We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, mixed service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis New York to your Saves list
The St. Regis New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 55th Street, at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #53 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, mixed service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great location close to 5th Avenue and a stroll to Central Park. As others have said, lobby was undergoing refurbishment recently. The décor is very good, and the classic features such as staircases and lifts give a real sense of atmosphere. Room was large and fully functional, but had no real wow factor.
Service was a little mixed - concierge was excellent and knowledgeable, but service was not great at breakfast - but it's a minor issue.
If you do go, the King Cole cocktail bar is a must visit - apparently they invented the Bloody Mary there in 1934, although it is known there as Red Snapper - and it's very tasty!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear NoPhoneNoFoodNoPets,

Thank you so much for staying at The St. Regis New York during your recent visit to New York City. We are grateful for your feedback, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your renovated room and that you were able to try our famous Red Snapper, soon to be celebrating its 80th birthday.

Kind Regards,
Hermann W. Elger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    113
    48
    29
    16
See reviews for
141
288
42
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel really is amazing. While all St. Regis hotels are excellent, this one really goes the extra mile. The butlers are beyond courteous, the staff is exceptional, the salon is first-rate (if you need a haircut, Sal and Eddie are both phenomenal), the restaurant is great (as one would expect from John DeLucie). The decor is perfect. It is everything a luxury hotel strives to be.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Michael H,

Thank you very much for your kind words! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your Butler service and your stay at The St. Regis New York.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Hermann W. Elger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

What can I say when the butler is just a button away ..!
Each floor has it own butler so every thing is fast .. Your wishes is their demand .. Just name what you want to your room..

BUT ..... My comment is they've could make the lobby wider and better .. As they have a very Tinny space for lobby and breakfast ...

ROOMs are really amazing and well renewed with latest tech.

I loved the location ..

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Lama79,

We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your Butler service during your recent stay. Our Butlers truly are one of a kind and we are so pleased that you were able to experience this service firsthand.

Our lobby is undergoing some enhancements and we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope that you will be back to see the renovated space shortly.

Best Regards,
Manuel Martinez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The service, starting with the doorman, through the front desk and butler and ending with the concierge, was impeccable. Got an upgrade to what amounts to a suite.
The lobby was being renovated, which deterred from the splendor and 2 of the elevators were down for periodic maintenance.
The breakfast dining area was a little small and crowded, but the food and service were excellent.
The location is great for shopping and Central Park, and close enough to the the theater.
The price was reasonable considering the value. If you're a frequent visiter, the hotel will store some items for you.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room with an east facing window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Sam R,

Thank you so much for staying at The St. Regis New York during your recent trip to New York City. I am so glad that my team provided impeccable service during your stay. We would be more than happy to assist you with your next stay and hope to see you again soon at The Best Address!

Kindly,
Maria Wittorp-Dejonge
Chef Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel was extremely comfortable and the staff was very professional on the whole. The rooms were luxurious and I appreciated the upgrade for myself, daughter and friend to what amounted to an apartment. Tea in bed from the butler, room service breakfast followed by a nice relaxing jacuzzi bath with lavender salts. Unpacking service a real help. The spa was expensive and small, but the facial in particular was so relaxing. The Bentley service is a nice touch if you can get it. I made my own restaurant bookings as I prefer to do this.
I was particularly looked after by an excellent front of house manager, the name slips my mind but he was Spanish. If you read this, thank you.
Worth a visit. I have stayed at other 5* hotels in NYC but would consider returning here.

Room Tip: Suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear ScarlettRose53,

It was an absolute pleasure assisting you and your family during your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Pedro Rodriguez
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed in a lovely St Regis Suite, very spacious, the butlers were exceptional, nothing was too much for them, the lobby is under reconstruction which perhaps restricts the usual grandeur. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Thomas R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed our signature Butler service and hope that you will come back again soon to see our lobby enhancements!

Kind Regards,
Manuel Martinez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Luxury hotel, perfect location for shopping 5th avenue and walking distance to Central Park. All guestrooms have been renovated in the last year, and are well appointed. Butler service is very efficient. The only inconvenience was that the central lobby area was going through a renovation and was quite loud and not well laid out based the construction.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Rachel R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your newly renovated room. Our lobby enhancements are almost complete and we hope that you will come back soon to experience the new space.

Kind Regards,
Manuel Martinez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The St. Regis New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis New York

Address: 2 East 55th Street, at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#21 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#122 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis New York 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis New York in midtown Manhattan offers a refined atmosphere, gracious service, and 15 lavish event spaces. For the past 18 years, we have ranked as one of the top hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis New York Hotel New York City
St Regis New York City
St Regis Hotel New York
New York City St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.