We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mighty Waldorf.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria to your Saves list
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall rates from $429
Ranked #126 of 455 Hotels in New York City
panama.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The mighty Waldorf.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My mother stayed there ,I stayed there, my Daughter stayed there, my son stayed there, when I am in New York thats where Ill stay again,
Its good , not just good, Bloody Good, the service, the suite the pillows, the food, yes its all good, My Daughter left her green Bunny there, we travelled to Quebec and down to Atlanta , when we got home to Panama ,I phone the hotel , and Yes Mr Walker we have your daughters rabbit, and low and behold , they flew it down to us, thats service, Waldorf style. If you want to experience New York, stay at the Waldorf.

Room Tip: Get a suite in the Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear rooikoptraveler,

Thank you for your gracious remarks regarding our commitment to service, food offerings, and spacious suite appointments at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria! It is wonderful to read that you were impressed with our staff and property during your recent stay here, and I am so happy that we were able to deliver your daughter's Bunny, safe and sound, back to you in Panama. This is the standard of True Waldorf Service we are so proud to deliver for our valued guests.

We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to our historic hotel in the future, should your travels bring you back to New York City. It would be an absolute pleasure!

My best regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    131
    51
    45
    15
See reviews for
220
271
31
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stratford upon avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed at Waldorf Towers for 6 nights Excellent service in beautiful historic hotel Concierge service very good/attentive and knowledgeable Fantastic location for Midtown,Grand central,subway access etc Would recommend the hotel tour - we did a personalised one for flexibility - got to see parts of hotel you wouldn't usually see like the rooftop garden with beehives. I would certainly stay there again if/when back in new york

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Gavin,

It is so wonderful to read your detailed review about your Waldorf experience in our boutique "hotel within a hotel!" I am sure that future guests of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria will find your gracious remarks about how you enjoyed our concierge service, convenient location, and historic tour of the hotel to be very helpful as they consider their hotel of choice in midtown Manhattan.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us, and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Many thanks,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

we had a great stay with all the family for four nights good food and lovely surroundings, staff very willing to help and room was very clean and tidy. beautiful hotel would recommend for a new York stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear jonmel,

Thank you for your great review of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria! It is wonderful to read your comments as to how you enjoyed your stay here.

We are happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations with the cleanliness of our hotel and the service provided by our staff, and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

My best regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Web site touts Non Smoking facility but had Tobacco stench in the room. Front desk insisted it's a non smoking room but did send in a Deionizer which was not of much help. On check out day found Waldorf Astoria match box and ash tray in both rooms. When confronted again front desk agreed that we were placed in Smoking Rooms. I had always thought that like Airlines travel Hotel Industry has become health conscoius but not Hilton. Front desk service was terrible in other matters. At check in we were told that we have connecting room but they were not. When called placed on hold for 15 Min. Went down and explained and was told Manager will talk to me but did not happen. 15 more minutes no response. Finally told that 's all they have.

Room Tip: At check in time make sure if being given smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Muhammad,

Please accept our sincere apologies that we were unable to exceed your expectations during your recent stay at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria.

We will keep your concerns in mind as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' needs and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to the city in the future.

Many thanks,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Central Manhattan location proved to be an asset. Tower entry provided uncrowded entry and return. Tower accomodations are quiet, tidy and comfortable. Recommend. No problems encountered. Helpful staff with welcoming demeanor. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear sandstromr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria with the global community at TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and that you found the Towers to be a comfortable safe haven from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Until then, many thanks for your gracious remarks as to our location, luxury room appointments, and friendly staff.

Yours in service,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Considering the price we were expecting something a little special but ultimately it's just a Hilton. We stayed in the towers for our honeymoon and unlike the Waldorf in London nobody made any effort to make us feel valued or special. Lovely building and a great location but the service was decidedly average.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear SimonPainter123,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service and accommodations you deserved during your recent anniversary stay.

We strive to provide personalized service for each of our guests, especially those who are celebrating special moments with us, and so I apologize that this was not the impression made.

We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate the world class hospitality and accommodations you expect and deserve. It would be an honor to show you the true standard of luxury here at the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria.

Warm regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

And this one was a miss. I had connecting rooms - 1 regular and 1 suite - not cheap! The suite was great - big and beautiful. The regular room, however, STUNK. When we asked, we were told it was a "smoking permitted" room. I did not request a smoking room, and my profile says non-smoking - so that is unacceptable! When I informed reception that the stench was giving me a headache, the said they would bring in a machine to help clear out the smell and open some windows while we were gone (no apology or explanation for the room). Unfortunately, the room still stunk when we returned. My travel companion complained again in the morning, and he was told they would bring in the machine. I don't know if they ever did, but the stink never went away. Not cool when you're paying a fortune for a luxury room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Executive Director at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear kadels_s,

I am so sorry to learn that you were not impressed with your room accommodation during your stay. Our aim is to provide our valued guests with luxury guest room appointments that not only meet their expectations but exceed them. I am disappointed that this was not the impression made.

Thank you kindly for your comments, as they will be used to further our commitment to the guest experience as we move forward to make improvements in our property. We hope you will be a part of our progress and return to the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria in the future to see these improvements for yourself!

Warm regards,
Abir Tebbo
Executive Director of the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Address: 100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#107 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#124 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.