We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria to your Saves list
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Hotel Reward
Ranked #108 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not Quite Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Our stay in the towers was a birthday treat for me. Check-in took a while because some of the guests had problems with their reservations and there wasn't a manager to take them aside (Sunday). Our suite was lovely, the bedding perfection, nice little kitchenette/bar and an amazing bathroom. We had cocktails in our room but had to wait 45 minutes for ice....In the morning we were unable to take advantage of the free breakfast because the line was out the door and there were no available tables. Having stayed in the Waldorf before, I must say the towers are a more special place but the service was not good and something needs to be done about the hospitality suite and slow room service.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Kimberly,

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your special birthday trip to the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, though I am sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced with a long wait time for room service and for admission to our Astoria Lounge. We take feedback from our guests very seriously, and we will look into these areas of our hotel as an opportunity to improve our offerings.

I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to demonstrate our commitment to satisfaction in all areas of the guest experience.

My best regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    170
    69
    50
    20
See reviews for
281
343
36
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Ok so I know a lot of people would be negative on the appearance of this place. It's not remodeled, not high tech. But that's exactly what makes this place so un forgetful. The charm, the elegance, this place takes you back in time. The interior decor is amazing. You don't see anymore. The best most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. The shower had such great water pressure as if you were taking a warm shower in Niagara falls. Staff very helpful and nice. I stayed on concierge floor. The complimentary continental breakfast was very nice. I fell in love with the charm and character this hotel has. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Kissbesos,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your gracious remarks and recommendation of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria. Our team is thrilled to learn that you were impressed with our service and your room appointment, and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to our iconic property in the near future.

Many thanks,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

we had a lovely stay, great service and very clean and tidy room with good views over New York
staff very willing to help at all times. the food was very good and afternoon tea (free) was very good idea

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear fireworkjon,

It is wonderful to read your review as to what all guests can expect from the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria- exceptional service and room appointments that meet the highest standard of luxury. We are delighted that we provided the perfect setting for you and your family to create unforgettable moments.

We hope you will consider our property your hotel of choice in the future!

Many thanks,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Have not felt this pampered in a long time. I love the old school charm of this hotel. I felt like royalty for a day. The restaurant Seafire grill was recommended by concierge and was a perfect suggestion for seafood. One of teh best restaurants I have been to in the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Nicole,

The title of your review- "Perfection and luxury"- says it all. This is what each and every guest can expect from the Towers of the Waldorf Astoira, and I am so happy to read that this was the impression we made in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area. You can expect more of the same luxury treatment, as well as anticipated offerings that perhaps you didn't know you wanted or needed but that you will enjoy all the same.

Thank you kindly,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

if you want to feel like royalty go have a drink at the Waldorf bar make sure Cameron Green is at the bar that night he makes the whole experience amazing. The ambiance is incredible the food is outstanding and the drinks are like sweet water!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Wendy,

What an excellent review! We are so glad that you felt like a queen during your recent trip to the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience with travelers from all over the world on TripAdvisor; we are sure that future guests of our iconic hotel will find your gracious remarks to be helpful as they plan their visit to New York City.

Yours in service,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

From the time we arrived until we left the staff bent over backwards to accommodate every wish. The dinner we had at the Peacock Bar was excellent and the drinks were not watered down. I will be sending my clients to the Tower Suites because of the high value of the suites. Bruce Oliver

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Bruce,

It is so wonderful to read your great review citing our commitment to exceptional service! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your visit to the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future, and we will surely extend the same luxury service and room appointments to your clients. Please let us know if you or they have any special requests we can accommodate.

My best regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed for one week, in a suite. Perfect location. Beautiful hotel, old and charming. Decorated with lots of mirrors and photographs of the celebrities that stayed at the Waldorf. Restaurant: The waldorf salad was up to our expectations !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear FamilleVoyages,

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. As a Senior Reviewer, we are sure that many potential guests will find your feedback regarding your week spent here at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria quite helpful.

Furthermore, we are delighted that you not only enjoyed our charming ambiance, but that you were also impressed with our Waldorf Salad! Indeed, this menu offering is a quintessential example of the historical significance of the Waldorf.

We hope you will return to our iconic property in the future when you visit New York City!

My best regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Address: 100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#85 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.