We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value if your a single traveller” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Side YMCA

Save Saved
You added West Side YMCA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Side YMCA
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023   |  
Hotel amenities
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good value if your a single traveller”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the westside YMCA for 5 days in october 2012... right next door to central park, a great location close enough to Times Square.
Its basic, a small bed, tv,small towel provided and toilets and showers down the corridor.
I was concerned after reading some of the reviews, but for my first 5 days in New York i was on my own and every other hotel was in the $400 region... i paid $135 a night here.
Been a while since i travelled alone, but the place was cheap, close to all attractions, safe(my main concern) and i found the staff to be friendly!

Room Tip: stay on the top 3 floors, cost more but have been renovated so although basic,, and i mean basic, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    220
    213
    102
    90
See reviews for
55
114
180
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in this hostel as part of a group trip. I decided to stay in a private room, which was very basic. It had the bed, a desk with a small tv and an air conditioner in the room. I was using shared bathrooms for the week I was staying there. I didn't have one good shower the whole week I was there, as it seemed the shower only went from freezing cold - boiling hot, and no matter how long i tried to adjust it, it would always be unbearably hot...

The location of the hostel was the best thing about it. Literally a minutes walk(not even) to Central Park. 10 minute walk to Times Square. Ideal and very close to main subway lines too.

Overall, when you are visiting one of the world's most amazing cities, you tend to be out from first thing in the morning - to dinner time, then back out again. I was very rarely in the room during the day. So I would recommend this place to anyone looking to visit New York for a few days - a week, if you are going to be doing a lot of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Hire a bike and cycle around Central Park! Great on a sunny day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This Hostel is a piece of crab. The Restrooms are gross, the matresses are pretty uncomfortable and the Wifi didn't work for a whole weekend!!!
The Personal called themselves stupid and unable to manage things.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and after the 1st it was so unbearable i checked into a proper hotel on 39th street.
This place is a DUMP!...not sure if its used as a permanent basis for homeless people too...I walked into the room and couldn't even turn around it was the size of a closet with a bunk beds!! hardly any space for out suitcases.
There was no wifi in these closet rooms...you had to go downstairs every time to access the wifi and on one evening i heard the one of the managers verbally abuse and shout at a customer telling her to pack and leave the hotel today whilst i was using the wifi, the police was involved all to do with some stalking apparently anyway it was all hectic.
Only plus is we had separate showers/toilets and we was by Central Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I recently stayed here and the location was amazing! 5 mins from the Dakota Building, outside which John Lennon was shot, and right next to Central Park!
It is a one star hostel, but compared price-wise with other NY hotels, well no comparison, far and away the cheapest for decent value. I had the Premium single room which has a shared bathroom/toilets, but only one shower so you can lock the door and be private. My friend was on the floor below, cheaper but 3 showers per bathroom.
The place was clean, but I had the feeling of being in Prisoner Cell Block H :-), very bare rooms with a single thin blanket, and long white corridors, doors clanging. . . almost looking for the jailer with keys! Didn't bother us, made us laugh actually.
There is TV in rooms, not flat screen but does work so you can get depressed watching the US elections, or tune into a B movie.
The person who told me about the place said they did incredible breakfasts, but we asked and the desk said they didn't. . .? This friend was talking a couple of years ago since she went, maybe they stopped, pity.
Have to say I got excellent service from the manager whom I emailed to complain the heating in my room didn't work.and I'd had hassles with engineers not showing, etc. He actually refunded my money, so I was very impressed, felt way more than fair.
Overall, a great place to stay if you're on a budget and not going to spend a heap of time in your room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hostel is best place for visiting nyc if you are backpackers.You can walk to times square in ten minutes.Also central park; you need to walk just 5 minutes to it.Private rooms are ideal but aware of it has shared bahtroom.It is a completly budget hostel.

Room Tip: best price for best location in nyc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Have stayed here several times - always coming back.
This is not a Grand Hotel, not even a hotel - it's a hostel!
Rooms are extremely small and spartan, no comforts whatsoever, but clean.
The perfect location more than makes up for the spartan place.
Knowing that, book this place if you want a clean, low budget place to sleep for a few nights.

Here are a few tips:
- rooms on other floors OK too, but if you can: spend the extra $ on Premium (12th floor) or Deluxe (13th floor). (for explanation read below).
- bring thongs for the shower and for the way to the bathrooms,
- room only has 1 towel per person, but you can get an extra towel at gym entrance/3rd floor.

- Breakfast: we love buying food at "Whole Foods" on Columbus Circle, 3 blocks south of the hostel. They are in the basement of "The Shops" on the western side of Columbus Circle. It's an organic food market, but you don't have to be a health nut or organic freak to love the place. They have an incredible selection of super foods. Select a breakfast from their fruit shelves, buffets, bakery, dairy cool cases..., and take it across the street for a picnic in Central Park. Beats any restaurant any time! If you love good food - this is the place!

Room Tip: Premium rooms (12th floor) or - better yet - Deluxe rooms (13th floor) are best. There's actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 184 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle Travel hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year.Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities IncludeCable TVShared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioningHousekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels providedElevator BuildingAround the clock check-in24 hour securityFree WiFi in lobby areaSafe Deposit boxesNo Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Budget Places, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Side YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.