We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO New York City

Save Saved
You added NYLO New York City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NYLO New York City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Trip Advisor Saves you $$
Ranked #58 of 449 hotels in New York City
Munster, Indiana
1 review
“Great location and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights and we loved the location and will return happily. Just a few blocks to the subway and Central Park and other great attractions. The beds and pillows were the best and we slept peacefully in a quiet room on the 10th floor. All the staff was friendly and attentive. All the doormen were eager to help and greeted us warmly. Alberto was especially helpful. Lots of good resturants within walking distnace. Some reviews prior to booking referenced the decor, but we felt it was nice and fit in with the building. Loved the bar in the lobby, especially with the door open to the street on Nov. 1. Will go back to NYLO New York City. Loved the patio and view on the 16th floor. Nice to relax there after a long day of walking and take in the views of the sky.

Room Tip: We requested an upper level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear jlvarn,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding the hotel's services and product. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    177
    37
    15
    12
See reviews for
130
226
46
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

WOW! The renovation was worth the wait! We have been regulars at OTA and the change to NYLO NY with renovated rooms, hardwood floors, new beddings and furniture have made our stays excellent+. Add to that the new lobby, bar, areas to relax and mingle or people watch are simply awesome. Best part with the change, the people did not and the same excellent service continues. Scott Calderon and his reservation staff are exceptional as they guide you to make the right room type based upon you situation. And a new restaurant to enjoy with Red Farm. You will be pleased with your decision to book a room at NYLO NYC!

Room Tip: 14th floor great patios!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jeff T,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.Thank you for your wonderful note on the services, the product and recommending the hotel to other Trip Advisor readers. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff so it may motivate us to continually provide exceptional service.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This used to be the On The Ave Hotel, which was quite comfortable. Now it's a NYLO, and the rooms have been redecorated to conform that that company's standard "loft-like" décor. This is unfortunate, because now the rooms have no carpet on the floors and no comfortable chairs in which to sit, which is a big deal if you've been walking the NY sidewalks all day. There are not even any drawers in which to put your clothes; only locker-type boxes. However, the roof top terrace is very nice. And the location is excellent. But because of the uncomfortable rooms it now has, I will not go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear KeithG1221,

Thank you for the taking the time to share with us your feedback; I am disappointed to learn that you would not consider us again in the future. Let me assure you that we take all of our guest's feedback seriously and they will be shared accordingly with our management team. Once again, we thank you for your input and feedback!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Good price and location on Upper West Side. Rooms are small but very adequate. Our room wasn't clean when we checked in, but Norman the manager set us up with a better room immediately. Housekeeping a little lax (didn't replace drinking cups, shampoo, etc, or tea for Keurig), but not a big deal, obviously. We've stayed here for several years, and will continue to stay here when we're in NY visiting our kids who live on UWS.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jane S,

Thank you for contributing your feedback of your stay. It is most unfortunate that you have had such experiences, particularly, as we pride ourselves in the excellence and consistent service that we offer to our guests. I am pleased to hear that our staff was able to recover with the incidents you encountered. The team will learn from your feedback and ensure improved performance in the weeks and months to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I were in town to see a show at the Beacon. Good location, cool vibe. We had dinner at Serafina and it was wonderful, good food and great wine list!

We liked the room. Cozy and clean, good price too.

Then, best of all, I left my camera in the room. Fernando In Security found it the next day! What a great staff! Thank you!

We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Karen B,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments. They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed your dining experience at Serafina!
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had booked our three night stay with the family a long time ago, so we benefited from a phantastic price - the hotel has been renamed and remodeled (I stayed in the OTA for two weeks 3 years ago, it was already great back then...). Lobby got a terrific vintage look, rooms are not as tastefully though, but still large and acommodating.
During our first night there was a party going on in the room next door - 3 o'clock in the morning and there was no way to go back to sleep. When we talked to the manager about it the next morning, we got a new room and everything was moved for us, we did not have to bother. We also got vouchers for breakfast at Serafinas in the hotel. Unfortunately service there turned out to be quite lousy, food was so-so, nothing to go back for.
We booked some touristic attractions with the concierge. Although the lady was new to her job, everything worked out fine. We also booked a transfer to Newark Airport, taxes and tolls, luggage and tip included for USD 110.- We expected a common van that would bring us to our flight, but got a stretch limo!! Our kids could not believe this - living in Switzerland, this is not what we usually get when we book a taxi ride;-)
All together I'd definitely recommend as people at the NYLO care and try to make your stay really special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Nicol090,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.Thank you for your wonderful note on the services, the product and recommending the hotel to other Trip Advisor readers.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Once again, we thank you for your input and feedback!


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here a brief 24hours for a business trip and I wishing I could just move in! The new renovations are amazing. The Cool, edgy vintage decor made you feel like you were walking into a Restoration Hardware Home. The bar is so cool and the adjacent lounge with comfy chairs, leather couches made me want to call friends to come over and hang for drink or 2. I was only in town for one overnight stay and was able to get 3 friends to come and meet for a drink. Upon arrival, I was warmly greeted. I told the front desk that I loved the new digs and decor, since I stayed at this hotel under the name on the avenue. During their renovations, I stayed at the hotel Beacon and Lucerne, but now I plan on staying here as much as I can! The front desk UPGRADED my room to the penthouse on the 16th floor. It had the most amazing views of the city, outdoor patio furniture. I Never wanted to leave. The bed was like a "heavenly bed from the starwood hotels" This hotel is SOOOOOO much better then the other nearby hotels I have stayed at!. The location is great! I wish I could have stayed longer. When you are on vacation you want to stay in a great hotel, in a great location with everything at your finger tips....this is the Hotel. When you travel for work, as I was doing during this stay, you want the same thing. THIS IS THE Hotel, it makes you feel at home. Nothing more I can say. Only small negative is they were still renovating so the service elevators must have been out of service so the elevators to the high floors was verrrrry slow. However, it was worth every single minute of waiting for the room. Also, this hotel has GREAT outdoor terrace space for everyone to use. That is a gift in its self! Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugenia S, General Manager at NYLO New York City, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Erin D,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. I am extremely happy to know that we were able to meet your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your generous compliments regarding the services and product of the hotel . They will definitely be passed on to my team for whom it shall be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Warm Regards,

Eugenia Simons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NYLO New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO New York City

Address: 2178 Broadway, 222 West 77th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Formerly On The Ave Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO New York City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO New York City blends NYLO’s signature urban, industrial design with the energy, color and fashions of New York’s Jazz Era, creating a comfortable, social and stylish hotel experience. Guests will appreciate the location’s convenient access to Manhattan’s business and leisure destinations, access to the residential amenities of one of New York’s best neighborhoods, and three highly fashionable bar and restaurant venues located within the hotel.Luxury guest rooms and suites feature all new custom furnishings; cutting-edge design in a warm palette of grays and blues paired with pops of vibrant color from accents such as hanging lamps and metal doors on storage cabinets and nightstands; and original artwork from local artists. Rooms also feature high-speed internet and the signature NYLO NYTE bed—the most comfortable in the industry. A number of rooms offer balconies and stunning views of the New York City skyline, Central Park and the Hudson River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your NYLO New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On The Ave
On The Ave Hotel
On The Ave Manhattan
Ave Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO New York City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.