We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Inn Hotel New York to your Saves list
Travel Inn Hotel New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #346 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“near all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good value good location good parking older but renovated, go to hotel web site they also have other,s if this is not available, book in advance, do not eat at hotel go to 9th ave lots of choice, walking distance to time square

Room Tip: choose faceing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ocean Grove, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you're driving into the city from the Lincoln Tunnel, this place is ideal. Within walking distance to the Theater District and tons of great restaurants. The prices have gone up over the years but it's still fair considering parking is included and you can pull in and out at your leisure. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The bathroom is small and older but we had a fridge which was handy. There was no thermostat control in the room, only for the blower which I guess blows hot or cold depending on the weather. If you do have to open the window, it's a little noisy as there's a club and a police station right across the street. There's also a convenient little coffee shop right next door. Overall, not the best but far from the worst. If you can get it for a decent price, it's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kr1st1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel is centrally located and well positioned for all the usual tourist traps - The room was clean but antiquated. Bathroom is very small and WiFi did not work for 1 of the 3 nights I stayed. It's probably worth mentioning to the management that the bandwidth sucks - I was unable to make any skype calls during the stay. The heating was poor and the maid did not refresh the shampoo / shower gel meaning I had to wash my hair in a bar of soap on the last day.

Will not be staying here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

While nothing fancy, I decided to give this place a try based on the price so I wouldn't have to drive close to 3 hours after a concert. Was a little leery after reading some reviews, but I must say, I am glad I stayed here. The location was fine, the room was clean. The heating system could use some updating, it was tough to adjust it for an overnight sleep and had to get up to turn it off after a couple of hours. The TV remote didn't work, but since I was just there to sleep I didn't bother reporting it to the front desk. All in all a positive experience for the price, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNJ08203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel on Saturday night. The location is great, just off Time Square and the included parking is a nice benefit. Our room had two queen beds and was quite comfortable. Not a five start hotel but certainly not a dump. When in New York the room is the last place and was comfortable at the end of a long day!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJLease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel whilst on a college trip to New York. It was very clean and spacious (this is taking into consideration that there was 4 teenage girls sharing a double double room). The Diner downstairs was amazing, i loved it, really nice food and very cheap. The staff are very nice and extremely helpful.

My only issue with this hotel was the fact that we had a very drippy tap and had to keep a towel under it to stop the noise. Other than that it was a very nice hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: We loved our room with two double beds, very spacious and comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbiSixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments and we look forward to your next stay. On your next stay, please always let us know about plumbing issues or problems as we can fix this pretty quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, QC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

There are many worse hotels in New York, and of course many far better ones, but Travel Inn is an acceptable choice if you find a very good rate online and want to save your travel budget for entertainment. This is a drab and dispiriting hotel, in need of renovation, but overall clean and minimally comfortable.
Room: not overly small for NY; bed is old style hard with poorish linens. Furnishings are average, but new flat TV has sufficient channels. The worst element is the total lack of control over heat/cooling (minimum fan control) and I was glad to be able to open the window.
Bathroom: very small but new enough; hot water always available; lighting good.
Location: Not bad on 42nd/10th Ave., easy walk to several theaters, good subway access within two blocks, several breakfast choices in easy range.
Summary: This is a bargain-hunter's hotel, and acceptable at a low price. I will add that I was travelling alone and felt safe and secure in the hotel and vicinity.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for an interior room facing in on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#294 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,064 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,984 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
#354 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,376 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing