We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Inn Hotel New York to your Saves list
Travel Inn Hotel New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Norfolk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A great place to stay, very central. Hotel clean, staff freindly and no problems with the lifts or free Wi Fi. Room spacious, asked to be in a quiet room by e mail before we arrived, the hotel responded straight away that we would be. Walked everywhere, as it was so central, a few mins. from Times square. Recommend you do the free walking tours with a guide. We did one that started at Times square, and finished just before the Rockefeller centre. Very good food shop just a few mins. from hotel a good deli just round the corner. Stayed with my 2 grown up children from the 8/12/12 till 15/12/12. Wonderful time would def. stay at hotel again

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room, we stayed on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for such a glowing review and we look forward to your return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    622
    234
    73
    58
See reviews for
456
223
39
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Me, my wife and our 6 month old baby daughter stayed at the Travel Inn from 28th Nov - 5th Dec 2012.
We'd never been to New York and wanted somewhere quite central to Times Square as we figured that was the place to be.
This hotel is in a brilliant location, about 3-4 blocks away from Times Square and a 10 minute walk with a stroller away!
Our room had two double beds, fridge, and microwave which really helped us for storing/warming baby food.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and a train line does run directly underneath the hotel, to be honest we only heard the trains in the morning (around 9am) when we up and getting ready anyway.
There is a bar and police station directly opposite the hotel, but we never had any problems walking home late with baby or any noise issues

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Awesome hotel. Great location, perfect for all the sites of Manhattan. Only 10 minutes stroll to Times square. Hotel was clean and warm at all times. Friendly staff. Very safe area, lots of bars and restraunts very close by. The deli next door is fab for breakfast. Will definatly stay here again when i return to New York.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good value good location good parking older but renovated, go to hotel web site they also have other,s if this is not available, book in advance, do not eat at hotel go to 9th ave lots of choice, walking distance to time square

Room Tip: choose faceing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you're driving into the city from the Lincoln Tunnel, this place is ideal. Within walking distance to the Theater District and tons of great restaurants. The prices have gone up over the years but it's still fair considering parking is included and you can pull in and out at your leisure. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The bathroom is small and older but we had a fridge which was handy. There was no thermostat control in the room, only for the blower which I guess blows hot or cold depending on the weather. If you do have to open the window, it's a little noisy as there's a club and a police station right across the street. There's also a convenient little coffee shop right next door. Overall, not the best but far from the worst. If you can get it for a decent price, it's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel is centrally located and well positioned for all the usual tourist traps - The room was clean but antiquated. Bathroom is very small and WiFi did not work for 1 of the 3 nights I stayed. It's probably worth mentioning to the management that the bandwidth sucks - I was unable to make any skype calls during the stay. The heating was poor and the maid did not refresh the shampoo / shower gel meaning I had to wash my hair in a bar of soap on the last day.

Will not be staying here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

While nothing fancy, I decided to give this place a try based on the price so I wouldn't have to drive close to 3 hours after a concert. Was a little leery after reading some reviews, but I must say, I am glad I stayed here. The location was fine, the room was clean. The heating system could use some updating, it was tough to adjust it for an overnight sleep and had to get up to turn it off after a couple of hours. The TV remote didn't work, but since I was just there to sleep I didn't bother reporting it to the front desk. All in all a positive experience for the price, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.