We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it more than I wanted to” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel and Tower New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel and Tower New York to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10023 (Upper West Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off on Suites!
Ranked #30 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I liked it more than I wanted to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed at the Trump hotel just before NYE against my better judgement: the Trump name has certain connotations which aren't always entirely appealing. Yet the hotel quality, location and most importantly price compared to more established rivals couldn't be sneered at. We managed to book a really rather amazing Suite for less than a 1/3 of the price of some other Central Park hotels...and I'm glad we did, I really am.

First, the only real negative: the place does lack a little bit of soul. Perhaps it's because it's not really as established as others, but for whatever reason there isn't the same classic NYC vibe that you experience in other places, which is a bit of a shame. The hotel needs to work on creating more of a friendly atmosphere...and also take the Trump face off of the water bottles!!

Having said that - our room was incredible, with the most breathtaking panoramic view of Central park, which leads to the other main benefit: the location. Literally a 10 second walk out of the door and you're in South West Central Park. Can't beat that.

Room Tip: Spend the extra on a park view room, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York-Central Park and for taking the time to post a wonderful review of your New Year's Eve stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    110
    46
    13
    16
See reviews for
225
231
39
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Trump International and let me say it is an outstanding hotel. Free WiFi, nightly turndown service with chocolates, outstanding business center, and excellent pool and gym facility with top notch service all around. The location is best and I have stayed in Manhattan several times. Can't say how pleased we were. The only con was that the air conditioning system was not performing at it's best on our last 2 nights however they have windows in each room that allow much breeze in on the 17th floor. The executive suite is fabulous. Room 1714 view of Columbus Circle is awesome....

Room Tip: Rooms facing Columbus Circle are very nice. Executive suite is outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay at Trump International Hotel & Tower New York at Central Park! We are so pleased that you were impressed with your guestroom as well as our location and amenities. Our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks. We are sorry that your room was too warm on this visit; however, because of the fluctuating winter temperatures, the hotel does not turn over to air-conditioning until approximately mid-April. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Worst hotel at which we have ever stayed. Does not even deserve a 1 star rating. Location is great. Service for a five star hotel was terrible! Concierge suggested we do our own research on-line for show tickets. That alone speaks volumes!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed after your recent visit and I do hope you have received my March 12th email. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Trump International Hotel & Tower New York-Central Park in the very near future and I am confident that your next stay will prove to be an outstanding experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a Park view deluxe room with kitchenette. The room, hotel and location were all fabulous. The staff particularly Marissa on front desk were attentive and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. The doormen were full of useful advice and information and as others have said, the hotel's location on Columbus Circle is ideal for all sights, particularly Central Park. It is also on the direct subway line to the Staten Island free ferry... for those new and confused in New York. A wonderful stay..we would certainly stay at Trump International again.

Room Tip: Parkside was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a rave review from your most recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower NY-Central Park. Thank you for commending our front desk and door staff services. We agree our location is ideal and thank you for recommending our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is all about the view and it is some view, so make sure you get a room with a park view! The advantage of flying from Europe to get here is that you wake early in the morning whilst it is still dark and get the opportunity to watch the sun rise over the Upper East Side which is viewed across the beauty that is Central Park. I remember this building as the old G&W building whose architecture did not enhance the south west corner of the park. The development of this building and others has transformed Columbus Circle but in many ways I suspect the transformation will not survive the test of time but will reflect the preoccupations of its time in the same way as the previous buildings.

The hotel has a great location, the rooms are to a very luxurious standard and the room comes extremely well equipped and rightly the arrangement is made to maximise the views. The hotel prides itself on adding the personal touch - I couldn't sense that. The welcome was friendly, the turn-down service was exquisite, but personal? Staff were attentive to over attentive but we Brits expect nothing less in American hotels. We know it's a challenge but they weren't able to stream our British football match into our room even though it was on Fox TV.

Staying in the Trump International Hotel & Tower was a memorable experience and one I would recommend to anyone who has the cash, but I can't help feeling that it could be even better.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent visit to Trump International Hotel and Tower New York. I was glad to read you had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed your guestroom which had great views of Central Park. Thank you for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I visit NYC a lot and we like to try different hotels each time. This was our first time at a Trump hotel and was pretty impressed. The location is awesome since your right in Columbus Circle, near a mall, restaurants and the subway is right across the street and of course, right in front of Central Park. This hotel is a little cheaper than other 5 stars...we paid a little over $500/night. The hotel staff was excellent, the room was very clean, it was nice to have a kitchenette with microwave to reheat yummy NY pizza! The bathroom was def on the small side-but nice and clean. There was also a nice walk-in closet and large full length mirror. Some of the yumminess-they gave us a box of gourmet chocolates and during turn down service, they leave some goodies by your bedside! They also give you free bottles of water.
We booked our trip through amex fine hotels and resorts program and just an fyi-if you don't use your $100 credit at the spa, which they offer, you can use it towards in room dining or at the restaurant connected to the hotel (Jean Georges). The food and drinks were fantastic there! (we had breakfast & cocktails (not at the same time, lol, but we've heard all the food is good). We did walk down to the gym/spa and it looked really nice.
The only reason I gave it a "Very Good" rating instead of "Excellent" was bc I compared the lobby, lounge area and bathrooms in the room to a few other hotels in the area. Def look into this hotel, you won't be disappointed :)

Room Tip: Asking for a Park view on a higher is nice to wake up to :) Ask to have a room away from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay at Trump International Hotel & Tower New York at Central Park! We are so pleased that you were impressed with your guestroom as well as our location and amenities. Our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at Trump International NYC for four nights. The staff (front desk, bellmen, housekeeping) were all fantastic, always greeting us warmly and offered any help that they could. We stayed in a city-view king suite, and my only minor complaint would be that the bathroom was small. Having stayed at (and absolutely loved) Trump's Chicago hotel with HUGE rooms, space in NYC is definitely at a premium and thus, smaller rooms. Everything was very clean and updated, though, and we loved our stay. Having a suite is important to us so we're not stuck lying on a bed during our downtime. The location to Central Park and Columbus Circle is great - close to the subway, Broadway, great shopping and anything else you could want. This was our first trip to NYC and we will return to the city, and to Trump. Great experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York-Central Park and for taking the time to post a very positive review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel and Tower New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel and Tower New York

Address: 1 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#24 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#32 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel and Tower New York 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel and Tower New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trump International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.