We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School, Old Charm worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The St. Regis New York to your Saves list
The St. Regis New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 East 55th Street, at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #62 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Phila,Pa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old School, Old Charm worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the St Regis the past weekend. We've had the privilege of staying at each of the 5 Star rated properties in the city. I was a little nervous because of the age of the property but I figured the rating agencies knew enough not to score a property so high if it was showing its age. They were right. A beautiful property in a great location that couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were very well appointed. We stayed in a two bathroom suite that had a kitchenette as part of the amenities. Along with this suite came a Butler. We didn't utilize his expertise, but its nice to know that he is available for all of your travel whims. The hotel restaurant is beautiful and the bar is vibrant and an excellent choice for an afternoon cocktail. This is an old hotel that still has many many more years of taking care of their guests as close to perfection as they come in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    99
    47
    27
    12
See reviews for
115
244
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stepping into this hotel is like stepping back in time. The St.Regis has maintained all the aspects of a traditional central New York hotel perfectly, and coupled them with the complete luxury you would expect from the St.Regis. I had an amazing stay here, staying in one of their suite rooms, the room was nothing but perfect, with the comfiest bed I have ever experienced. The service was out of this world, with a butler service included in the room. It was my birthday whilst there, and I even got sent a cake and champers by the hotel team!! The only downside was the spa, I had a very expensive massage, by what seemed to be an inexperienced therapist - not what I would have expected from the St. Regis.

Having said that, this hotel was perfect. If I could live here, I would.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisNewYork, Manager at The St. Regis New York, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for spending your birthday at The St. Regis New York and for sharing the details of your stay on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience. We always pride ourselves on the quality of the treatments we provide in our Spa, and are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,
The St. Regis Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

classy hotel with great location. efficient and quick check-in. well sized rooms but require some renovation. the hotel is a bit overpriced, very good room service and great concierge, avoid courtyard rooms. would prefer the Plaza with the same rates

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Positives - service perks that are alien to most travelers today. Don't hesitate to enjoy it! Butler on the floor, sweet - made tea for us on arrival, free fruit bowl, free bottle water, free wireless, free pressing, free shoeshine. Large room, beautiful marble 5 piece bath, tv over the barh. Concierge (Howard) saved our dinner plans, getting is a reservation at a popular restaurant on Friday night. I think they can do anything. Whole team was very pleasant, more than that joyful and wanting to help. Hotel lobby is small and reception can get backed up as there're only two stations. Street construction all around makes for a very noisy night at this time (jackhammering all night). Price e you pay in NYC. The bar is very small & we couldnt fit in on Friday night. Spa was very nice with skilled, experienced staff.

I recommend St. Regis NY over the nearby Plaza. My new "special" hotel in NYC. But, I'll wait for the construction (not their fault) to end or get a room opposite.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western US
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This quite hotel, with a near perfect location is my favorite in the city. The staff, room service, linens are all perfect. Not much to complain about, except other guests that were overly giddy when seeing someone quite famous. eew.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staying at the St. Regis is a great way to begin the New Year - and is hopefully a symbol of a standard of luxury to be enjoyed throughout 2013! Our New Year's stay was delightful. The Beaux Arts building is a fine example of the architectural history of the Gilded Age and the first rate service provided by the concierge and butler staff is to be commended. The front desk seemed confused and distracted at check in and the room was not ready upon arrival, but given that is was New Year's Eve day and hubby and I were in a good mood we sat out the first hour of delay in the King Cole Bar. When the delay ran beyond that we left the hotel and took a walk. Ultimately it was fine but I did think the room delay which totaled over 3 hours was extraordinary for a hotel of the St. Regis' stature. Personal amenities have been downgraded since out last stay there when they were Aqua di Parma, but I can't blame Starwood for marketing their own Remede spa brand soaps, lotions, etc. Which leads me to the Spa - my experience was great, however my husband's lacked the attention and pampering one expects. His also lacked "spa" atmosphere for massage such as soothing music, soft lighting, good fragrances, choice of oil, comfortable temp room, etc.. The massage itself was good - but was not the full package". As for the other hotel/room amenties perks such as complimentary pressing, shoe shine and dailycoffee/tea/fruit are very nice and very appreciated. One of the best features the St. Regis has going for it is the personal butler service which is beyond reproach. They are available and timely in response to any request. The location is also outstanding right in mid-town. The St. Regis, NYC is a shining jewel in Starwood's crown and we will continue to stay there when in the City.

Room Tip: 5th Avenue or 55th St. views are nice, but I donth think there is a "bad" room in the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff here is so friendly and helpful. The hotel is perfection and made our engagement night magical. We stayed in the royal suite and it truly is royal! Can't wait to go back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis New York

Address: 2 East 55th Street, at Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#23 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
#102 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis New York 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis New York in midtown Manhattan offers a refined atmosphere, gracious service, and 15 lavish event spaces. For the past 18 years, we have ranked as one of the top hotels in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The St. Regis New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis New York Hotel New York City
St Regis New York City
St Regis Hotel New York
New York City St Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.