We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Melograno

Il Melograno
501 West 51st Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)
212 757 9290
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #305 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

On our visit to NYC we stopped for a quick bite. The bread was served with an olive oil and red pepper sauce--the combination was fantastic. The bruschetta was also very good. We split an order of the veal stuffed ravioli in a brown butter sage sauce which was beyond words! The service was attentive and prompt. The only negative was that on the day of our visit the AC was not working 100%.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was my second visit here and both times the food was delicious. They are very accommodating and made a slight change to my risotto exactly how I like it. Bruschetta was fresh and tasty. Overall excellent wine and cozy. Will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just What We Hoped For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Four of us had dinner at Il Melograno before a show at a nearby off-Broadway theater. You know you are likely in for good Italian food when the wait staff are from Italy themselves. Our waiter was engaging and fun without being over-bearing, and made excellent recommendations; we even spoke our sub-par Italian with him and he was patient with that. We loved the bruschetta, the spinach ravioli with beet sauce, the sausage ragu pappardelle, and the pan-seared salmon. We ate outside on a lovely summer evening and were very comfortable. The prices were very reasonable by NYC standards. We told the waiter of our timing for our show and he was perfectly accommodating. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountains of nc
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My favorite Italian Restaurant!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Il Melograno is near my brother's apartment on 53rd street, and is where all the locals eat.
Do yourself a favor, and find it!!!!!

Serioulsy, some of the best Italian food I have ever eaten. It is small, so call ahead on weekends. Everything is fabulous. The Fettuccine Gamberi e Zafferano, Pappardelle alla Salsiccia, and the Squid-ink linguini are out of this world. You really can't get a bad dish here...just good luck making up your mind!!!

The wine is a generous pour and the wine glasses are nice and big.

I just wish I could eat here every week!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

recommended by a friend and trip advisor, it was great. booked in advance as one member of the party had a wheel chair, no problem all staff really helpful. al food served was great and the the staff all very friendly and chatty. its a local restaurant on the edge of hells kitchen but walkable to times square as well. i would highly recomend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Melograno also viewed

 

Been to Il Melograno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Melograno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.