We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's high time for high tea at alice's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alice's Tea Cup, Chapter II

Alice's Tea Cup, Chapter II
64th st, New York City, NY 10021 (Upper East Side)
212-486-9200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,785 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“it's high time for high tea at alice's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

walk into alice's tea cup and it's almost like walking into a page of this classic story.

friendly hostess seated us immediately. normally they do not accept reservations. if, however, you are a party of five or more you may make them.

we had a very hospitable server who answered our questions. while you can order from the regular menu, there's nothing quite alike ordering high tea

there are three options to choose from: nibble, hungry and famished. unless you're absolutely hungry or sharing, the "nibble" certainly suffices.

the nibble contains your choice of: one sandwich, one scone, various cookies and a pot of tea. the tea has it's own menu ranging from more bitter tastes like the Darjeeling to the sweeter St Mark.

sandwich selection is extensive too from open faced salmon to chicken curry.

while the food is delicious, one comes to this restaurant for the experience. it's decorated in a way that truly captures the Alice spirit. from the whimsical paintings of the mad hatter to the Alice quotes strewn throughout the ceiling, one can't help but just sit back and rekindle his/her childhood.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    50
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places - ever - in New York City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Each and every time I visit New York City, at the top of the "must do" list is a trip to Alice's Teacup. The whimsical decor, place settings and quaint style are immediately inviting. It's a cozy place to chat with family and friends, not to mention the fantastic selection of wonderful teas. The food is fabulous too; the Mad Hatter is our favorite. Don't miss out on a trip to Alice's - it will become a favorite of yours too :)

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great experience from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Just came from a small party for my daughter's 5th birthday. It could not have been better. The tea service was delicious and they also do a very special kid's tea service which is perfect for the little ones.
I have to thank the staff who from start to finish were wonderful and went out of their way to make the occasion special.
Thank you!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute Place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Read an article in the magazine Time Out New York for Kids. Overall Not exactly the most kid friendly restaurant, although they did have a kids menu - I found the prices to be a bit steep for lunch, even in NYC. They had a baby changing station in the bathroom, big kudos for that! :)

My lunch was delicious, tea was good also.

Waitstaff weren't rude, however considering the article in the kids magazine i expected the staff would be a little more "kid friendly".
Tables are VERY close to one another...

Thirty five dollars for one adult and one child to have lunch and ONE drink each and one cupcake (to share) is a bit steep in my opinion... but it's NYC, everything is expensive, right?! :)

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Truly Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Both times we've visited New York, we have always made it a point to visit Alice's Tea Cup. The tea selection is top notch, the food is delicious, and the whimsical atmosphere makes it very memorable. My sister and I split the Mad Hatter. We each got our own pot of tea (mismatched china included!), a three-tiered tower with two different kinds of finger sandwiches, three huge scones with cream and preserves, and a dessert. Everything is made with fresh ingredients. The prices are steep, but in my opinion well worth it for the quality, taste, and atmosphere.

We always take extra scones to go because they are TO DIE FOR! I find myself randomly craving scones from Alice's.... I really wish they would ship these outside of the city so I could enjoy them at home! Their specialty is a pumpkin scone, but I found it to taste like play-dough. Instad opt for a chocolate or fruit scone, you wont be sorry! They also have savory ones but I have yet to try them.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Tea Cup, Chapter II also viewed

 

Been to Alice's Tea Cup, Chapter II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice's Tea Cup, Chapter II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.