We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Inn Hotel New York to your Saves list
Travel Inn Hotel New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Leicester, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Manhattan this hotel and staff were GREAT! Saleem the front desk gentleman was awesome! Very nice and accommodating in allowing us to leave our car! The hotel was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    638
    237
    74
    59
See reviews for
463
230
39
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I made a last minute trip to NYC and booked my stay at the Travel Inn. I had been 9 years between stays here. I noticed the improvements in the decor and the staff was helpful. The fact that it has its own parking is a huge plus. It was a short walk from Times Square and across from the police station. There was coffee and tea available in the lobby and a noon check out time is great. (I got to leave my car till 1:30 at no extra charge). I'll probably book there again later this spring when I go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are away from any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although the hotel is a bit dated, it is clean, staff is friendly and the location is great (Hell's Kitchen and close to Broadway Theaters). The room was comfortable and more "roomy" than some NYC hotels. And you can't beat the free parking for your car either!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We enjoy a trip into Manhattan and this hotel offers great value and also FREE PARKING...It's the only hotel in Manhattan that has this. We've been there over a dozen times and would recommend it. Not a 4 or 5 star hotle but the rooms are clean and the location is great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the laundry facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and yes, one of our best selling points is definitely being the only hotel in Manhattan that offers free parking onsite and we are right off of the main higway. We look forward to your return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

While I'm a firm believer in 'you get what you pay for', I don't believe that to be the case with the Travel Inn. Under $250, taxes and parking included, for two nights in Manhattan? No other respectable hotel we found could touch that.

Only a 5-10 minute walk from Times Square and an even shorter jaunt to the subway (and the Intrepid Air/Space/Sea Museum, which was pretty cool), we thought the location was perfect. In addition to the hotel being located directly across the street from a police precinct (which made us feel safer, three young kids in all), our car was secured inside the hotel garage, which made it unbelievably convenient for us to retrieve whatever we needed, whenever we needed it. Within a single block/avenue, there were several cafes and bakeries, as well as a Food Emporium (grocery store), which I hit on a couple of occasions just to keep food costs down. Also worth noting was that there was also a wine/liquor store next door to the hotel.

The room was very clean and had more than enough room for our needs. Let's face it - you go to NY to see the city, not hang out in a hotel room. While the bathroom was definitely tight, it was also very clean. Everyone, from the parking attendants to the front desk personnel to the maids, was pleasant.

There was no continental breakfast offered in the morning(but they do have a coffee station), and they apparently charged for Wi-Fi, but these are small inconveniences in the grand scheme of things. The room felt a little dry (forced air heat), which is certainly not uncommon, so you might want to consider bringing a humidifier, too. We wish we had.

While we might consider staying in a more modern hotel the next time we visit NY (and spending an additional $200 or more), we would have no reservations about staying at the Travel Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and we hope to see you again. The Travel Inn is the only hotel in New York that offers free parking and we feel that this is one of our best assets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Travel Inn last weekend for a one night trip to NYC. The check in and parking process was smooth and they let us check in at noon (2 hours early) with no problem. The parking is FREE in the garage connected to the hotel. The hotel itself is in a great location, only a short walk to Times Square. Be sure to check out the Little Pie Company nearby and the diner around the corner, both were delicious.

The two complaints we had was that the bathroom was very small, even by NYC standards and the shower water was luke warm on saturday morning. Also, the bed was too firm for our comfort. Don't be scared when you see the train tracks running right under the building, as we hardly noticed the sound of the train and it didn't seem to run during the night. All in all we would stay here again if we were looking for an affordable trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are going to NYC and just need a room to shower and sleep this is a great option.

Rooms - Clean but outdated. The room was a decent size. The only thing the rooms need are new beds as they were not the comfiest. They are also very small. We booked a room with two double beds and my husband and I slept in different beds. The mini fridge and microwave were nice to have. The warm water did not last very long in the shower. My biggest complaint is that the walls are super thin. There was a group of girls on either side of us and they were very loud. I called the front desk at 1AM and they did send someone up and the noise settled.

Hotel – Great location, if you don’t mind a short walk to Times Square. About a 10 Minute walk. This hotel would probably be a GEM in the summer with the outdoor pool they have. It looked very refreshing even in the February cold. They have coffee/Tea and internet available in the lobby. The best part of the hotel is the FREE parking. This is a $50.00 savings a day!

When I go back to NYC, I will be staying here again..just can’t beat the value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and I have passed on your suggestions to Management as they were very pertinent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.