We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sangria hands down.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sangria 46

Sangria 46
338 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
+1 212-581-8482
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sangria 46 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #940 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: between 8th and 9th Ave.
Transit: C & E trains to 50th Street.
Description: Sangria 46 offers the cuisine of Spain and Latin America in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week, we serve a delicious array of seafood, meat, and vegetarian tapas and entrees, as well as paella and prix-fixe menus. We also feature an extensive selection of sangrias, wines, cocktails, and beers. Enjoy sitting at the bar, in the main dining room, or outside on the patio.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Sangria hands down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The service was spectacular! Prices for the amount of food - unheard of for a NY establishment. This place was recommended by a friend and she specifically said, " it on restaurant row, and dont be turned off by its exterior, it is much better inside" - she was right, I would have walked right by it if I wasn't specifically looking for it. We got a pitcher of mixed berry Sangria - best Sangria I have had in my life. I could have gone for a second pitcher but they are somewhat strong, and I needed to walk back to my hotel. the tapas are great, I probably wouldn't order the empanadas again - they were a little dry. Service was beyond excellent. Our waiter even hung out for a bit and was constantly making sure our glasses were filled with Sangria and our plates filled with food. I will say it was hot in there, not sure if it was just that night or the normal temperature, so wear layers just in case you need to peel a couple off as the Sangria kicks in, lol. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    79
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not sure how it can last on Restaurant Row”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our meal began when we were told they didn't have lettuce to make salads.

We tried to order the chips and salsa listed on the menu, but were told they were complimentary. Unfortunately, there were only 8 chips in the basket. The salsa was watery.

The chicken empanadas were bland. Ordered the jalapenos with cheddar cheese, only to have them served with a cream cheese or something. When we inquired about it, we were told it was melted cheddar, but the flavor was clearly inconsistent.

Beware- no free refills on soda, and they don't serve unsweetened iced tea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our friends, my wife and I ate an early supper at Sangria 46. We chose from the prix fixe menu, that included an appetizer, main course and desert. The food was great and the Sangria out of this world. If I had just paid more attention to the happy hour sign we probably all would have staggered out with four pitchers of Sangria. They have a cozy atmosphere and friendly wait staff. We will most certainly eat and drink (Sangria) here again!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A little something extra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had lunch here last weekend and all I can say is wow. The sangria's are just plain delicious and the food is too. Wait staff was attentive and very friendly. Food was prepared to perfection. At the end of the meal, the waiter came over with complimentary vodka with pineapple. A very nice treat and totally unexpected. The price of the entire meal was less than $100 for 4 people. This included 2 pitchers of happy hour priced sangria.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Spanish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

As a NYer, you try to avoid Restaurant Row on 46th St off Broadway. It's full of restaurants that cater to tourists. Sangria 46 is and is not. When you walk in there's locals at the bar and at the tables alongside the tourists. The service is quick and helpful. We ordered Paella Valencia. There were 4 of us but we ordered for 2 and it was more than enough. Chicken was tender and the seafood not overcooked. We also ordered some tapas which come in a tiered plate to save room on the table. Calamari - a little dry; Sardines - not like in Spain too many bones and Croquettas de Yuca with Spinach and cheese - very good. The sangria was delish should have ordered the extra large. There is outdoor seating - will have to go back in the summer. For economical and good Spanish food try this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangria 46 also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sangria 46? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sangria 46, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.