We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria to your Saves list
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter rates from $429
Ranked #135 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a wonderful hotel and what a grand old lady of a hotel the Waldorf is. All the staff were lovey.. The room was lovely and clean and comfortable and to our surprise extremely quiet. A lovely sanctuary to come back to, after all the madness of NYC. Would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    141
    59
    48
    16
See reviews for
239
284
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in a suite which was quite large and wonderfully appointed. The service from everyone from the valet to the front desk to the concierge could not have been more professional or prompt or courteous. We had a full dinner from room service fairly late in the evening that was delivered promptly and the food was even better than we had anticipated. We have previously stayed at some of the ultraexpensive hotels and believe that the Towers is a far better value and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyohu
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a suite. Beautifully decorated in a classical era. It was a pleasure to stay there.
The front desk staff (lady's) were really nice and helpful always. Thanks!
The cleaning room staff were excellent! Thankyou for being so friendly .
The Towers concierge seemed a little overpriced with tickets to shows . Better to use a ticket web site . They also seemed bored with information advice. But nice and polite .
Great location!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear tokyohu,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are ecstatic that you had an enjoyable experience at the Waldorf Towers. We are sorry to learn about your experience at our concierge desk. This is certainly a training opportunity for us, so we are thankful that you have made us aware of it. We would like to discuss your stay further with you. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you in advance,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Excellent hotel with "Old World" atmosphere. Some of the featurs of the newer hotels like smart system lighting and electronic window shade controls are not present yet at the Waldorf, even at the Towers section. I should note that I stayed in the Towers and was upgraded to a suite. This is a very different level of quality than the regular Waldorf rooms. The towers are definitely five stars, though the regular rooms I've stayed in are more like four stars. The one complaint I have is that even in the suites, the master bath has only one sink. For my stay, this was fine, since I was alone for this visit. My understanding is that many of the rooms/suites in the towers were former residences of "the rich and famous." I stayed here last year in a huge suite, that was previously owned by Marilyn Monroe. If you're staying in the main hotel, the above review doesn't apply.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very Very poor value. The front desk was always busy so getting any thing or any help from them was impossible. The room was nice but dated. Very poor paint job in the room. We stayed in a room they claimed was one step above the presidential suite. It was nothing great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Jack,

Thank you for your feedback. We promise our guests a singular Waldorf luxury experience, and we always working to ensure that our pricing is in line with the quality of the guest experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope that next time you are in the area, you will consider staying with us again so we may better demonstrate the value and accommodations you expect from our brand. We would love to look into the issues you discussed a bit further. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here from the 1st to the 8th September 2013... We were very very Impressed. We were in the Waldorf Towers on the 41st Floor, with a view of the River and Chrysler Building. Our Room was beautiful, with an enormous bed.. A lovely bathroom exceptionally clean. Housekeeping was second to none, our linen and towels changed everyday, twice a day for the towels, turn down service every evening and wonderfully friendly staff,. The British standard of service is very very poor in comparison and we have stayed in high end in England Too. (And yes we are English)
The beautiful Lobby has free WIFI, not a hardship to take your I pad down there and access what you need. I was a little scared to go into the luxury shops within the hotel, these are truly for the very very well off. But very beautiful window displays.. It was wonderful, we will return one day. Love your hotel, love your Staff from the receptionist to the Housekeepers and Doormen.. Truly a wonderful Experience, oh and a little star spotting too, having access via the private entrance to the towers,. Wonderful.. Wonderful... Wonderful...
My only reservation on USA hotels is the $100 dollars a night charge they make against a credit card or Debit Card (Beware that if you use a debit card it will Freeze the amount until at least 3 days after your visit ends) It really should be flagged up clearly for all those unaware of this standard practice of charging. It was our first trip to the USA and we only found out by a colleague at work mentioning it to me. So we were prepared but I can imagine it being a shock for those unaware.

Room Tip: Book the Waldorf Towers !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Towers and could have stayed longer. The service from check-in to check-out was personal yet very professional and excellent everywhere. Our double room had a corner position - it was huge and tastefully decorated with a separate dressing room/bathroom. The Astoria Lounge was perfect for a light breakfast and the small entrance, but separate from the Waldorf itself, made it feel like a boutique hotel. We couldn't get over how quiet the hallways and rooms were overall and with its central Manhattan location, the Towers is a perfect place for sightseeing and shopping. The adjacent Waldorf itself (not the Towers), was disappointing with poor service and restaurants and bars that seem not to follow the published opening and closing times (Sunday was very poor in particular). Will definitely stay at The Towers again the next time in NY. Great place!

Room Tip: A high floor corner room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Address: 100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.