We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NY in Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria to your Saves list
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter rates from $429
Ranked #135 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Farnham, UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“NY in Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Towers and could have stayed longer. The service from check-in to check-out was personal yet very professional and excellent everywhere. Our double room had a corner position - it was huge and tastefully decorated with a separate dressing room/bathroom. The Astoria Lounge was perfect for a light breakfast and the small entrance, but separate from the Waldorf itself, made it feel like a boutique hotel. We couldn't get over how quiet the hallways and rooms were overall and with its central Manhattan location, the Towers is a perfect place for sightseeing and shopping. The adjacent Waldorf itself (not the Towers), was disappointing with poor service and restaurants and bars that seem not to follow the published opening and closing times (Sunday was very poor in particular). Will definitely stay at The Towers again the next time in NY. Great place!

Room Tip: A high floor corner room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    141
    59
    48
    16
See reviews for
239
284
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked a junior suite for 5 days, and mentioned that it was for my wife's birthday. We were upgraded to a full suite with living room, fireplace, dining area, secretarial area and a small kitchen. It was amazing, with a view of the Chrysler building. The Towers has their own concierge and bell captain in the basement entrance. We had an included Continental breakfast every morning, and they called the room twice to make sure everything was OK and to ask if we needed anything. The location was great for the theatre, shopping, and not too far to Grand Central station, and the tradition of this New York landmark was unique.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The waldorf is a fantastic place and worth the money. Although it is a little pricey, the service is spectacular, you are very close to all the main locations in NYC and has a great interior with great history.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I like the room that was given to me. It was clean and bright. There was plenty of towels and toiletries needs in the room. The process of checking out was painless. The staffs were very attentive to my needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Waldorf was the perfect place for us to stay. We were in town for the US open and the location was fantastic. The service at the hotel was very friendly and exceeded my expectations Jackie Grant gets an A+ for making us feel very welcome and providing the best customer service I have ever experienced staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Perfect location. Excellent rooms in the towers. Very helpful staff, although waiting for a receptionist during check in took longer than it should have in my opinion. The lobby was very crowded and busy, but that added to the hotels energy.

I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

"Absolutely Not" are not the first words a traveler wants to hear when arriving at the Waldorf Towers and asking for valet parking!

This was our 3rd stay at the Waldorf in the past few weeks, and my husband's second stay at the Towers. Previous visits have been delightful, very favorable rates (for NYC), nice to very nice rooms and upgrades when available but this time service was very disappointing. Pedro, the doorman scoffed at us when asking about the valet parking and dismissedly pointed to the garage. The desk clerk, aware that we had a confirmed arrival for after 6:00 pm (it was now 8:00 pm) kept us waiting for 30 minutes while the "supervisor inspected the room" . This is insulting at any time, but when a traveler is ill, and obiviously so, it is inexcusable. Finally a "lovely upgrade" was made available...but the need for a bed when we arrived was so much more important.

Please, Hilton Corp, remind your employees of what "hospitality" means, as a standard and a profession.

Room Tip: Be a Hilton Honors member, be pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Barbara B,

Thank you so very much for your feedback. We are terribly sorry to learn about the lack of service you received at the Waldorf Towers. We are so thankful that you have taken the time to notify us of these issues, as this is certainly a training opportunity for us. We would really like to look into this issue a bit further and determine who you were working with at the front desk and why this occurred. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Address: 100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#112 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.