seconds from the subway and all the shopping you can handle. I dare you not to love this place. WARNING: if you are in need of the super upscale, marble and room service then this may not be for you. Don't bring you're kids here. Just come and have fun, like I am right now. Cheers.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Adam C,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product and services. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#106 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.