We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“courtesy comfort convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria to your Saves list
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter rates from $429
Ranked #138 of 457 Hotels in New York City
london, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“courtesy comfort convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

we had terrible pluming problems, can happen anywhere, staff relocated to another superb room, also gave us complimentary vouchers for drinks and food, we had paid a lot of money for this short holiday, still this gesture was much appreciated

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    141
    59
    48
    16
See reviews for
239
284
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel has everything you need and the location is superb. There are lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The staff were extremely helpful and professional. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and well kept. Since we had a toddler, we spent a lot of time in the actual hotel, and the common areas were very neat and spacious. We will definitely return on another trip to New York.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom suite for out of town family during the holidays. The accommodations were outstanding, but after experiencing an incident in the suite after the first night, the family decided to go home. Management then took it upon themselves to offer the presidential suite for another stay in the future and didn't charge us for the night's stay. They went far and beyond our expectations given the circumstances and proved to us that this hotel treat their guests with the upmost respect and appreciation. We will definitely go back and look forward to being treated like royalty.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotels is decent, has the glamour of the old New York, great location. The lobby has been renovated, is spacious, confortable...if you get a seat (only few sofas!). Nice decorated for Christmas.The rooms are old but if you like historical hotels you enjoy it. The staff .... they smile and don't solve any request; the internet is slow, and after you get connected it disconnect you every 30 seconds. The hotel is clean but not very clean, the standards are poor, the treats at executive floor are cheap, every morning for Breakfast where 8-10 people in line waiting to be seated. For elevators, another waiting time like 5-10 minutes...oh !The bathrobes broken, ...for a luxury hotel is not acceptable!The Business Center...you better forget about it. We bought tickets on line and ask for delivery at the hotel, and they couldn't find them, we print 10 pages and they charge us 26 USD!!!! We order dinner at room service, a soup and a pizza...one hour!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our fist holiday away from home over the Christmas Holidays at the Waldorf Towers New York was truly magical. Arrived on Sat 20th December for 7 nights. Initial greeting by the receptionist was a wonderful experience and she escorted us to our suite on 40th floor. Room 40H was entered via large double doors at the end of the corridor leading into a very large foyer with double wooden doors into a large living room looking directly towards the Chrysler Building. From the foyer access to the butler pantry which had a small sink, fridge and ice making machine. The large bedroom was entered again from the foyer and the king size bed was a dream, added by the luxury of daily clean fresh white sheets. Ample hanging spaces could be found in the large dressing room leading from the bedroom and the bathroom which had a separate bath and shower facilities leading from the dressing room. Keeping the large space warm was very easy with individual room thermostats on the lining room wall and bedroom wall.

Staying here over the Christmas Holiday was pure luxury. Breakfast was served on 26th floor and although there is normally a short wait for a table, staff were always courteous and helpful. The private dining area on 26th floor is also open from midday until 4pm for complementary coffee/tea and cakes.

Our concierge called Vinmore Williams was very very helpful, nothing was too much for him and he helped us out several times during our stay, including our flight check in with virgin for our return journey. Thank you Vinmore. This is our third visit to New York and our first stay at the Waldorf Towers. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you all for making our Christmas Special.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I always wanted to spend few nights at the towers of waldorf astoria. unfortunately i was extremely disappointed. nothing of my stay (apart from the staff service and kindness) was amtching my expectation for this 5 star hotel. heating not working (was so cold that both me and my wife got sick) wi-fi not working properly. quality of the room poor ( you have a more decent room in a 4 star hotel) breakfast in the morning at towers is not great, long lines, limited seats and limited food. unfortunately there is nothing LUXURY about my stay, and i'm very sorry i have to say that.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhill, Aberdeenshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Before going to New York I read some reviews on the Towers of the Waldorf Astoria and some had criticised the breakfast in the Lounge. In my view the breakfast provided in the lounge was excellent. A great selection of continental style breakfast including cereals, smoked salmon, a selection of cold meats, fresh fruit both whole and chopped as well as a great selection of bread, buns, muffins etc. and juice, water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc.

On the first day there was a young waitress on duty who was very efficient and cleared the table of any debris as soon as she thought you were finished with it. On the other four days of my stay there were two older ladies on duty and I have to say that they were not quite so efficient as the young waitress and left the table until we were completely finished with it but I guess that was just how they worked.

I found the room at the Towers was much better than the room we had at the Waldorf Astoria a couple of years ago which was tired and in need of some uplift. The Towers room was very well decorated, clean and the amenities were excellent. Would thoroughly recommend the Towers and would certainly return (if the rates were favourable).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Address: 100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.