We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, why stay elsewhere?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lucerne Hotel to your Saves list
The Lucerne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For the price, why stay elsewhere?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My teen daughters and I stayed at The Lucerne for four nights. Not one complaint. Comfy beds, great water pressure, accommodating staff, great location. We LOVED staying on the upper west side. The 1 train is steps away, and it was like coming home to your peaceful abode after bustling Times Square. Our room was spacious, with a water view. Can't say enough about how pleased we were with our experience at Lucerne.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    629
    106
    30
    25
See reviews for
562
487
109
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Callicoon, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

That a lot of people know about already. Great location the upper westside. Near attractions and shopping and good food places. New York is a walking town. 20 blocks to a mile. Easy walk to Central Park or Columbus Circle or Times Square (just over a 1 1/2 miles) or take the subway one block away.

The hotel itself is fab. Web site says recently renovated. I think it was yesterday. Everything looks brand new and clean. Cleaning staff all over the place doing a great job. Front desk was a great experience. Friendly and very helpful. Don't be scared to ask they are there to help and will.

And the topper---FREE wifi. Not only in the lobby (like many NYC hotels) but in the room. Unheard of in NYC in a hotel of this quality. All the other hotels that I have told you about (and liked) charged extra for the wifi in the room.

This is after two nights here. Still have 3 nights to go. If it changes I'll let you know.

Room Tip: High floor is always better in New York City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great choice. Picked this hotel for a recent family visit to NYC. We stayed for 5 nights. Picked based on other reviews and was very happy with the experience.

First, location is great as everyone else mentions. Walking distance to Central Park and Museum of Natural History. Close to red subway line. Many good restaurant options nearby. We liked Fred's which is nearby, and other good options as well. For breakfast we did not eat at the hotel (although it seemed very nice) ... went to the local option for a few days at Zabar's which was fine as well as a good diner nearby. Also a nice area for walking around ... pretty quiet and also nice to be able to walk in Central Park in the afternoon/evening. We spent our final day just wandering Central Park, which is massive and a nice relaxing vacation day.

Rooms were clean and a good size I thought for NYC. Service was very good ... people all very nice. No problems and no extra charges for children (we have 2). Rooms were very quiet ... slept very well all nights. Free wi-fi was no problem in the rooms as well.

Driving into the hotel and parking was also no problem. Hotel is Upper West Side, just off the riverside highway, so real easy to get too and traffic was not too bad. They partner with a local parking garage which was fine ... cost of around $50/day which is typical for NYC.

In terms of NYC, family enjoyed it. Highlight was definitely the Broadway shows ... we saw Wicked and Matilda and both were great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 days in July with 2 kids 12 and 9 in double room
On 6th floor facing 79th street
Loved it from doormen and check in to the great location
Was great walking the streets of upper west side , loads of places to get food
Breakfast next door at Nice Matin is great value and feel like part of the local community
Great bagel place further along Amsterdam - kids loved it
Walked to Central Park every day
Would definitely go back when back in New York

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

With historic Zabars, Central Park, a plethora of restaurants (be sure to visit Irving Farm Coffee Roasters) and the subway not even a block away, the location is unrivaled.
The staff is warm and welcoming. The accommodations immaculate. The coupons for breakfast were a nice gesture.
Was a bit hesitant being situated close to the elevator, but never heard it (or outside traffic) once inside our room.
This will be our first choice when returning to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stay in hotel for 4 nights from July 10 2014
Location is great but hotel deserves no more then 2 stars.
Start with room service – some days room was not cleaned till 5 PM
In 4 nights we stand not even once room was prepared for a night
Air conditioner in the room from 1960 – thermostat not working only option is On and Off - suggestion: when you out put On and before you go to bed be ready come and go to the switch 3-4 times
Toilet flush can wake up all the floor and building next to hotel – suggestion: do not use it at night. You need to know - Lights in a washroom when On putting went On too and great noise with it automatically. Walls in our room looks like build from paper – we hared ALL what is going on ALL night around – suggestion bring your ear plugs. Ask for extra toilet papers we had one role most of the days and if you used it – you out of luck. We even had no coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkHotel, General Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience with other travelers. We sincerely apologize for the short falls you had experienced during your stay with us. Your feedback was shared among our entire management team, and we will take the necessary actions to avoid this from happening again in the future. We strive to offer our guests the level of comfort and enjoyment they deserve, and we sincerely appreciate your comments. Thank you for assisting toward our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family enjoyed retreating to this relaxed spot near Central Park. Room was spotless and the staff was extremely courteous.Subway,restaurants, and shopping all are nearby. Beds and linens were new and very comfortable. Had a hard time getting my son out of bed each morning. Nice Matin Restaurant, within the hotel, was outstanding! Wine and cheese in lobby was neat.
Levain Bakery,the number one bakery in New York City is just a short walk away. Looking forward to staying here again .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#120 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,634 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#34 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,642 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#259 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#212 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,511 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#171 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 909 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lucerne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.