We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part super luxury palace, part Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria New York to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn up to $250
Ranked #290 of 460 Hotels in New York City
Sussex, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Part super luxury palace, part Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Waldorf Astoria for six nights and it was an altogether odd experience. Some parts of this hotel are magnificent - the gold-leafed lobby, the mahogany lifts and the service from the concierges reek of luxury. But other parts are downright ordinary - the catering is best avoided, while the crowds inthe lobby during the day make the place seem more like a railway station than a hotel. Our room was quiet and the bed was wonderfully comfortable but yes, the other reviewers are right, it is all a bit tired and in need of a face lift. That said, we booked our stay through a lastminute site and got a real bargain for mid-town Manhattan. If they ever get round to renovating the place the rates will double or more and we wouldn't be able to stay again. Long live shabby chic!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good Afternoon meansuitcase,

Thank you so much for your detailed comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, and that you were able to get a great price! Each of your concerns have been noted by the appropriate departments. We strive to provide an extraordinary experience, and we are disappointed to hear that you felt many aspects of the hotel were just ordinary. We are constantly working to better the guest experience, and your comments will help us to do so.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,801
    2,018
    1,354
    716
    384
See reviews for
1,800
2,459
266
1,203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary. We requested a room on a high floor and we were allocated a nice corner room on the 26th floor. The room was nicely decorated, old world charm. Very comfortable king size bed, nice bathroom and nice furniture throughout.
The hotel has class and charm throughout and we found the service generally to be very good and the staff very friendly.
Great location, plenty of nice restaurants nearby.

We had a couple of minor service issues. When we arrived at the front door on the Park Avenue side we were ignored by the bell staff and had to carry our own bags in. A number of staff stood by and didn't offer to help with the baggage or to open the door. Perhaps because we arrived in a yellow cab as opposed to a limo.
We had the opposite experience when leaving and using the Lexington exit. The bell staff were very helpful with our luggage, calling a taxi and loading the bags for us.
The other negative was with the concierge. I asked about getting to Jersey Gardens Mall because we wanted to get clothes for our kids in the Hollister outlet. The concierge told me that the shops on 5th Avenue were broadly same price and that the journey time on the bus to the mall was about an hour. The actual journey time is about 25 minutes and the clothes in the outlet are a lot cheaper. Not something that I'd lose sleep over but it's disappointing and I'd expect better information from a concierge in such a good quality hotel.

Overall though I was very happy with our stay and I would certainly stay again in the future.

Room Tip: High floor, request a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good Afternoon AlanNeenan,

Thank you so very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that it was an overall positive experience, but we are very disappointed to hear about the negative aspects you discussed. This is extremely helpful information to us, and it is certainly a training opportunity for both our bell staff and our concierge team. We thank you for taking the time to inform us of the details from your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for three nights here, and were warned in advance that the bathrooms were tired. That, and the fact that free wifi is only available in the lobby, are the only two things I can complain about. All staff we encountered, from check in to housekeeping, were unfailingly helpful and welcoming. It was my first time in NYC and this was a great location from which to explore the city. We chose to have breakfast in a busy deli on Lexington, which was fun (and five minutes walk away). Breakfast in the hotel looked ruinously expensive - $14 for orange juice! For a first time visit, the Waldorf is a slice of old New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good Afternoon shinyredheart,

Many thanks for your feedback! We couldn't be happier to hear that it was a great experience, and that you found our staff to be helpful and attentive. We have taken notes of your two concerns, and we understand how this could negatively impact your stay. We certainly hope that we will see you again at the Waldorf Astoria soon.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Overall this was an amazing experience at a historical hotel. Just walking into the lobby you can bask in the opulence and splendor. Staying there felt like I was a part of history like Cole Porter or Frank Sinatra would meander through the lobby. The service was amazing and I felt well cared for by every staff member we were in contact with. The room was dated but very comfortable and restful. Many of the items at the hotel were grossly overpriced but this is to be expected at an institution like this. Again, overall this was an amazing time and I would do it again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Good Afternoon dpklos,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are thrilled to learn that you had a positive experience with us. We love hearing that our team provided helpful and friendly. We hope we will see you back at the Waldorf Astoria again soon!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Nothing impressive. Overrated. Overpriced. Bed was made but room not cleaned - including leaving prior night's room service tray behind!! You are paying for the name - not the service. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good Afternoon travelinchicks,

