We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Price is Right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok House

Bangkok House
360 W 46th St., New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
212-541-5943
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bangkok House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,395 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Street Food, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: A, C, E, 1, 2, 3, S, 7, N, Q, R to 42nd St. Times Square
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Price is Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The lunch special for $6.95 allows you to choose your choice of meat, how you want it prepared (thai style), spices to meet your taste - mild,medium, hot; steamed rice ( healthy choice), and salad. The food is good, the price is right, service is great - what more can you ask for at lunch time on Restaurant Row.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    53
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous meal!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant at about 10pm after going up the rockerfeller building. We had a lovely chicken satay, chicken cashew nuts, beef massaman and we got a free rice with both main courses. The food was extremely tasty and fresh. The staff were polite and attentive. The restaurant was not large but had the feel of a professionally run family restaurant. We also had cocktails to start. All this cost us 55 dollars! NB the pictures attached are under a orange light!!It was a Friday night when we went and it was 3/4 full at 10pm and we were in and out within 50 minutes. Very nice!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Township, New Jersey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Lovely Saturday pre-theatre lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a very nice lunch here before the theater. We were a little disappointed to find out that the lunch specials on the internet were only good Monday through Friday, but got over it quickly. We both choose the price fixed lunch that ran around 15 dollars. It included a nice bowl of soup (we both had the spicy shrimp -yummy!), an appetizer plate that included a small salad with wonderful peanut dressing and two dumplings or mini spring rolls (both good!), and then we both ordered pad thai. Very generous portion! The chicken in mine was a little dry, I would go for the beef next time. It also included dessert, we both tried the fried bananas. Honestly, we didn't like them much - but I think it was our preference rather than anything wrong with the dish. Would definitely come here again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty good value Thai in Theatre District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Located on Restaurant Row on 46th Street & 8th Avenue, Bangkok has a great dinner prix fixe deal for $16: soup, salad, appy, entrée and dessert gives you a variety of choices. My companion had Crystal Noodle Soup (clear broth, cabbage, garlic, vermicelli was good), salad (2 strips of lettuce and shredded carrots w/ peanut sauce), 2 spring rolls, Pad Thai (nice noodles and not too rich sauce) and fried banana. The Mussaman chicken curry ($10) was plentiful and very good. It is a brown curry w/ potatoes, onions, roasted peanuts and coconut milk which you can order from mild to extra hot. Served with rice it had good flavour and was filling. Make reservations online through their website or show the ad in the tourist's CityGuide to get 10% off the bill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York, United States
1 review
“Yummy Thai!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

On a scale from 1 to 10 I would give it a 9 for food taste and quality.
The atmosphere could use some help but it's adequate. On NYC prices
I would have to give it a 10. Great prices for this city! I will come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok House also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bangkok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.