We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria New York to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates from $229
Ranked #284 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Historical Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria last weekend and it absolutely exceeded my expectations!!! What a beautiful hotel. That staff was warm, friendly and helpful and the room was just beautiful. I was given a corner room so I had a wonderful view from two sides and the room was decorated to the grandeur that is the Waldorf! My only complaint was that I couldn't stay longer. Thank you for an incredible stay, I'll certainly stay again on my next visit!

Room Tip: I had an issue with the rooms thermostat in that I couldn't get it to come down to a warmer temp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Tammei,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that we were able to exceed your expectations with the hotel location and the service provided by our staff!

We look forward to welcoming you back to New York City in the future, and be sure to let us know if you have any special requests we can accommodate to ensure that your next stay is even more special than the last.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,624
    1,879
    1,266
    680
    362
See reviews for
1,688
2,305
254
1,125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chamby
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Surprise visit for our kids to NY - my daughter cried tears of joy upon arrival at the surprise. Wonderful welcome in the amazing reception area. Our room was adequate, if a little tired. We struggled to find sufficient electrical power points - but on our last day when packing up - discovered three in the side of the desk!!!

Rooms were clean, concierge staff delightful but we were very disappointed with staff and service in Peacock Alley. As a party of four we were directed to a small table despite our advising upon arrival that we would order food. By the time cocktails, water and food arrived and empties not removed, we resorted to using the floor to put spare and empty glasses / plates. Trying to get the bill took too long and waiter appeared quite grumpy.

Would highly recommend hotel if not the bar.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear LiblooChamby,

Thank you for choosing us as your host during your recent trip to New York City. We consider it a high honor to be a top choice for guests traveling from all over the world, and so we are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the Waldorf Astoria.

That being said, I am surprised and disappointed to learn that you were not impressed by the service you received when you dined here. This is not the standard of service we wish to provide for our valued guests, and we hope for the opportunity to show you the true meaning of Waldorf luxury at every stop of the way- from dining opportunities in the hotel to your room appointment- during your next trip to our area.

Many thanks,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. I was surprised when we were upgraded to a suite in the tower and it was beautiful. My girls and I felt like royalty. The hotel was top notch from the doorman, housekeeping and front desk. Location can't be beat, it is in the middle of the action. I would recommend it to everyone. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear tfkussel,

Thank you for your great review! It is wonderful to hear that you had an unforgettable stay at the Waldorf Astoria.

I am especially delighted to learn that you were impressed with our team members and the service you received, as it is our highest priority to give our valued guests the personalized luxury touch they expect and deserve from our property. We hope that you will return to the Waldorf Astoria in the future when you visit New York City!

Many thanks,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My family has stayed at the Waldorf 6 times and each time we had a fabulous time. From the hotel, it is an easy walk to shopping and restaurants and The Museum of Modern Art (MOMA) or a 20-minute taxi drive to Little Italy and a 10-15 minute drive to the theater depending on traffic. There is often a line of theater-goers in front of the hotel waiting for a taxi so factor that into your timing or go to the backside of the hotel where the valets can help you and there is not usually a line. The rooms are varied in size from a 2-bedroom suite with a step up, huge bathroom/dressing room to an average-sized hotel room, but the rooms were all inviting and nice with great NYC views of the Chrysler Building or St Patrick's Cathedral, which is under extensive construction but still worth a visit. The hotel is not a kids' paradise--no pool or activities that I am aware of. The staff is what makes the hotel exceptional; the employees are intelligent, helpful, and concerned that their guests' needs be met. The concierges are amazing at suggesting and making restaurant reservations or getting tickets to Broadway. The lobby is beautiful and there is a spa, hairstylist, Starbucks, a bar, a casual restaurant and a dressier (just no sneakers or shorts) restaurant downstairs. There is also a breakfast buffet restaurant that has 2 versions of its buffet-both expensive ($29 or $45 per person). For individualized ordering you can walk across the street to a beautiful restaurant, The Board, or walk 2 blocks to several inexpensive joints. You will have a great vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Nancemor,

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to read such impressive sentiments, especially from someone who has stayed here numerous times and enjoyed all our property has to offer every time.

I especially appreciate your kind words about our staff. We consider it a privilege to be a "home away from home" for our valued guests, which starts with treating our visitors with the warmth and welcoming tone that you would expect from an old friend.

We look forward to hosting you again in the future, and thank you again for taking the time to leave us your feedback in this TripAdvisor review.

My best regards,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The expectation of staying at the renowned Waldorf Astoria was not met during our stay. The rooms were elegant, the beds amazing, and the bathroom spacious, BUT not great service, or attention. Bumbling reception and check-in experience was less than it should have been. Staff indifferent to personal needs. Valet service poor. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abir T, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Kendra,

Thank you for being a loyal guest and sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. I am disappointed that we were not able to provide you with the luxury experience and True Waldorf Service that is our standard here, as it is our highest priority to ensure that every guest has a pleasurable stay that exceeds their expectations when they come to stay at our property.

We are aware that we have some improvements to make, and we are currently in the process of crafting a strategy to evolve our service offerings. Your comments will be used to further our commitment to the guest experience as we move forward with our plans for the future.

We hope you will reconsider your experience and come stay with us again in the future to see how far we've come. Until then, have a wonderful weekend, and thank you again for taking the time!

My best regards,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel is fantastic and the staff exceptional. They were attentive to our needs to switch rooms and at every opportunity asked us if we were ok and if we had any additional needs. The grandness or the lobby is amazing while maintaining the warmth of an inviting hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Elliott,

Exceptional, attentive, warm, inviting... How wonderful it is to read that your stay here was filled with experiences that brought these terms to mind!

Our team at the Waldorf Astoria is delighted to learn that we made a positive impact on your trip to New York City. We look forward to the opportunity to create more unforgettable memories with you again in the future, should your travel plans bring you back to our area.

Many thanks,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida,USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A recent 4 night stay has again proven to me that this is still the BEST of Manhattan. From check in, to the bars, and location, to the doorman...all excellent! I've stayed here many times, and always leave happy. Everything about the place is first class. You can't do better.

Room Tip: it's New York....higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear WFRANK33,

What an honor it is to be your choice hotel in New York City! We are thrilled that you find our service, location, and food and beverage offerings to be top-notch.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waldorf Astoria with the personalized luxury touch you know to expect from our team members. Please be sure to let us know if you have any special requests we can accommodate next time to ensure that your next stay here is nothing short of exceptional.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. This 1,235-room hotel features luxurious guestrooms and spacious suites, 40 meeting rooms (60,000 square feet), three restaurants and bars, retail, Guerlain spa and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.