We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and poor value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Hotel and Tower New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Hotel and Tower New York to your Saves list
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off on suites!
Ranked #45 of 458 Hotels in New York City
london england
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Disappointing and poor value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel has a good location and is particularly convenient for late night performances at the Lincoln Center. It is very very expensive and there are some rooms and suites with views over Central Park. Bedrooms are clean and well equipped apart from an almost complete lack of drawer space, and the bed was extremely comfortable. There is an exceptionally good fitness center. However the write-ups on Tripadvisor and on the other similar sites led me to expect something outstanding which I did not get. Staff were polite (to me - on arrival the desk clerk was being extremely off hand to another guest) but rarely smiled and appeared to be 'going through the motions'. No-one asked how the stay was going or greeted me showed any particular interest although I spent four days in the hotel and they must have recognised me. The hotel itself has no sitting area apart from a few chairs in the windy lobby. Rooms are noisy as the hotel is surrounded with traffic on three sides. The bathroom was shabby and there was no separate shower or even a hand shower (this in a suite!), the plugs in the bath and basin did not work. I have stayed in many many better hotels and within a block you can find a better hotel for the same price.

Room Tip: All rooms except possibly to the north are noisy. Only worth staying if you get a park view. Even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    100
    46
    12
    15
See reviews for
185
211
36
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

How many hotels often their patrons a choice of pillows and duvets, or for that matter a Michelin star restaurant, Jean Georges or the incomparable and relaxed Nougatine? Overlooking Central Park in central Manhattan the Trump Towers is undeniably luxurious and well positioned!

My family used the Trump Towers as our base in Manhattan to enjoy the New Years Eve celebrations at the end of 2012. It was a gentle stroll from Time Square to our hotel after the " Ball Drop" From impeccable and friendly service to strolls in a lightly snow sprinkled Central Park the hotel was all that we could have hoped for! Our suite had a full kitchen, lounge with study and sublime views of NYC trough electrically blinds. Certainly not inexpensive, but value for money and a wonderful New York experience. We will return!

Room Tip: Books suite on the 17th floor and get a Central Park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review regarding your most recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York-Central Park. I was very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our newly renovated accommodations and restaurant. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location and very clean and modern guest rooms. The beds are extremely comfortable!

All of the staff are very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel.

You must visit the beautiful newly renovated Spa and fitness center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent visit to the Trump International Hotel and Tower New York-Central Park! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, services and I know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is fabulous. The view of Central Park is beautiful. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. In room kitchen was great to have. I do agree with other reviewers the bathroom is quite small but it os adequate and other room amenities mote than make up for it. I would highly recommend this hotel having stayed in many others in NYC. We will definitely return. Dinner at Jean George's was also delightful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York-Central Park and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. As you prefer larger bathrooms, please advise us prior to arrival and we will do our best to accommodate your request. Once again, thank you for your comments and for choosing to spend your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Trump International last weekend. The hotel is in a wonderful location. We upgraded our room to a junior suite which had a partial view of the park. The room was in great condition and was very comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the very positive review of your recent visit to the Trump International Hotel and Tower New York-Central Park! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am delighted to read your appraisal of our team, services. Our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took our "staycation" over MLK weekend. We booked a suite as we were traveling with our two children. The doormen were so welcoming when we arrived and we were checked in rather quickly. The Park View Suite was a little smaller than I had hoped but was big enough to accommodate the four of us with separation at bedtime. One of the design elements that made the hotel very comfortable (at least the suite) was to have an entryway (think foyer) off of the hall that acted as a noise buffer for the room. We could not hear people talking in the hallway or the banging of the doors closing which is so common in hotels.

As soon as we arrived, the kids headed up to the pool where they were greeted by a lifeguard who provided basketballs, noodles, etc. for their enjoyment. They immediately met other kids and had a great time. I had to yank them out for dinner. We walked to Sarabeth's on CPS for dinner and then to FAO Schwartz and back to the hotel. It was cold but it was a beautiful walk.

We woke up and had breakfast downstairs (good, not spectacular) and then back up to the pool before heading out to Museum of Natural History and the Central Park Zoo. On a less cold day, it would have been a nice walk, but a cab was necessary given the temperature.

All in all, I would absolutely stay again. It was clean, conveniently located and the service was very good.

Room Tip: Views of the Park make the experience better - lower floor rooms have great views too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review from your most recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York. I was so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our newly renovated spa and pool facilities. Thank you for commending our staff and our kid-friendly services. We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Was there earlier in January for a one night stay to attend business meetings over two days.

The hotel is great. It feels more like an appartment building and the rooms/suites reflect this. All rooms are very designed and the suites (to which we had been upgraded) are quite comfortable and well equiped for a longer stay with a small kitchen provided.

The reception and Lobby staff was very helpful and quite welcoming. The availability downstairs of business meeting rooms also simplified our internal and preparatory meetings during the two days. These need to be booked but many rooms are available.

Sometimes question why these hotels are so expensive...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to a positive review from your most recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York-Central Park. I was so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our newly renovated accommodations and business center facilities. Thank you for commending our staff and services. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Hotel and Tower New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel and Tower New York

Address: 1 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel and Tower New York 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Trump International Hotel and Tower New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trump International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.