We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
TripAdvisor Fans Special
Ranked #71 of 459 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was my first time staying at NYLO and I was impressed by the service. Check in was much faster than at other hotels I’ve stayed. Elloy at front desk was especially accommodating to any needs, as was Will. Overall the staff is focused and friendly throughout my stay at NYLO. If you need help finding a cab (especially in this snowy weather), the doorman Rob was very helpful. Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Doug W,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay! I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments. I am happy to note that you had a pleasant encounter with members of our staff. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    354
    68
    24
    17
See reviews for
236
399
92
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights early February, the hotel room itself isn't anything special but considering the price it's hard to complain, though as a side note the in room tv is huge. But what really made my stay was the staff, from the door staff to the bar staff and everyone else, they were hugely helpful and extremely friendly. Because of the snow most of my plans were cancelled, but spent a Tuesday night in the bar, which was surprisingly fun and the live band were fantastic. Hugely recommend this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Fred W,
Reading your review makes me so proud to work with such an outstanding team! I will be sure to share your review with the entire team. Thank you for taking the tome to share your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here for one night for business when this hotel was known as On The Ave. Renovations were underway and the bar/restaurant were not available. However, I found my room (Superior room) to be spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was a dream compared to every other NYC hotel bathroom I've been in. Someone with a wheelchair could use the bathroom with ease.

Though the location is far away from Times Square and many of the popular shopping areas, I really liked the neighbourhood. It's much quieter and close to the less touristy parts of Central Park. I would recommend this hotel for families or anyone who wants to enjoy the less busy parts of New York City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear TOfoodie80,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's product and services. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed there for 8 nights in Feb. This hotel is excellent and checks all the right box!
A special thanks to Joana at the front desk who made the stay very pleasant.

Pros:
- Updated and modern hotel with a chic theme
- Excellent staff that is friendly and accommodating
- Great location away from the typical tourists traps; a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance
- Close to major public transportation links (# 1,2,3 subway lines)
- Great value for money
Cons
- Elevator can be slow at times
Will definitely be returning here next time I visit NYC.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear RhoTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share such an amazing review with us! It makes me so happy to know that you enjoyed our outstanding staff and great location , I will definitely share your review with the entire team. . We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in a junior suite at NYLO New York for Valentine’s Day and couldn’t be happier with our experience. The NYLO ambience, while still upscale, felt very welcoming. This in part can be attributed to your front desk manager Norman, who was assisting multiple customers but still gave us the impression that we had his full attention. His professionalism and charm should be commended!

The room was impeccably clean and stocked with amenities as well as a fine view of the city. And like other guests said, the mattress was very comfortable. Another point worth mentioning is the bar in the main lobby. Instead of going to Serafina, we decided for a quick coffee/pastry at the bar and received such pleasant service from Eddy, who was vivacious and ready to help—even at 7AM. If you visit the bar later at night, I highly recommend the bartender Charlie. Great drinks only matched by his great service.

Overall it was a memorable experience at NYLO, enhanced by friendly and engaged staff members. Definitely a five-star establishment!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Jessica C,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay! I am extremely pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel's product, services and recognition of our staff! I am happy to note that you had a pleasant encounter and interaction with our associates. Your comments will be shared with our entire team so they may be properly addressed.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I checked into the NYLO NYC during a recent snowstorm. Jesse at the front desk made me feel welcomed and gave me a choice of room locations within the hotel. I could have had a room with a street view or a quieter interior room (i chose a room overlooking Broadway). The room was small but clean, with a Keurig coffee pot and a large, flat screen TV. The hotel has a lively lobby with free wireless if you feel you want to get out of your room, but not necessarily out of the hotel. I had a good experience there and will probably stay there again.

My only quibble with the hotel is that the bathrooms don't have towel bars, for some reason.

Room Tip: Interior rooms have less street noise, obviously. Rooms overlooking Broadway can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Anotherboomer,

Thank you for taking the time to share such great feedback with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us especially that you got the opportunity to experience our outstanding customer service through Jessie, who we are very fortunate to have her on our team. We will be sure to share this review with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon!

Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

NYLO is gem located in the great upper West Side/Central Park that offers wonderful accommodations at a fair price! As a major road warrior, I look for a hotel that is full service and provides a efficient , comfortable , productive space to stay! NLYO offers all of this in a casual modern contemporary setting. The set up of the hotel is similar to that of the SPG W property line, however made better . The property offers a library which provides for areas to relax as well as work in, and a separate living room /bar area too. Both areas are well designed, comfortable and don't have noise issues that I have experienced in similar settings of other hotels. The staff here are eager to serve, and this was evident at the front desk and meet Jessie. Jessie welcomed me and provided early check in as well as an upgraded room! She was very focused on providing me excellent service, and she accomplished this! The Deluxe King Bed Room I was provided was very comfortable and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable, and have a light under them that provides great accent lighting for the room! A nice working desk was in the room, along with 2 closets and a large flat screen HD TV. The bathroom was large, and had marble walls, larger sink and large stand up walk in shower. The housekeeping staff are to be commended, as the room was spot less! Nothing like a clean comfortable room to stay in! I highly recommend NYLO in NYC to all, and look forward to returning to this property again soon! Well done NYLO your are a NYC GEM for sure!!!

Room Tip: If a quiet room is needed, ask for it! They do offer them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear MEProfenno,

Thank you so much for this AMAZING review!! I am so pleased that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. We are very fortunate to have an outstanding team that always goes above and beyond to meet guests’ needs. We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.