We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Waldorf Astoria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria New York to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria New York
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates from $229
Ranked #284 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Historic Waldorf Astoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria for 5 nights while in NYC for her 30th birthday. The room was a nice size and clean. The room service was very quick and paid attention to detail. There were really no complaints regarding The Walfdorf. Walk two blocks to Essa bagels in the morning or 1 black to Noir For an evening nightcap. The price is comparable with The Intercontinental Hotel and the Marriott. Book with confidence.

Room Tip: I recommend staying on the highest floor possible since the outdoor noise can be quite distracting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found room service to be prompt and efficient. Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria for such an exciting occasion. A very happy 30th birthday to your girlfriend! We look forward to seeing you again at the Waldorf Astoria in the future.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,624
    1,880
    1,268
    680
    362
See reviews for
1,689
2,306
254
1,126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend and parents, everything ran smoothly and staff covered things seamlessly. We requested rooms located on the same floor, which was accommodated and when two rooms became available across the floor from each other literally five minutes later the receptionist changed our rooms and redirected the bell boys with no trouble.

The hotel is in a fantastic location and as we did a lot of touristy trips it was great that the Waldorf is a key pick up point!

I did find the decor to be quite dated but that is just personal taste, it was a little too grand for me! Great place for a base to see New York.

No wifi in rooms though which I felt was a little dated now.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Good Afternoon Laura,

Thank you so much for your positive comment. We are so happy to hear that you, your parents, and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be convenient. We understand your concern about WiFi in the rooms. Unfortunately it sounds like you may have been misinformed. We certainly offer WiFi in our guestrooms and complimentary WiFi in the lobby of the hotel. We are sorry that you were unable to take advantage of this. We hope to see you and your family at the Waldorf Astoria again in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

One of New York's most historic hotels, you expect the best. And that is pretty much what you get! Although not necessarily. On arrival we were shown into a junior suite very high up, on aout floor 20, which was so small the bed in the sitting room precluded any other space for seats. It was totally unacceptable, but we were unable to switch that night.

Eventually, however, we got through to one of the managers, who was charming, and from then on it was plain sailing. We moved to a beautiful corner suite (and adjoining bed-room since we were three) on the 7th floor. It was absolutely lovely - one of the nicest suites I have ever stayed in. For my birthday the concierge was able to book great seats at a broad way production featuring Catherine Zeta Jones, and the front desk left chocolates for me in my room.

While i may not stay there again, it is definitely a must, at least once in New York!

Room Tip: Corner suites are beautiful, especially lower down
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the show was everything you'd hoped it would be, and that you liked the chocolates that were left in your room. We hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria again in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed 3 nights while attending a business conference in NYC. What a grand hotel. The prices are typical of NYC but the class, service, food and style are unmatched. My room on the 41st floor was large, well maintained and had a large beautiful bathroom. The bed, pillows and linens were fresh and crisp. Turn down service evey night really spoils you. Every one of the staff I encountered couldn't have been more helpful, polite and professional.
After a stay at the Waldorf Astoria all others will pale by comparison.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your conference in NYC. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I have just this morning returned from a 4 night stay at the New York Waldorf Astoria. We booked the trip last November for our 25th Wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were overwhelmed with the customer service, friendliness of staff, cleanliness and overall grandeur of the Hotel. On arrival we were upgraded into a huge suite on the 12th floor and treated to free drinks in the Bull and Bear. From then on every meeting with a member of staff reinforced the overall feeling that the staff are proud to work there and provide a most outstanding service. We could not fault a single thing and would like to extend a huge thank you to everyone there.

Room Tip: we had a great suite overlooking Park Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so glad to hear that you and your family had a positive experience with us! We strive to provide an unforgettable experience for every guest, and we are so happy that we were able to provide this for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waldorf Astoria gain in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Waldorf over the last 20 years and the hotel has maintained it's air of calm dignity. The staff are excellent and very attentive. The suite we are in is like an English country house. Lovely.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the rooms and staff to be accommodating. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I had an absolutely fabulous stay at the Waldorf. Needless to say it is so close to everything. We sepnt a divine week in New york, and coming back home to the Waldorf each night was a great experience. Our room and bathroom were both huge and we loved the coctails. I was most impressed with the giant flower display in the Lobby. Great hotel and great service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#218 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. This 1,235-room hotel features luxurious guestrooms and spacious suites, 40 meeting rooms (60,000 square feet), three restaurants and bars, retail, Guerlain spa and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.