We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, end of story.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis New York to your Saves list
The St. Regis New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 55th Street, at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #59 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Perfect, end of story.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is as close to perfection as it gets. Staff is incredible. Butler service, too. Service is prompt. Rooms are gorgeous, classy, and well maintained. Great entertainment system. Best hotel bathroom I've ever seen. I'd live here if I could.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
It was truly a pleasure having you as our guest during your recent visit to New York City.

On behalf of the entire team at The St. Regis New York, we are so pleased that you were able to experience our hotel and enjoy the high service and quality levels upon which we pride ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    112
    47
    29
    16
See reviews for
140
281
40
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent two nights here in August, and the experience was grand.

Hands down one of the most elegant rooms in the world! Room 730. The decor is flawless, and the bed linens were the best I've ever slept in.

Upon arrival, our check in was warm and welcoming. Grace, our initial Butler was calm, reserved and quite professional. Nice job Grace. I look forward to staying here again.

So why not a 5 star rating?

In general, I feel that you shouldn't have to pay for great service (see other reviews). And, when you do pay, the expectations are only higher. Three things that occurred that kept this at a 4 Star rating. First, in room breakfast on the first morning's stay was a problem, it never came. The Butler service on
The 2nd day was spotty in response and not as professional as I would have expected. Third, after a morning run's return to the hotel, I caught the bellman by surprise when i asked for a bottle of water. Add to these that the famous Cole Bar was closed for renovations. I know, not the St Regis' fault, but I was looking forward to a Bloody Mary.

I've experienced truly outstanding service elsewhere; the kind of service that makes you believe that the hotel knows what you want and need before you do. Unfortunately, for this time, I felt like I always had to ask.

Let's hope for true perfection next time around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience at The St. Regis New York.

At The St. Regis New York we continuously strive to provide flawless service on every occasion, and we regret that we were not able to deliver this during your recent visit.

We are deeply sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations and would welcome an opportunity to discuss these issues with you further. Kindly contact us at GeneralManagerNY@StRegis.com and we will follow up with you as soon as possible.

Kind Regards
The St. Regis Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Everything is perfect. The beds are heavenly. The marble bathroom is beautiful. The superb water pressure from the dual shower head is invigorating. The butler service is prompt and never awkward. The fresh squeezed OJ and grapefruit juice is delicious. Of course the prices ($40 for a continental breakfast) are high but the quality is there.

Most importantly, the service is gracious and thoughtful. You don't have to ask for help -- it is offered to you before you've even thought of needing any!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are very pleased to learn that our Butlers provided you with exceptional service during your recent visit to The St. Regis New York.

Thank you for your time, and for recognizing our mission to provide the best service to each of our guests. We will share your kind words with our team and we are grateful for your support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the St. Regis for three days over the May long weekend in 2012, and just loved it!
The location, close to Central Park and Fifth Avenue shops was superb, the neighbourhood felt safe for evening walks, but the hotel itself was outstanding.
I loved the old world charm, and the condition of it was so well maintained, nothing was out of place.
We didn't have a chance to use the butler service, but made use of the concierge for dinner reservations. The in house restaurant served a delicious and generous breakfast which we enjoyed every morning.
We also enjoyed one dinner in the hole the first night, which was amazing.
This is not a reasonably priced hotel by any means, but proves the adage you get what you pay for!
We were so happy with our choice to stay away from Times Square hotels too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley nj
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

stayed there this week every thing I mean every thing was excellent from arrival to departure enjoyed every minute , staff and quality takes the St Regis hotel in new York to a class of its own.
the next time and always be back there.i stayed in many of the city

Room Tip: if you can afford it you can not go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at The St. Regis New York during your recent visit to New York City.

We are so grateful for your feedback, and we thank you for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is our third visit in the past 3 years and wow, it seems to get better and better each time! Every room has been recently renovated and the whole place is gleaming with a freshness that shines! None of the old fashioned beauty has been lost, it has only been gussied up! The staff has become even nicer than before! Everything about this hotel is first class! Housekeeping was excellent, front desk was efficient, valets helpful! Location is the best! Butler service was wonderful and on top of things too!

All in all, the St. Regis is my "go to" hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience, and we are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay at The St. Regis New York.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

When visiting NYC, stay at the St. Regis Hotel. Not only is it one of the most beautiful hotels, but the location is superb. It is near Central Park, Disney Store, Trump Plaza, great stores to shop in. The hotel staff is friendly and ever so helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNYC, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are very pleased to learn you received exceptional service during your recent visit to The St. Regis New York. We hope that we will have the opportunity of having you as our guest again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis New York

Address: 2 East 55th Street, at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in New York City
#22 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Business Hotel in New York City
#122 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis New York 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis New York in midtown Manhattan offers a refined atmosphere, gracious service, and 15 lavish event spaces. For the past 18 years, we have ranked as one of the top hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis New York Hotel New York City
St Regis New York City
St Regis Hotel New York
New York City St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.