We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Inn Hotel New York to your Saves list
Travel Inn Hotel New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Lebanon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Staff are always helpful, kind, courteous and accomodating, I"ve never had a problem with this hotel in the 5 years I've been staying here. Two blocks from the subway and bus, rooms were clean, quiet and staff always pleasant.

Room Tip: looking for nice, clean bed, hot shower near all the actions, for the price and free parking, you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    677
    258
    78
    66
See reviews for
505
243
41
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here for my birthday weekend. I wanted a weekend full of theater and museums. The location is unbeatable. We drove down so my first worry was parking the car in NYC. What a great deal when the parking is free w/ in and out privileges. The hotel is right off the route 9A. We were able to go out at night with ease. Check in was quick and the receptionist guy was extremely pleasant! I chose the room w/ double beds because I like a more spacious room. I did get the room directly in front of 42nd st. We were on the floor w/ the ice and water machine. Police and a nightclub are in the front. But hey we didn't go to nyc the city that never sleeps to sleep! The room was impeccable! It has a microwave and fridge! The beds were ok for a few hours sleep. We didn't even turn on the heater because the room remained so warm! Room comes with a flat screen tv and a good selection of channels. For being a "smoking" hotel it smelled great! I am a non smoker and never once would i have imagined this being a smoking hotel! Staff was extremely helpful, polite and courteous. This was definitely service with a smile! Checkout was made just as easy less than a minute! I will definitely return again! Thank you Travel Inn for making my birthday weekend a weekend to remember!

Room Tip: Get a room located in the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skaneateles, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Easy to find! Come out of Lincoln Tunnel, drive a couple of blocks, hang a left and you are there. Easy! We paid $105/night including inside, on site, come and go as you please, heated parking garage! The hotel was extremely clean and you could see that some rooms were having work done. It is an older property with tiny bathrooms (think cruiseship small), the room was decent size and had everything you needed except a coffee pot. Front desk staff were not very warm and welcoming, but we gathered that from reading other reviews. They were fine and efficient. We did not require much from them after check in. Parking garage guys were great. My biggest complaint was the ancient, noisy heater. We kept it running while we were away and turned it off when we went to bed. Temp was fine in there.

The neighborhood is fine.It is a neighborhood, not a tourist area. Great restaurants and neighborhood bars close by, and it is just a couple of blocks from the Javits Center.

For the money, this is, hands down, the best deal I have ever found in NYC!

Room Tip: We were on the 43rd St. side. The Amtrak goes right under the hotel. It was a little noisy once in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is deservedly busy: it is a great deal, with many terrific features. The location is perfect for easy driving access. The price (very reasonable) includes parking. Right on 42nd St., Travel Inn is well situated for theater, subway access, Javits Center activities, etc. The rooms are clean and well-maintained, with comfortable beds and amenities including microwave and small fridge. There is no dramatic city skyline view and there is some noise from the street and train, but nothing crazy. The bathroom is very small, but clean and functional. I'd wish for more light in the shower area and a safety mat in the tub. The front desk staff are courteous and efficient, if not paragons of friendliness.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel (away from 42nd St.) are somewhat less noisy, but there is still some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for decades, before the Hell's Kitchen address became chic. The free parking a real bonus. Just there last week with a friend, love it. Good staff. Negatives - small bathrooms, not built for big or tall people and front rooms noisy. There are other hotels in the Empire Hotel Chain, and I have stayed at most of them. All different, all good.

Room Tip: Ask for inside room. Free parking. Two elevators can be confusing if you are using parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife bought tickets to a play down in the city and we consulted TripAdvisor for a reasonable place to stay and one of the choices was Travel Inn. From the pictures and the amenities, it seemed like it couldn't be beat. Free parking is unheard of in Manhattan. We normally stay at the Marriott chain, but decided to try this out figuring it couldn't be too bad because of all the high ratings, plus we didn't plan on staying in the room very much anyway.

Here's a hint I wish I knew: The big gray garage door to the left of the glass lobby is where you park the car. I was hesitant to just pull up to the garage door, but they open it for you. The parking attendants were very good.

The guy at the front desk didn't speak much, but was nice.

The room was an average size for a hotel room, in my experience. Our room overlooked the pool, which wasn't very exciting in February, but would have been very nice in the summer. We had the room with the king sized bed. It also had a pair of couch chairs, a desk, dresser, and flat-screen TV. Internet was $5 a day, but that was fair, in my opinion.

The location isn't right in the middle of the city, but it's only a two block walk to the subway, and a reasonable walk to midtown. We walked Fifth Avenue, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, and Broadway.

Checkout time is noon, but my wife and I didn't plan on leaving the area until around 3pm because we wanted to see the new Freedom Tower and other sights down there. But we had to find parking. When we checked out and went to claim our car, the parking attendant asked if we wanted to leave the car in the garage for a bit. After worrying about paying the huge fees it costs to park in the garages in the city, I took him up on his offer to keep the car there and we went to finish our sightseeing with no worries.

All in all, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonable place to stay in a city of outrageous prices.

Room Tip: There are two sides - the side that face the pool and the side that faces the NYPD precinct. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My daughter is a smoker and this was her birthday trip, so after much research I chose Travel Inn. Very few smoking rooms in NYC, but this hotel leaves much to be desired. 3 star room, clean, tiny, decorated in the 60's, must take one elev to 3, walk 200 yds, take another elev to rooms. Wifi chg is $6 per day, which would be a bargain, IF you could get a signal (not). Heater kept the room comfortable the 1st 2 nights, but since it was 53 in NYC on Sat., the heat does not work, we were told on the last night. They did bring us a small, portable heater to ward off the chill. TV has no movies, doesn't get NBC or CBS. Has refrig and microwave, but no coffee pot. Housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful. Add all that to a poor location, a long walk to midtown, and it adds up to a "poor" rating. Next time a no smoking room in a better hotel will have to suffice!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.