We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a reasonable (by NY standards) price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Lucerne Hotel to your Saves list
The Lucerne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a reasonable (by NY standards) price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We were extremely impressed by our stay at the Lucerne. Room was quite large for a Manhattan hotel, immaculately clean and super-quiet. The hotel was fully booked, but we did not hear any noise from neighboring rooms. It was truly a quiet oasis in the big city. The bed was unbelievably comfortable -- it was hard to drag yourself out of bed to enjoy the rest of the city.
Initially, I was concerned about the location, since I had originally wanted to stay closer to the "action" in mid-town. However, decided on the Lucerne because the price was tough to beat for all the amenities. It turned out to be a great location, within a block or two of Central Park, one block from the subway, and located on a stretch of Amsterdam with tons of little restaurants and pubs. Paid only about $200/night, which is a STEAL in Manhattan for a hotel of this quality.
Best of all was the service from the entire staff. The desk clerks bent over backwards to be helpful, right down to assisting us with advance check-in for our next day's flight. Free wireless a plus as well. We will definitely be back again. The Lucerne is among the top few hotels we've experienced in a long history of international travel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    585
    98
    26
    25
See reviews for
506
450
102
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

As I do with all my other hotel stays I checked Trip Advisor and found that all the recent reviews were very posative. Since I travel to New York often I knew of this hotel but had not stayed here. I got a fair rate directl form the hotel usin AAA. They do check the card on arrival. It lived up to previous reviewers. It is all redone and immaculate. The rooms though no huge are good sized by New York standards. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel- Nice Matin and were very plased. Good food and reasonable by New York standard. I like he neighborhood- clsoe to Zaybars . The only thing that disappointed was the lack of a pool but I knew that going there in advance. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Spent 3 nights at this hotel with my two teenagers and plan on staying there again. The staff was great, the room was very nice and the Upper West Side (much nicer than noisy Time Square) location can't be beat. One block from the subway ,a five minute walk to Central Park and many fine restaurants and shops. And did I mention the price. The Lucerne Hotel has the NY hotel market cornered when it comes to value for money. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

My family had a very nice stay at the Lucerne and I would stay there again without hesitation. We paid an excellent price (arranged through Westjet), had no problems with reservations, the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant, security in the hotel was excellent (always three or four staff members on duty in the lobby, no other way up to the rooms), the room was spotlessly clean, and the location is good (close to subway, walkable to Times Square if like me you like to walk a lot, a cab ride to the theatre district was about $10), it's in a completely safe area, surrounded by many great restaurants and nice pubs. There's a restaurant in the hotel that looked OK, but I never used it because there were so many more interesting restaurants in the vicinity. Any minuses? Well, the room was a bit small - but what hotel room in New York isn't? It took a while to get hot water in the afternoons, for some reason. There was plenty first thing in the morning and late at night. Go figure! But other than that, everything was fine - the beds were comfortable, the air conditioner worked great and the elevators were fast. What's not to like about this place?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

There are hundreds, maybe thousands of hotels in NYC and making a choice of hotels and neighborhoods is difficult, at best. The Lucerne Hotel has the kind of qualities that makes one want to return.

We stayed with one teenage son over the 4th of July weekend, and then returned in August with both of our teenage sons. Got the "corner room" which is large enough for four without each of us tripping over one another. Only advice about rooms is ask for a higher floor if you can get it. as there are very pretty views higher up which we were treated to on our first stay, but not our second stay on the third floor.

While the hotel offers a discount on breakfast at the restaurant connected to it, we found that a bagel shop 1 1/2 blocks south on the west side of Ansterdam Avenue provided just the perfect combination of fresh bagels with cream cheese and orange juice to take back up to the room. There is a newstand on the corner that has just about every east coast daily newspaper desired (we got the Washington Post there each day of our stay). The hotel also delivers the NY Times or USA Today to the room on a compimentary basis. The restaurant connected to it is very nice for a late night glass of wine.

Parking in NYC is expensive, but the hotel offers a $29 daily rate at a garage four blocks away ($29 for 24 hours), or they will valet park the car for you for $47. The second time we visited I took advantage of the park-it-myself option for $29. As long as you have the time, it is a nice way to save $18/day.

About two blocks away on West 77th Street is the Vai Restaurant. It is small and it can be noisy but we enjoyed excellent food and service for both visits (again, it was so good we went back a 2nd time -- be sure to make reservations in advance -- www.opentable.com is good for this).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I stayed here with my wife for five nights and we were very happy with our stay. This was our second visit to NYC and we wanted to stay away from midtown and closer to central park. There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Also there is a subway station less than a five minute walk away. If you are looking to stay uptown for a reasonable price then this hotel is for you. Free wifi is also a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Don't waste your time researching hotel after hotel in NYC, this is the place to stay! Very clean, spacious room, very friendly staff, offered us two double beds for the same price as the queen room that I had booked when they saw I was traveling with a friend. We loved the quiet street but felt close enough to the things we wanted to see (Central Park, museums). We also we able to check our bags at the hotel for no extra cost before the 4pm check in time. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#41 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lucerne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.