We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, European feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Lucerne Hotel to your Saves list
The Lucerne Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, European feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have stayed at The Lucerne more than 10 times, and each stay has been great. I used to stay at the big hotel chains, but the personal service and great staff at The Lucerne keep us coming back. The location near Central Park and the subway make this a convenient, yet quiet area to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    566
    93
    24
    25
See reviews for
475
421
101
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I booked a room at the Lucerne because we prefer a quieter area of NY and also wanted to be within walking distance to The Beacon Theater. Our room was not ready upon arrival, so we were graciously upgraded to the Presidential Suite. Oh my goodness - what a treat -- especially in NY! This suite is huge, with three windows that opened and one with a view of the river. The king bed was extremely comfortable and furnished with good linens. It had a separate living room with it's own television and desk. There is also a bar area with a Kuerig coffee machine, wine glasses, a corkscrew and plates for a snack. We walked across the street to a local wine store, brought some back and had wine in our room in the afternoon. As far as service goes, we found the staff to be extremely accommodating at the Lucerne.

This area of the Upper West Side has plenty of good restaurants to walk to but others are a short cab ride away. You can walk to Central Park West and the Natural History Museum. There is also a great little bagel place up the street on Amsterdam and the Amsterdam Cafe across the street has coffee, fresh pastries and made to order breakfast sandwiches. The Nice Matin Restaurant is lovely for brunch (but very busy) and great for sitting outside during nice weather. (see separate review).

Quick Recap: safe, quiet location; clean, large rooms; great value for NY; good restaurants in walking distance; attentive hotel staff

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was here for two nights and it was very nice. The location is good, subway station just around the corner. My room was very big with two double beds.

Only thing I don't like that much is that there's not really a lot to do on Upper West, I prefer downtown Manhattan. But it's still a nice location if you just want to relax and don't mind taking the subway to midtown or downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I just stayed here one night in one of their QUEEN standard rooms. It is a charming, clean, and comfortable Central Park West hotel. I stayed here for the Shakespeare in the Park performances in Central Park and I could not have asked for a better location. The lobby is simple but the room was very nicely appointed and looked recently renovated. It was one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever had in a hotel. And the restaurant (Nice Matin) was great as well. I would stay here again most definitely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We wanted to stay in an area of NY that would make us feel like we were really in a neighborhood, not just a tourist destination. This was IT! The hotel was beautiful! The room was beautifully decorated and super clean. We stayed in room 809 which had a view of Amsterdam Ave. and a little bit of Manhattan. There was some street noise but it didn't bother us a bit. The hotel staff was very helpful. Amsterdam Ave. is full of little restaurants with outdoor patios. We ate at Coppolas the first night and really enjoyed it. We also frequented Insomnia Cookies more than we should have! It is just a few blocks from such a beautiful part of Central Park. And just down the block is the 1 line for the subway. Really, we could not have asked for more. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Room 809 was lovely with an outside view of Amsterdam Ave and part of the city. There was street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our recent five day stay at The Lucerne. The upper west side location is a nice respite from the hustle & bustle of NYC. The area is highly walkable and and you are near must see attractions like Central Park. There is also no real need to go the more fashionable parts of town for a nice dinner; we particularly liked Telepan, Spiga and Caffe Storico. The other parts of the city are also within easy reach because the #1 subway line picks up a block away and takes you to all the midtown and downtown areas. The hotel is not a bargain in price but you get more than you would expect in style, service and comfort in a "mature" hotel market like NYC. This is a solidly built old hotel and room noise from next door and above is almost non-existent (unlike many NYC hotels). The staff are particularly friendly and helpful - another real plus for visitors. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The bathroom did not have an exhaust fan so it was pretty steamy after showers. Just open the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely an "upscale moderate" hotel. We arrived late on a Thursday night and appreciated the 24 hr room service. Good value. Would stay here again AND recommend to friends. The concierge made both positive and negative restaurant recommendations which were greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#60 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#61 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lucerne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.