We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Positive Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wales

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wales to your Saves list
Hotel Wales
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1295 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10128 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Positive Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We travel to NY frequently and often stay at this hotel. It's a great location close to Central Park and the 6 train at 96th Street. We especially like the warm, friendly service we receive from all the staff - thanks again, Rosalyn!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback Mr. Sarno. We are very grateful to have your repeat loyalty. We are fortunate to have a great team on our side that truly understands and delivers great service. Rosalyn is a great example of this. She is very thankful of your acknowledgement on her behalf as are the rest of us at the Hotel Wales.

We are very excited to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    155
    80
    32
    29
See reviews for
89
122
46
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you need to stay in NY and are by yourself, this is a perfect place: cozy and accessible with SaraBeth downstairs for a fantastic breakfast. Had to go to NY this week unexpectedly - the hotel found me a room that night (in the midst of a big storm) and were as helpful as could be. The rooms are small but clean and cozy. This is not a "high end" super modern NY hotel - but it is very clean, very friendly and has a homey feel which is unusual for NY. I have stayed in some of the top NY hotels (Waldorf Towers, Soho Grand, the Plaza and more) - but in all honesty, I enjoyed my stay better here. If you are in NY and just want to a have a low key pleasant experience this is the place for you. By the way, my best friend had just stayed here with her two young boys and she enjoyed the experience equally!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell all your fellow travelers about your great experience with us here at the Hotel Wales. It's unfortunate that you came to New York during the big storm that we had. It really has been a tough winter for New York City. We are glad that we were able to accommodate all your needs while staying here.

All of us here at the Hotel Wales hope you made it back home safely. Please come see us again next time you are in New York. We are very much looking forward to the possibility.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A lovely modestly sized hotel, with helpful staff. Most importantly for us it is dog friendly and a mere 2 mins from Central Park which is a dog's idea of heaven (at least before 9am when they can be off leash). The large 2nd floor lounge w. free coffee is ideal for meeting friends. There are probably half a dozen restaurants within 2 minutes walk, and a dozen within 5 minutes. Not being mid-town it is quieter at night, more like a neighborhood. If you shop, get shopping - Madison Ave is outside. PS. free internet too (at least when we stayed in Jan).

Room Tip: A junior suite gives a place to work, and for rover to nap if you travel with a dog. Otherwise stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let the world know about your experience with us Martin! We are as excited as you are that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in being a pet friendly hotel as our pet's have become such an important part of our lives.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New York. May you and your loved ones have a fantastic Valentines day weekend!

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. A charming older hotel, but needs a little more updating--(the boiling hot radiators)-and the decor to be classified as a boutique hotel. Great location for restaurants, museum and park, but a little far north for my taste. I will stay in midtown next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for the mishaps that you experienced. Rest assured that these are issues that we are investigating and will most definitely address. In the event that you are in the Upper East Side during your future New York trips I would like to welcome you back. Please contact me directly so that I can personally handle your accommodation needs so as to ensure that you have a seamless experience.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

It is a great hotel conveniently located two blocks away from Central Park, and two subway stations four block away from there (either in 96th or 86th St.) There is a bus station at 91st, which will leave you just a few steps away from the entrance. The staff was quite helpful from the very moment we stepped in. Most of them speak Spanish (which is great as I am a native Spanish speaker) and offered us the lounge floor to get some water, tea, and coffee.

We asked for a roll away bed in a king room since the moment we reserved online (in September), but when we arrived there, the bed was taken. They gave us one the next day. Problem solved.

Rooms are quiet, and clean, although they are somewhat old. The bathroom was OK, but the tub had no plug. The toilet was loose and we were a little uncomfortable with that. Nothing major, anyway.

We stayed on the 8th floor, the room was facing at 91st St, and it was a nice view. We stayed there for a week (during New Year's Eve) and definitely recommend it for others.

Room Tip: Top floors, there is little noise from cars on Madison Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review César. Since it is only a couple of days away I would like to wish you a happy Valentine's day. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff is delighted that they were able to offer you the kind of service you've come to expect. Your constructive criticism regarding the state of the room where you stayed is highly appreciated as it will allow us to look into the problem and address it with the proper solution.

We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back again to the Upper East Side where we are located.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Wales from 27th December '13 for 4 nights. We had booked the Madison Avenue corner Suite, and the room was beautiful and bed really comfy. There were plenty of soft towels in the spacious bathroom. There was no real road noise and the view from our room overlooking Central Park was stunning.
The staff are great, very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. There are lot of restaurants close by, and we loved the 3 Guys restaurant for breakfast.
We had a wonderful trip, and will definitely stay here again next time we visit.
Thank you for making our first trip to New York so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay Alicia. The corner Madison avenue suites are one of my personal favorites here at the Hotel Wales. They offer a very nice view and are quite spacious. I am glad you were able to take full advantage of it.

Every member of our staff is thrilled that you stayed with us and that they were able to provide you with great service.

We are truly excited that you will be staying here on your future visits to New York City. We wish you many safe and exciting travels in 2014.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our son and daughter-in-law just moved to the Upper East Side, and we weren't familiar with hotels in the neighborhood. We really lucked out, discovering the Hotel Wales. What a gem! The entire hotel has great personality and charm! The staff is very friendly, the room is nicely appointed and a nice size for New York City, with a spacious bathroom, and the neighborhood is great. We have found the perfect place to stay when we come to visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We are excited that your son and daughter-in-law have decided to join our great neighborhood here in the Upper East Side. The fact that you enjoyed the level of service that every member of our team provided is the best encouragement we could receive in ensuring that the next time you stay with us will be even better.

Thank you so much for your kind review! We really look forward to welcoming you back again!!!

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wales

Address: 1295 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Wales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Hotel Wales be your home away from home when visiting New York City. This sophisticated Manhattan boutique hotel, located in a historic building on the Upper East Side, is the perfect combination of old world charm and new world comfort. With its 46 stylish guestrooms and 43 expansive suites, Hotel Wales provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition to well-appointed accommodations, Hotel Wales offers a scenic rooftop garden terrace, fitness studio, elegant meeting space, and more. This historic hotel is minutes from the subway and also conveniently located within walking distance of some of New York’s best attractions, quaint neighborhood shops, local eateries, Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue’s famous stores to name a few. And don’t worry about going hungry - Hotel Wales is connected to Sarabeth’s East, a New York institution serving up comfort food favorites and Paola’s, an authentic Italian bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wales Hotel New York City
Wales New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.