We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upper West Side gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lucerne Hotel to your Saves list
The Lucerne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upper West Side gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This boutique hotel is a gem on the Upper West Side. The location is terrific, with shopping and dining all around, near Central Park and Lincoln Center. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They greeted us with a glass of wine at check in (and then gave us the whole bottle to keep). The price is competitive with anything in the neighborhood. Valet parking available for about the same price as the garages in the area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    627
    105
    29
    25
See reviews for
557
487
109
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Can hear showers and blow dryers running- when asked why we were not receiving a copy of daily paper NY Times said" a copy is down in the lobby if I would like" however saw newspaper door delivery to other rooms??

Room Tip: Can hear showers and blow dryers running- when asked why we were not receiving a copy of daily paper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff are attentive and very professional. We didn't wait for anything. The room was clean, comfortable and bigger than we had expected. The restaurants recommended by the front desk staff were SUPERB ("Citrus" on Amsterdam and "Coppolla's" on 79th). We stayed 3 nights and it was highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I live locally but i travel frequently to Manhattan for business. I've tried many of the chain hotels and boutique hotels. The Lucerne is part of the Empire Hotel Group.

Very simply this is a quality hotel with excellent service. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, well appointed and fully functional for a business traveler.

The hotel is located in the Upper West Side of Manhattan, a cool section of the City in itself. It is within walking distance to Central Park, museums, restaurants, cafes, wine bars and shops.

There is a great casual restaurant right next door to the hotel. It has access directly from the hotel lobby. If it's raining you don't even have to go outside. Very cool! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Brazil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great for families, good location, calm place, confortable and for a reasonable price. My family and I stayed at the hotel for 10 days, in a double bed room, and we didn't have any complaints. Everything was perfect. I recommend this hotel, especially for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's a challenge to find an affordable hotel room in NYC, but The Lucerne was a great discovery in a prime location. The doormen, valets and lobby staff were efficient and friendly, and our check-in experience was quick and easy, the desk clerk offering me a room that was already cleaned (at 10 a.m.) or a room on a higher floor if I preferred to wait. I took the available room on the third floor, and though it overlooked Broadway, we heard no street noise whatsoever. That might have been because the rooms have the old-fashioned heat/A/C unit under the window that's annoyingly loud, vs. a thermostat-controlled climate system. We appreciated the complimentary WIFI, which was fast, and the quality toiletries, Keurig coffee maker, and good light in the spotless bathroom. Nice Matin, the French restaurant next door, was outstanding, and its prices reasonable, especially for NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We wanted a hotel convenient to the upper west side. The Lucerne fit the bill perfectly. The public areas and rooms are spotlessly clean, and it has a doorman. The rates are reasonable for New York City. Our corner room with 2 queen beds was quiet and comfortable. In the room were an iron and ironing board as well as a Keurig coffee maker complete with coffee, tea, and even mugs - an especially thoughtful and nice touch, eliminating the need for room service or going out. Upon request, a small refrigerator was delivered to the room at no extra charge. Other thoughtful touches: free Wi-fi, a safe, and extra pillows. The hotel is convenient to the subway, Central Park, Lincoln Center - and near loads of restaurants and shops. Because it is a smaller "boutique" hotel and not part of a large chain, one gets the feeling of being looked after. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#120 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#34 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,638 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#259 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#212 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,506 reviews
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#171 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#39 Family Hotel in New York City
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lucerne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.