We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel . Very good staff . I strongly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Helmsley Carlton House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Helmsley Carlton House
680 Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10021 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 449 hotels in New York City
paris
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel . Very good staff . I strongly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Very nice hotel ;Helpful staff day and night , parking facility ,excellent room service . All this in a very good location

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

I was looking forward to this place; so close to Central Park. But the room was very old feeling, very spartan. Air conditioning did not work well. Paid over $400 and they forgot shampoo. The linen wasn't good. There are no bathrobes. Permanent residents are also in this hotel; which is weird - seeing them in their robes etc. Won't go back, that is for sure.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

Be Careful. The rooms are very tired. We had a one bedroom apartment. Air conditioning loud and essentially useless. Bath amenities were scarce and not ever replenished without request. The only staff that seemed to try were the elevator operators, but frequently there was only one. We were told we could not leave the dishes unwashed, yet when we checked the dishes on check-in, they were filthy. Trash remained in the halls and we observed housekeeping walk past it on several occations. We were given a NY Times that a resident had reserved, did not use since they were out of town, and charged $2.50. There is no lobby or other common space. I would try the Buchingham, Benjamin or Kimberly for a much better Manhattan apartment hotel experience.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

The service and hotel is first-class. Excellent all around. Personally, I was not used to having so much attention, the elevator operator is a bit overkill. The location is perfect, close to shopping and restaurants but still a short cab ride to Times Square and Museum Mile. The rooms are bigger than some apartments in New York, plus the one I had came with a kitchen. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Upscale, big rooms, perfect location.
  • Disliked — The bedspreads have floral designs on them.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

This hotel is great - have stayed in NYC a number of times and this far exceeds anything we have stayed in before in a similar price bracket.
The rooms are really spacious with sitting areas and kitchenettes - ours had been newly refurbished and was clean, bright and airy.
Would recommend a room to the rear of the Hotel avoiding the noise of Madison Avenue.
The hotel is close to subways and only one block away from Central Park, also lots of lovely restaurants within walking distance and being on Madison Avenue - shopping is on your doorstep.

  • Liked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a room to the rear of the building on a high floor to gain views of Central Park.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely location. We had 2 junior suites that were really spacious, 1 had a balcony overlooking central park which was a bonus, although the door didn't open fully so it was rather a squeeze to get on to it.
Rooms were really clean and the bed sheets changed daily.
Just a couple of minor complaints, the wallpaper in one of the bathrooms was coming off and the hairdryer in the other had fallen off the wall. Simple problems to fix but had been overlooked resulting in the bathrooms looking a tad shabby. All in all though very good, this was our fifth visit to New York and this was by far the best hotel. Would definately recommend

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2004

We had seven rooms at the Carlton House the weekend before Christmas. Our family consisted of 18 people. This was the finest hotel experience I have ever had in New York City, and I have stayed in many hotels in New York over the years. The staff was super -- everyone was friendly and helpful at all times -- we couldn't ask for more. The rooms were very nice. The hotel had contracted a minibus for us, and everything went like clockwork. Overall, a wonderful experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Helmsley Carlton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helmsley Carlton House

Address: 680 Madison Ave., New York City, NY 10021
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, residential style all suite high-rise hotel on the Upper East Side, 1 block from Central Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Helmsley Carlton House Hotel New York City
Helmsley Carlton Hotel
The Helmsley Carlton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Helmsley Carlton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Helmsley Carlton House to your Saves list