We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel value in the middle of it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Travel Inn Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #308 of 449 hotels in New York City
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a great hotel value in the middle of it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Long post ahead.

Short version now... Lets start with this, I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in NYC unless something changes at this hotel. To stay at a midtown (west side) hotel for 10 nights (family of five) and the TOTAL cost comes less than $1600.00 (this includes internet, parking, all the fees and charges, etc.) The staff was very friendly, helpful, and the hotel was very, very clean. We were there during spring break 2013, late March.

All I can say is that my floor and room (4th floor facing 42nd street) was GREAT. Room size was a typical hotel room size (not NYC small standards at all) about 16 x 32 feet (double beds). The bathroom was typical 6 x 8 size and adequate. Water pressure was fantastic (no low flow here). Small fridge and microwave, flat screen TV, chair and table, soft back chair, plenty of storage space. Pretty typical size room for the rest of the country. The room was very very clean. The two elevators that are in the main lobby are no concern. Not sure if the other elevators are a concern or not.

Lets talk 42nd street (specifically 515 west 42nd street) and I will use casual walk speeds/times. You are 15 minute walk from Times Square, 10 minute walk from Javits Convention Center or the USS Intrepid Museum, 12 minute walk from Port Authority Bus terminal, 20 minute walk from Grand Central Station, and 5 minutes from most of the subway systems (N-Q-R) that you will use in NYC. 42nd street is a major street and LOTS of activities are located ON 42nd street. Next (within a couple minutes walk) to the hotel is a police station, a deli (pretty good), a super market, drug store, Subway sandwiches, a convenience store, urgent medical care facility, a nice restaurant across the street (KTCHNS) etc. Within 5 minutes walk are several good restaurants and the Hudson River.

I have seen many reviews saying that the hotel needs upgrading. Its worn down etc. Well if you are all about brand new there are hundreds of hotels that are "NEW". Think about going to a relatives house for a few days (or maybe not - lol). The house is a little dated but so warm and comfortable. Look at your OWN home, is everything brand new or are there a few areas that are a little worn? Some folks call this character, some just complain.

Bottom line, A HIDDEN GEM in NYC, GREAT VALUE, very clean, in the middle of it all. I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    684
    245
    70
    58
See reviews for
419
197
35
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a hotel with a great location, situated a stones throw from Times Square! However, if you want a good quality hotel with excellent customer service and well appointed rooms - stay at a different hotel

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were supposed to stay 3 nights and will be leaving after one. It's incredibly loud and temp in room is only controllable with open window which doesn't help. Beds are hard and linens border on unacceptable. Noise makes it impossible to sleep - not sure how anyone can stay here Did not live up to current ratings for us. Very disappointing. Front desk folks were pleasant though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Three friends and I road-tripped to NYC for a 4 day weekend to see a show at Carnagie Hall. We stayed at this hotel because it was the cheapest we could find, and it had free parking. Our room was small but functional, we weren't in NYC to stay in the hotel all day. Also, the location of the hotel couldn't be any better - we were so close to Time's Square and Broadway we didn't need to take a cab at all for the first couple of days. My only complaint is that they were renovating the room next to ours on our last day in the city. There was a lot of grinding and banging coming from the room next door early in the morning. We had to complain and ask them to wait until later because we were trying to sleep! I think this happened because we booked our room through Hotels.com and were sold a room that was going to be renovated as well, but we booked longer than they expected to have guests (we stayed until Wednesday). Good place to stay if you're planning on doing a lot of things around Times Square, Chelsea and Broadway - kind of far from Old New York though.

Room Tip: Third floor has the vending machines, and ice machine. I don't think it was on any other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property and let me apologize if there were any noise issues at all as we strive for each of our guests to be comfortable while with us. We have renovated our rooms and hope you do return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was a senior ladies trip, and the hotel is perfectly placed for sightseeing, being only a 10-15 minute walk from Times Square and therefore close to all the main attractions. Room was clean, beds also clean and comfortable. Bathroom was compact but, again, spotlessly clean. The decor is a little dated and, yes, you do have to walk through the garage to access the lifts, but this is a very minor point. Our room was at the back and was an oasis of quiet after the noise of the city and so we all enjoyed a good night's sleep after hectic days. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but the Theatre Row Diner across the road is good value for money, and there is a supermarket and liquor store close by. The room has a microwave and fridge, but no kettle, and if you are intending to eat in don't forget your cutlery! We would definitely stay at this hotel again as it is really excellent value. The decor in the rooms is a little 'tired' but this is a very minor point.

Room Tip: Our room at the back of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon College, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Our family took two rooms here for four says. The hotel is comfortable with nice-sized rooms for the price. It is three blocks from Times Square. Furnishings and amenities are bare bones but serviceable.
The hotel is kep clean, and the staff is friendly. One great advantage is complimentary parking. There is a breakfast/sandwich shop next door to the hotel. This is a good place to stay if you are on a budget in New York.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went with my husband and 14 year old daughter in July 2012.
Basic room with all the amenities.
Beds are comfortable.
Pool is only opened until 7pm
Very close to the waterfront to catch the cruise around the bay.
Walking distance to all attractions.

We would return !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We really wish we could keep the pool open later but it is a city regulation in place that dictates the timing that we can stay open. We look forward to your return to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.