Thank you so very much for your feedback. We are very discouraged to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. The situation your described is very concerning to us, and we would really like to look into why and how this happened. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visit the waldorf every year, we would not stay anywhere else. I love that the rooms are not perfect and modern because it feels like you would imagine the real old New York to feel. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We've never been lucky enough to be upgraded to the towers but maybe one day we will be able to book it. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Park avenue side rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good Afternoon jay r,

Many thanks for your positive comments. We are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience with us year after year. Thank you so much for being a loyal guest. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary as we wanted to stay some where special. It was our first trip to the USA. We booked with Kuoni and expected, for the price we paid for 5 nights, a great package. How wrong we were. We started our journey with United Airlines. This was on a dreadfully small plane, 3 seats per row on both sides of the plane with very little space in front of you. We have travelled on larger planes to Europe! 7 hours on this plane, both ways, was not acceptable and very uncomfortable. When we arrived at Newark airport we had an argument with the cab man regarding the fare price as we felt that they were taking advantage of us. We had no choice but to pay up, then he demanded 15 more dollars for the tolls through Lincoln tunnel! When we arrived at the hotel there were porters milling around but no one greeted us or helped us with our cases. When we asked, we were directed to the escalator and took them up our selves. At reception we were greated by the receptionist who congratulated us on our wedding anniversary. We were given complimentary vouchers for a cocktail each worth 40 dollars and breakfasts during our stay. This was fantastic as breakfast here costs a fortune! We were very grateful for this offer, thank you! Our room wasn't ready and we were told that a call would be made to our mobile when it was. Check in time was 3 pm , therefore we thought that we would wait and have a coffee at the hotel only to be told that there was no were open in the hotel and we were advised to go to Starbucks down the road! At 3.30 we got fed up of waiting for the call and went back to reception. This time a porter did bring up our bags. The suite we stayed in was as expected. A large sitting room and a large bedroom with a big comfortable bed. The bathroom was functional with a period suite but because it was of its time it was old and the bath was flaking and needed repairing. Others have commented on the noisy air con and the state of the wallpaper and paint work. We have to agree that this needs updating. As we were tired we had room service. The food arrived within 15 mins and was excellent, however you do pay through the nose for this service with a 5.25 dollar charge per person plus taxes and gratuities! Breakfast was amazing, however it was very busy and noisy as there were many breakfast business meetings happening on a daily basis, sometimes the staff found it difficult to find tables for the tourists! We also ate in Peacock Ally, again the food was excellent. We were a 10 min walk away from 5 th Ave where we could then walk to all the other tourist attractions. If you plan on taking a cab to your destination after 4 pm then we suggest you give yourself plenty of time as it is difficult to find one that isn't occupied! Overall we enjoyed our stay but it isn't anything special. We stay at the Ritz Hotel when in London and expected the Waldorf Astoria to be its equivalent, it was not! Neather in its apperarence or service or should I say lack of service. We felt that this hotel favoured its business clients over tourists. We felt that the portering staff and bell boys let this hotel down. We visited The Plaza Hotel whilst there and we will be staying there next time we visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good Afternoon Christmasy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so upset to hear that you had an overall negative experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and found room service to be speedy, but we are disappointed to read that there were not many more positive aspects to your stay. Each of your points have been noted by the necessary departments, and will be analyzed and reviewed. We would love the opportunity to look into some of these things further. If you have the opportunity, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay as well as your Tripadvisor username.

Thank you so much,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. This 1,235-room hotel features luxurious guestrooms and spacious suites, 40 meeting rooms (60,000 square feet), three restaurants and bars, retail, Guerlain spa and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.