We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, youth-hostel quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added West Side YMCA to your Saves list
West Side YMCA
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Linz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great location, youth-hostel quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Considering the low room rates and the great location near columbus circle and broadway/times square, it offers excellent value for money. The quality and size of the rooms as well as the hygiene leave space for improvement but overall I would definetly recommend the hostel if you are looking for a cheap accommodation to discover New York.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    273
    254
    115
    99
See reviews for
64
133
219
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We stayed a week at YMCA West Side and we loved it! We had a room for us, simple but clean, the toilets + showers were big and not crowded. Staff is young and friendly. It has a very nice coffeeshop with free wifi, "63bites" that serves homemade breakfast and sandwiches (guys are cool). The bonus of YMCA is definitely 1) the localization; on the corner of Central Park (morning run), 5mn to Columbus Circle where you can find a lovely Wholefood (large deli and supermarket perfect to grab something for dinner) and subway, 15 mn on foot to reach 5th Avenue, 2) The gym! Huge exercise facility with bodybuilding, cardio, swimming pools… we get there every day. Tip: book a Supershuttle (Airport Shuttle Service), about 30mn. Yes, I’m a Healthy YMCA Kid!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I stayed here for two nights (July 16 and 17) and had a great experience. I was early (10am) but was still able to check in. From reading previous reviews I asked for a room on the 13th floor and was given a small, clean room with at tiny tv and (thank-god) air conditioning. From this location it was an easy walk to the subway which got me everywhere I wanted to go. At night it was quiet and I got a good sleep. I liked the restaurant at the entrance and had the best possible experience. Plus the wi-fi worked in my room which was a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Myself and my teenage son had booked this place through our travel agent who said it was a good place to lay your head at night, because that was all we would probably be doing there. He was close to the truth !!!!!. The cleanliness was appalling with a dirty towel left lying on the landing for the whole of our 5 night stay, used toiletries left in the "shared" bathrooms even after so called cleaners had done there bit. The launderette advertised on the leaflets given to us on arrival was non-existent and the bedroom floors never saw the slightest glint of a mop head. If you want a cheap place and not bothered about the cleanliness then this is the place for you but not for me.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

90 dollars a night for a single room which looked more like a monk cell (but still with TV and air conditioning), well... I guess it's normal for NYC... But still...

The mattress was a nightmare, not comfortable at all. The corridors are very noisy every morning starting at 7.00AM. And for this price, you have to share a bathroom: only three showers per floor (for the men, and three others for women I suppose) and three toilets. That's not much considering there are dozens of rooms per floor... And it's not always as clean as you'd wish it was...

Apart from that, great looking building from the outside, and above all, great location: very near the Park, Columbus Circle, and within walking distance of many landmarks (Times Square, Lincoln Center, 5th Avenue...).

Good place for young people, and for a short stay... Otherwise, maybe consider other hostels...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALWAY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I've stayed at the Westside YMCA before in 2008. Before my trip this year I read some of the more recent reviews on here and was a little concerned that I would be disappointed this time. I stayed there from June 11th for 10 nights.

I'm just going to address the issues that concerned me before my trip.

This time I stayed on the 12th floor. The bathrooms on this floor..I'm not sure of the number but there are at least 8 were very clean 95% of the time and a little dirty but not much the rest of the time. You have to remember you are sharing a bathroom so everyone is relying on the person before them. The cleaning lady was there every morning, is a nice lady and always greeted me with a smile and a friendly hello.

The security guards were pleasant and certainly were not rude. I guess you have to remember they are dealing with an enormous amount of traffic as its a busy place. So they hold a position of responsiblity.. if my room was broken into...well were would I be going to ask how someone could have got by them and done this...right. Every time you go by them you must show your card. I'm sure they knew me by the end of the 10 days but I still showed the card anyhow.

The only suggestion I would make for the YMCA this time is they really could do something with the canteen just beside reception. I only ate there once and thought it was a little expensive. I noticed it was invariably empty. Its in a great location there and could be a little goldmine.

Greetings from Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We are a family of 5. Finding a place we could afford in NY was not easy! The cheapest hotels were $400+ a night and we got a room at the West Side Y for $200.

The location is supurb, very handy to the Subway, Whole Foods and Central Park. We found a cafe around the corner to get breakfast at every morning and ate it in the park watching the world go by.

The room was very large. It had 3 sets of bunk beds with good quality, comfortable mattresses and pillows. There was a desk with a TV and lots of room to put suitcases etc. There was a wardrobe and set of shelves and a heating/air conditioning unit that was adjustable.

The bathrooms were very busy, and we had to wait sometimes, they were also not particularly clean because of the volume of traffic. Not bad, but lots of water on the floor. Nothing a pair of flip flops won't cope with.

The staff were mostly friendly, the security staff were a bit gruff. We found our way down to the swimming pool, and the children had a nice swim. One tip is that they will not let you in the pool without a swim cap and the ones they have there were quite expensive, so take your own. They were a bit funny about children in certain areas of the changing room, I got yelled at for changing my daughter in the wrong area of the female change rooms and the woman was not very helpful with where I should be, but the lifeguards were very friendly and nice.

I would totally recommend this to families, with such large rooms, comfortable beds and a supurb location, it's hard to beat. If we go back to NY we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle Travel hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year.Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities IncludeCable TVShared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioningHousekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels providedElevator BuildingAround the clock check-in24 hour securityFree WiFi in lobby areaSafe Deposit boxesNo Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Side YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.