We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Lucerne Hotel to your Saves list
The Lucerne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 459 Hotels in New York City
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent staff and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We only stayed one night at the hotel. It was a much better experience the staying near Times Square.
The room was a reasonable size and very clean.
The staff are very efficient and friendly. We liked that their staff were in the Lobby greeting guests. The subway being close by is a bonus.
We would definitely go back.
We found the breakfast at Nice Matin abit expensive even with the 15% discount so we went to a great bagel place half a block away. It was so good-typical New York style!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one on the inside corridor - ours even had a partial view of the H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    566
    93
    24
    25
See reviews for
475
422
101
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a great "boutique" hotel. My room was very clean and much larger than others I've stayed at in midtown. Even though it is an older building the rooms felt very fresh, modern and comfortable. You couldn't ask fro a better location! There is so much to do within a few short blocks. I used to live on the upper westside 20 years ago and was pleased to see how it's just gotten better. This hotel was so much more than I expected. I felt like it was a luxury hotel in disguise!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Hudson (west side upper floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Excellent value, very clean and comfortable room. Great location, away from the midtown "craze", yet very close to all attractions. Public transport very close by. We always pick this hotel when we stay in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I recently spent two nights at The Lucerne with a friend. We chose the hotel because its location was close to Lincoln Center. The room size was above average for NYC and the hotel staff was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed being so close to Central Park, museums, Zabar's, the Shake Shack and Central Park, as well as subway stations. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful and a refrigerator was sent up shortly after it was requested. At first the room appeared a little tight, but by the end of the second day it felt cozy and the beds were comfortable. The low hum of the air conditioner helped us suburbanites sleep through the city noises and sirens. The restaurant next door, Nice Matin, was a pleasant surprise for dinner as well. We would definitely choose this hotel for another upper west side stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a solid, smaller hotel on the west side. Hotel is very clean and bright, and the staff are friendly. Rooms a little on the small side but probably normal in NYC. Price was reasonable given location, but not a bargain. All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location near plenty of restaurants, bars, and shopping. Everything is right there within walking distances. We only rode the subway when we needed to go to other parts of the city, otherwise everything is right at your fingertips. This is not a fancy hotel by any means, but it was very, very clean & in a very safe location.
I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was a little pricey, but the room was spacious for New York and it was in a fantastic area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lucerne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.