We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria New York to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates from $229
Ranked #287 of 459 Hotels in New York City
yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Memorable trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

One of the classiest hotels I've ever stayed in. Beautiful decor in the main lobby area. People describing the rooms as dated but this is the style of the hotel. Staff were relatively friendly and helpful. Location is good, walking distance to the majority of main attractions. Would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Lauren C,

First, I would like to take a moment to thank you for submitting your review of your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us as your host during your recent trip to New York City.

Your feedback is truly important to us because it helps us to realize both our strengths and weaknesses from our guests' point of view. We hope that you will consider booking with us for your next trip to New York City, and thank you again.

My best regards,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,631
    1,886
    1,274
    682
    363
See reviews for
1,695
2,313
254
1,128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I returned from Afghanistan for R&R & took my girlfriend to New York for Xmas. I was very disappointed from the start as soon as we checked in was promised extra free upgrade via email which I should at check but it was not up held. On two of the four days we was there my room was not cleaned which is shocking to see I spoke to the manager but nothing was done. After having dinner i find a hair in it & still had to pay the full price. Sorry it has took so long to write just back from deployment.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Jamie R,

Please accept my apologies for the issues you listed in your TripAdvisor review. We are very appreciative of your service, as a team and as a brand, and are disappointed that we let you down during your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria. True Waldorf Service means going above and beyond the standard of luxury to exceed the expectations of our guests, and so we are very sorry that this was not your experience here.

I understand your frustration and will be in touch shortly to talk with you further about the issues that contributed to your negative experience here.

Many thanks,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is a standout if history is all you want. If you arrive in the early hours don't exoect any food as this is not a 24 hour service hotel. Unheard of for a 5 star hotel and not what I expected in New York. It is a marvelous old place with a rich history but I will not visit again. A walk through the foyer would have been better.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Michos65,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are sorry that our service did not live up to your standards, as we are working to constantly revamp our food and beverage offerings while staying within the guidelines dictated within our organized labor environment.

I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to demonstrate our commitment to satisfaction in all areas of the guest experience.

Thank you kindly,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed at the Waldorf in June and as always I had a lovely experience. I love the old world charm of the Waldorf. I also love the location, the service and the staff. I will always choose this hotel when I travel to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear TravelingAKA,

Thank you for submitting your great review! We are honored that you choose our hotel as your "home away from home" when you visit New York City and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

If you have any special requests for your next visit, be sure to reach out in advance of your arrival and let us know.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

When you walk into the beautiful old hotel with its floor mosaic and beautiful reception area, you feel like somebody famous. The queues for reception were very long but plenty of staff on duty so it went quickly. But you hardly notice that as you look around in awe. We were in a room with our teenage boys on the 12th floor, our room had 2 double beds and really not enough room for 4 suitcases. No where to unpack you clothing. But as we were out most of the day this did not become a problem. View of neighbouring hotel and silly people did not close their blinds while undressing! lots of street noise from the NYPD! at all hours of the night but then this is New York.
Blinds do not close flush to the windows and the curtains are not for closing so light streams in from 5am. We had stayed in a cheaper hotel with a better location a week before and it had a coffee and tea maker. I was surprised not to have one in the Waldorf for the extra money we were paying. Breakfast very expensive ($35.00) but lots of Deli choices nearby. Location is not great, it seems to be far out of the main hub areas. Room was kept beautifully clean and staff were very helpful and accommodating. Room service for tea was good value for money. My teenage son used the gym facilities and said they were good. Nice touch - when I asked the concierge to post some postcards, they do this as a free service and with a smile!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Dustygirl44,

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us as your host during your recent trip to New York City. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide our guests with the timeless luxury and sophistication they deserve, and we are delighted to learn that you were impressed with our concierge service, room service, and classic ambiance.

We hope to host you again on a future visit to New York City!

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We were delighted be staying at the Waldorf.

Although it does have the traditional grandiose style that it is famous for, particularly in the lobby the rooms are extremely tired and the lobby is constantly filled with long cues of those checking in. Our telephone was not in working order and the bathroom consistently smelled of mildew even after we requested a new shower curtain.

The service from staff was extremely poor except for the concierge. Bell hops only acknowledge quests who they think are extremely wealthy and will pay well for minimal service.

Our experience at the Ticket and Tour counter was particularly poor. A middle aged woman with an affected English accent worked the desk and when we inquired into booked a shuttle to the airport she was almost hostile and then proceeded to have a lengthy personal telephone conversation concerning plans for a night at theatre while we tried to book an airport shuttle on the second phone.

The experience overall was extremely disappointing and I won't consider this hotel again.

There are numerous smaller boutique hotels in mid-town and the upper west side that are less expensive, more charming and who have staff that are actually helpful and knowledgable.

Once was enough!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear J P,

Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the difficulties you encountered here during your recent trip to New York City. This is not the experience we wish to provide our valued guests! Providing the world class experience you expect from our brand is our highest priority, and we are sorry to hear hat this was not your experience.

The issues you cited regarding service and maintenance are two main components of our operation that we are currently working to improve. I hope that you will return in the future to see just how far we've come, thanks to comments like this from guests like yourself.

Thank you kindly,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Waldorf is fine, but even the "luxury room" we booked was nothing special. The fixtures were dated, the carpet was dusty (white socks did not stay white), and our shower had barely any water pressure. Had we not gotten a good deal on the room, I would have been very disappointed to have paid the rack rates.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear kruzingtogether,

As I read your review, I am struck with a sense of disappointment that we weren't able to "wow" you during your stay here at our historic hotel. We are currently putting our efforts into a growth strategy that will allow us to evolve our offerings and service initiatives, and I hope we have the opportunity to show you our progress on a future visit to the Waldorf Astoria in New York.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further concerns or special requests for a future visit.

Thank you kindly,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#217 Family Hotel in New York City
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. This 1,235-room hotel features luxurious guestrooms and spacious suites, 40 meeting rooms (60,000 square feet), three restaurants and bars, retail, Guerlain spa and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.