We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby-Chic Hotel.... But LOVED New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria New York

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates - $249/nt
Ranked #282 of 451 hotels in New York City
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Shabby-Chic Hotel.... But LOVED New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is totally iconic but it is scruffy and needs a major makeover, however if it was made over it would probably lose it's iconic ness. So I think they should leave it be, but maybe bring their prices down accordingly. We really loved staying here (and we usually like luxury hotels) but we felt the scruffy ness was worth it, to stay at this famous hotel. We had Waldorf Salad of course (very nice)... We found the location was great. We loved New York and can't wait to visit again. Be prepared to have to queue to check in... This totally shocked us after a long flight. (And there was queues all week in the lobby).

Room Tip: Definately ask for a good view... We did and we got an ok view, dread to think what we would have go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,429
    1,736
    1,137
    621
    332
See reviews for
1466
2037
229
1003
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,072)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great White North
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

$18.95 per day for Internet ... "Because we can." Said by Jacob with hauteur and a smirk. HILTON ... we do not need this "attitude" on your part. You are getting to be like the airlines. It's not about the $$$'s, really. It's about making me feel cheap & shabby ... which I happen to be, but that's not the point. Charge for a total package, if I can budget it, great. But don't "bait & switch" your customers! Citizens: skip this place until they play nice and fair.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. We strive to provide guest experiences that are anticipatory to the highest degree and personalized to the occasion, and we are always looking for ways to balance fair pricing with the luxury accommodations and service we offer. I appreciate your review on the pricing of our internet and other optional amenities as it provides feedback that I need to re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings. I hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to demonstrate our commitment to satisfaction in all areas of the guest experience.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

It was with much anticipation that I booked the Waldorf. Such a beautiful landmark with a great reputation! Unfortunately this was not my experience. Doorman let us stand in the rain with our suitcases and after politely asking for help finally came to take up our stuff. When we arrived at 8 pm our rooms were NOT ready! They gave us 2 cocktail vouchers and finally we got our rooms another hour later. A friend of ours was charged for a glass of hot water with a lemon slice! Our room service cost $50 for 2 bowls of matzo ball soup (only soup, no beverages including taxes). This may be expected for a luxury hotel, but I just wanted to mention it. A very average breakfast buffet was served at Oscars restaurant. Nothing special about it at all. (and ofcourse not cheap).
Our $450 room was nice, but nothing special either. Old looking bathrooms and nice but fairly basic rooms. The overall look of the hotel is very nice and grand, especially the foyer, but the rooms do not offer value for the money I spend there and I was expecting. I will NOT go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Annette Dom,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and we apologize you were disappointed in your experience.

We will use your comments as we continually evolve so we may best demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the city so we may better demonstrate the world class hospitality you expect and deserve. If you do choose to visit us again in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know how we can make your next stay an incredible experience.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I treated my mom to the Waldorf Astoria for her birthday and mother's day. We love everything about this hotel. The staff was really nice. Someone offered us help with our luggage. The line was not long to check-in. Everything went smooht from checking-in to checking-out.

HOTEL:
This hotel has a lot of history. They have photos and stuff to read at the area near the lobby and elevators. The interior design is just exquisite. I loved how they preserved it. The lobby had a lot of people specifically tourists. All employees were very helpful and kind.There were enough chairs to sit while you wait. You can also grab a bite at the Peacock Alley while waiting to be checked in. That's what my mom and I did.

ROOMS:
We got the King Bedroom Suite. There was a separate room to entertain guests (office desk,sofa, 2 chairs, mini library and a fireplace). A mini kitchen and console table.The bedroom was separate and the bathroom was huge and gorgeous. It's what we girls need :). The fridge has an automatic system where it charges your card once you take out the beverage. Kids beware and do not play with it! :) Everything was clean and organized. Everything we needed was there in the room. We had the view of the streets from our room.

PROCESS:
Since it was my first time staying at the Waldorf, I did not know that the payment process was a bit different. Once you book a reservation online, the hotel just "reserves" the room for you. You get charged when you check out. They charge an extra $100 for incidentals (wifi, long distance, beverage from the room friedge, etc.). YES, WIFI IS NOT FREE!. Which was not a big deal. We were too busy enjoying our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A Christmas present from my husband. Stayed here over Easter what a wonderful experience from start to finish.starting with a lovely friendly greeting from doorman to glorious exit out through VIP lounge and door. Glorious plush and so atmospheric it was like going back in time. Staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Room was lovely on the 15th floor. Central for all amenities. i would highly recommend this establishment for a real luxurious treat. Loved hotel Loved New York would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

When everything OUTSIDE of my hotel experience went terribly wrong, it was so nice to find solace at the Waldorf. I felt like a queen and Mary in the Diamond office was extremely helpful. The room was clean with lots of natural light and a great view. Contrary to what I've heard, the furniture was not worn, the style is just "old New York." The bedding and bathroom linens/ products were heaven. My entire experience at the Waldorf was excellent and it is my new favorite luxury hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Simply poor check in. Long queues, slow staff. Lady 'directing' said it was always busy at 3pm as guests started checking in.

Wow if that is the case, plan for it daily and open more reception desks or even train the direction lady to check in. It is not hard to see if a desk is free. Having a direction person does not compensate in any way for the queues.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan D, Assistant Director of Rooms at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Mark,

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the wait to check-in and poor impression we made upon your arrival. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
Manhattan
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
The Towers of the Waldorf Astori...
#125 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
Manhattan
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#128 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Quiet, Luxury...
Show More
Manhattan
The New York Palace Hotel
The New York Palace Hotel
#100 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
Central Park
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Centr...
#36 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
Manhattan
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#34 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,940 reviews
Spa, Free inter...
Show More
Manhattan
The Towers at The New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. This 1,235-room hotel features luxurious guestrooms and spacious suites, 40 meeting rooms (60,000 square feet), three restaurants and bars, retail, Guerlain spa and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels and Despegar.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.