We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis New York to your Saves list
The St. Regis New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 55th Street, at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #46 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Finally got to stay at the original St Regis property. I stayed in a Deluxe and standard Suite and was impressed by the updated grey/blue color scheme and technology in the rooms. There was still plenty of historic detail to be seen especially in the lobby and King Cole bar. The spa is small but provides top notch amenities and service (including champagne). We enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant each morning and the original Red Snapper (Bloody Mary). Great shopping, restaurants, museums, and central park within a couple of blocks of the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor is always better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear bkl99,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the St. Regis New York. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,
Hermann Elger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    101
    47
    28
    12
See reviews for
120
260
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were celebrating an important birthday and maybe I should have let them know. But I just expected The St Regis experience would be so much more without having to tell them that it was a special occasion. Some things that went wrong shouldn't have - even at a 3-star hotel.

When we arrived, there was no doorman. The rooms were not ready and they took our cell number but didn't inform us when the rooms were ready. When we checked in, our bags were not in the room. When we called the concierge, we were asked to describe the bags, because they couldn't find them. The bags were brought up by someone who said they were tossed in with the wrong pile and it was a front desk error. We were called by the front desk asking if I had more guests staying there than I had told them......?

When we ordered coffee in the morning, we had to call down more than once, and room service said - we have no record of your call, maybe the concierge got the call.... They provide fresh fruit daily, but on the third day, they forgot. They don't replenish your little shampoo bottles, I had to ask.

And the biggest error: we downloaded an app that lets you check your bill on a mobile. When we checked, our bill said we owed over 125 thousand dollars for a 3 night stay. What are we? Rock stars? (No, we are not. It was someone else's bill....)

Such a beautiful French Beaux-arts edifice and lovely feel of Downton Abbey era. I don't know, I just expected so much more.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear TorontoJaneH,

Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the challenges you experienced during your recent visit.

At The St. Regis New York we continuously strive to offer exceptional levels of service, which in this case it appears we have failed to deliver. We are so sorry for this experience and would welcome an opportunity to discuss these issues further with you. Kindly contact me at GeneralManagerNY@StRegis.com and I would be more than happy to discuss this with you.

Kind Regards
Manuel Martinez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The lobby renovation is complete and looks beautiful. I brought my 16 yr old niece for an overnight trip to experience NYC. I knew the St. Regis wouldn't disappoint her. She loved our butler Pavel and he was just a push of button away. The attentive staff are there if you need them but not intrusive. The hotel was fully booked, but did get upgraded to a suite for the one night. Beautifully appointed bedroom and living room with 2 full baths, it was fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Tina B,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so pleased that you were able to experience our new lobby and our iconic Butler service. We will share your kind words with Pavel and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Hermann Elger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great location close to 5th Avenue and a stroll to Central Park. As others have said, lobby was undergoing refurbishment recently. The décor is very good, and the classic features such as staircases and lifts give a real sense of atmosphere. Room was large and fully functional, but had no real wow factor.
Service was a little mixed - concierge was excellent and knowledgeable, but service was not great at breakfast - but it's a minor issue.
If you do go, the King Cole cocktail bar is a must visit - apparently they invented the Bloody Mary there in 1934, although it is known there as Red Snapper - and it's very tasty!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear NoPhoneNoFoodNoPets,

Thank you so much for staying at The St. Regis New York during your recent visit to New York City. We are grateful for your feedback, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your renovated room and that you were able to try our famous Red Snapper, soon to be celebrating its 80th birthday.

Kind Regards,
Hermann W. Elger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel really is amazing. While all St. Regis hotels are excellent, this one really goes the extra mile. The butlers are beyond courteous, the staff is exceptional, the salon is first-rate (if you need a haircut, Sal and Eddie are both phenomenal), the restaurant is great (as one would expect from John DeLucie). The decor is perfect. It is everything a luxury hotel strives to be.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Michael H,

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your Butler service and your stay at The St. Regis New York.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Hermann W. Elger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

What can I say when the butler is just a button away ..!
Each floor has it own butler so every thing is fast .. Your wishes is their demand .. Just name what you want to your room..

BUT ..... My comment is they've could make the lobby wider and better .. As they have a very Tinny space for lobby and breakfast ...

ROOMs are really amazing and well renewed with latest tech.

I loved the location ..

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Lama79,

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Butler service during your recent stay. Our Butlers truly are one of a kind and we are so pleased that you were able to experience this service firsthand.

Our lobby is undergoing some enhancements and we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope that you will be back to see the renovated space shortly.

Best Regards,
Manuel Martinez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The service, starting with the doorman, through the front desk and butler and ending with the concierge, was impeccable. Got an upgrade to what amounts to a suite.
The lobby was being renovated, which deterred from the splendor and 2 of the elevators were down for periodic maintenance.
The breakfast dining area was a little small and crowded, but the food and service were excellent.
The location is great for shopping and Central Park, and close enough to the the theater.
The price was reasonable considering the value. If you're a frequent visiter, the hotel will store some items for you.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room with an east facing window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Sam R,

Thank you so much for staying at The St. Regis New York during your recent trip to New York City. I am so glad that my team provided impeccable service during your stay. We would be more than happy to assist you with your next stay and hope to see you again soon at The Best Address!

Kindly,
Maria Wittorp-Dejonge
Chef Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis New York

Address: 2 East 55th Street, at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis New York 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis New York in midtown Manhattan offers a refined atmosphere, gracious service, and 15 lavish event spaces. For the past 18 years, we have ranked as one of the top hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis New York Hotel New York City
St Regis New York City
St Regis Hotel New York
New York City St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.